We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good effort at gastro Tapas”

Don Carlos Alicante
Ranked #7 of 1,420 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$166
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Alicante, next to the Rambla and Alfonso X the Wise, the restaurant Don Carlos pretends to be a different place, which seamlessly combine fine dining with a special atmosphere. Do not hesitate and have a drink with us, we are waiting!Situado en pleno corazón de Alicante, junto a la Rambla y Alfonso X el Sabio, el restaurante Don Carlos pretende ser un lugar diferente, en el que se combinen a la perfección la mejor gastronomía con un ambiente especial. No lo dudes y tómate algo con nosotros, ¡¡estamos esperándote!!
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went for the special set menu which started off brilliantly with fresh bread, olive oil from the region and an interesting and delicious play on a basil, mozzarella and tomato salad (if not a little too sweet for my liking). This was swiftly followed by duck/apple croquetas which were lovely and a potatoes and chorizo plate. The dinner had started well, however from here on in, with expectations high the mains/deserts failed to deliver full promise. The fish combo dish was way too salty and a bit bland, the pork was nice but not a sensation & the puddings were okay. Service was friendly & it wasn't too expensive but I wouldn't return.

Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Propietario at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer

Thank you for your comments. We take our reviews very seriously, and we appreciate your honesty. Constructive criticism is always the best way to improve.
We regret that you the latter part of the set menu did not meet with your requirements. We hope that even though you said that you would not return to our restaurant, you would nevertheless change your mind, and try some other dishes of our menu, which would win you over.
All the best,
Regards
Jorge Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had 'comida' here after we heard good things about this restaurant. For us,when we GO for a diner outside it's important that they serve food that we cannot (easily) make ourselves. When we saw the menu card it looked promising with tapas we never see in other restaurants. We decided to go for the 5 dish surprise menu. We first got the tapas that has won an award in Spain. It looked like a Michelin star type of dish, so we got excited by the look. Then the mouth feeling and taste was sublime. This dish was our favorite and I would especially go back here to get this again. It's made with goat cheese,fresh basilic and tomato, but then in a very different way.
The second dish was croquet with duck and apple. This was also very very tasteful. We did not really like the egg dish with gamba's. The tuna carpaccio looked fabulous and tasted great. A bit less salt would make the dish perfect.
So overall we can say that this place was the best restaurant we have been to in alicante so far, nice to know is the fact that the chef has worked at the ritz in Paris for many years...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tubita00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Owner at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear customer

Than you very much for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food and the experience in Don Carlos. Hopefully, next time it will be just as good if not even better!
The whole purpose of our Tapas menu and dishes a la carte is that there are tapas but with a modern twist to them. The goat's cheese and tomato terrine won best tapa in the cinema festival in 2012 for example. We tend to combine a few starters with meat and fish so as to enable the customer to have an idea of what we do in Don Carlos.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Jorge Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here after great reviews on tripadvisor. We eat much earlier than the typical spaniard so got here pretty much as they started food service-8.30pm ish on a Saturday night. We were the only ones there probably for just under an hour but this wasn't a problem as it leads to very attentive service. As fussy eaters we weren't brave enough to try the 5 dish tapas and drinks offer in case we got things we aren't to keen on and didn't feel it was fair to burden the kitchen with our fussiness! Instead we had a selection of dishes, the goats cheese terrine, chorizo, egg and fries, duck croquettes and prawns with garlic and brocolli. We shared a chocolate cup at the end all washed down with a nice bottle of red. Not your cheapest tapas establishment in town but worth it for good food and an extra special evening!

Thank weekendweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Owner at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear customer

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed the food and service in Don Carlos. The kitchen usually decides on the dishes of the Tapas menu however, if a customer wishes to elect the dishes, he also has the option to do so.
If as you say "you are fussy", it was a good idea to choose on the dishes just to be on the safe side.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in Don Carlos.

Kind Regards
Jorge Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my wife entered Don Carlos with high hopes, based on the TA reviews. To our surprise, the restaurant was empty - one couple was fine dining in the back (reservation only type of specialty). Because of the not-so-busy Wed evening we got the full attention from Jorge the chef and his wife. We had the 5 tapas menu and did not want to guide him in any way but wanted to be surprised. Glad we did; the food was excellent! Obviously Jorge is very passionate about cooking and food, this really is apparent in the dishes. Only smallish issue was that we were not completely sure which was included in the menu price and which was not. They were very generous with the complimentary sparkling wine. Anyhow, we spent a memorable evening in this little restaurant and can recommed it to anyone who enjoys pure modern tastes.

Thank finzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Owner at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear customer

Thank you for your comment. I remember exactly when you came!
I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and maybe next time you come to Alicante, you try the fine dining option!
The Tapas menu includes 5 dishes and desert as well as two drinks, and coffee/tea. You also have the option to have an aperitif (long drink). The Tapas menu is a good opportunity to leave the kitchen "carte blanche" with the dishes, which enables you to try a variety of starters, meat and fish. Sometimes, we have seasonal products which are not on the menu, and which we offer with the Tapas menu.
Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Jorge Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Have to say, it was pretty hard getting this place open....:-) But after speaking to Stephanie (the gorgeous blond girl that you find greeting and serving you so graceously), I totally understand the why of it.
Have to make a note in my agenda, so I know to return there Wednesday through Sunday.
We were there on a lunch time and sat on the first room. Very cosy, nice, clean, comfortable...
Initially we were a bit on "the fence"....But dish after dish, oh boy! We had a very delicious meal. I think we tried almost everything...or at least the most particular dishes. I'm not a very big fan of tapas style... but they do it with a completely innovative flavor to it.
Very interesting ingredients mixed together, and Stephanie just topped it with her smile.
We really had a great time, and will return there again, and again, and again :-)
See you soon.

1  Thank ErSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Owner at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Ersher!

Thank you for your comment. It really means a lot to us that our customers give us constructive feedback so as to improve.
Our opening days are Monday to Saturday lunch time, and Wednesday until Saturday lunch and dinner! We open from 12 until 4.30 pm at lunch time and then from 8.30pm until midnight for dinner. You can find further information on our webpage, trip advisor and facebook.
The tapas menu you went for is truly a good option, quality price. It gives a good opportunity for the customer to try everything, starters, meat and fish, as well as desert. It also enables anyone with any food restrictions or allergies to enjoy food without worrying about ordering if it does not know what to go for!
All the team in Don Carlos is extremely happy you had an enjoyable experience in Don Carlos and we do hope to see you soon!

Best
Jorge Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Carlos Alicante also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Don Carlos Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing