We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem, so pleased we dined there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor de Cine - CLOSED

Sabor de Cine
Price range: US$22 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: concfortable restaurant in Alicante,The decoration is inspired by the light and films in black and white.mediterranean kitchen with littles touches of author directed by a international chef, specialist in meat and vegetables Friendly and personalized treatment
Quebec
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little gem, so pleased we dined there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

What a great discovery! What great service!
Having read a vast number of wonderful reviews about this restaurant, as we were staying very close by in a rented apartment, we thought we'd look in there. We wondered about the last review, saying the place was terrible, since all other reviews were so enthusiastic. We went on a Saturday night, at 9.30pm, a little early for true Alicante folk, but by 9.45pm, the place was nearly full. We were very warmly greeted by one of the waiters who, we discovered whilst chatting to him later, was a film director! He explained that the usual chef was in Argentina, but the owners managed to get a temporary chef who has won several awards for his cuisine. We need not have worried - the various dishes were presented beautifully and gave us truly excellent taste sensations! Our waiter did not give us a wine list, but instead very helpfully offered us a taste of a small selection of wines, in particular Riojas, which he thought we might enjoy. He thought the less expensive one was the better - and we agreed. So he just poured us a glass, and if we wanted more, it got topped up! How refreshing not to be sold an entire bottle of expensive wine which cannot be tasted prior to ordering - this being the usual scenario in all restaurants as my many readers well know.
I shan't recommend any particular dish, as these are changed weekly, save to say that whatever is ordered in this restaurant will be of the highest, professionally prepared level. We were very satisfied, and with a final bill of Euros 40 (we shared 3 dishes) we intend to make this restaurant our favorite local whilst here in Alicante. Well done chef, and thank you to the waiters! Five stars from us!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank truth-revealed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    11
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was our Anniversary & we chose this hotels specifically from trip advisor recommendations.The food was awful undercooked cold & the waiter could not speak English (not a problem as we normally manage)My husband got a totally different meal to what he ordered.
All the food seemed to be pre cooked then poorly microwaved. I am not sure how this restaurant is so highly rated on tripadvisor a mystery!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 26janpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchez v, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sabor de Cine, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Google Translation
Sinceramente no nos creemos esta crítica, pues con la trayectoria habida, es imposible, dando la casualidad que coincide con otra exactamente igual y del mismo pais, no reseñando ningún plato ni nada que podamos contrasar con sus palabras.
Nuestros empleados hablan ingles, si no sería imposible atender a tal cantidad de visitantes extranjeros
Nuestros clientes y nuestras criticas nos avalan.
Trip Advisor,es libre y cada uno puede escribir lo que quiera perjudicando o beneficiando al restaurante.
Quedamos a su entera disposición.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip and went back as our last meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

One of the best restaurant experiences we ever had. Very happy we found this treasure trove of Spanish delight in Alicante. Chef Marcelo and his staff made our experience the highlight of the trip. The atmosphere is exactly as description says, there are Charlie Chaplin movies playing on the walls, old Hollywood decor, 1940's-50's style music in the background. Very comfortable in making for a relaxing experience until the food comes! Menu has appearance of very minimalistic in terms of offerings but do not let it fool you. From salads, to prawns (with mangos and strawberries), quail, crunchy duck croquettes with multiple reductions, to steak tartare. Every dish seemed to beat the last in explosion of flavors and presentation. Wine was top notch and local just as the ingredients in the food. When we came in for our second meal before departing the staff and Chef were beyond joy that we came back in and made sure we left with beaming smiles on our face. 5 stars all the way!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern irelands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Inspired cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read the good reviews on TA booked this restaurant as a birthday treat during break in Alicante and it certainly lived up to all expectations!! Brilliant meal with wonderful service and the hostess and chef were outstanding in their care and attention to detail in providing a very memorable meal - in fact one of the best meals we have ever had! Help & advice was offered about menu choice & wine choice and they couldn't have done more to ensure this was a really satisfying and pleasurable dining experience. The menu and food combinations and flavours really provided the wow factor! They were all so hospitable & completely went out of their way to make it a special birthday celebration & to share their love of food . Thank you so much to all the team in Sabor de Cine!! A 'must visit' in Alicante !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sconway250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could be an Oscar contender?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We selected this restaurant after looking at a few reviews on Trip Advisor. We checked it out first and thought it was worth a try so made a reservation - we were the only one in the book for a Saturday night. When we arrived at 9pm we were the only ones in the restaurant! Had we done the wrong thing? But no, the lady who ran the place made us feel very welcome and mixed us a gin martini and gave us some information on the menu. I had sauteed prawns to start with a lovely apple and mango sauce. A couple of the prawns were slightly undercooked for my liking but really a lovely and unusual starter. For the main course I had tempura cod - and I can assure you it wasn't your run of the mill fish supper! It was a genuine tempura batter and there were three mediallions of cod and also tempura-ed were courgette and apple, the latter most unusual but it really worked! I cleaned my plate! I couldn't say the same of my other half who went for the Argentinian mixed grill - it was nicely cooked but there was just too much of it. We had a nice bottle of inexpensive Rioja to accompany the meal and received a complimentary glass of fizz at the end of our meal. If you are prepared to experiment a little, you'll be, I'm sure, pleasantly delighted in this informal and relaxed restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelManGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor de Cine also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing