We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From far the best restaurant in Town”

Don Carlos Alicante
Ranked #6 of 1,319 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$157
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Alicante, next to the Rambla and Alfonso X the Wise, the restaurant Don Carlos pretends to be a different place, which seamlessly combine fine dining with a special atmosphere. Do not hesitate and have a drink with us, we are waiting!Situado en pleno corazón de Alicante, junto a la Rambla y Alfonso X el Sabio, el restaurante Don Carlos pretende ser un lugar diferente, en el que se combinen a la perfección la mejor gastronomía con un ambiente especial. No lo dudes y tómate algo con nosotros, ¡¡estamos esperándote!!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“From far the best restaurant in Town”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Don Carlos is from far the best restaurant in Town ! For a reasonable cost you will be delighted ! The "chef" will become one day a big name of the Spanish cuisine !

Helpful?
Thank MO B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Propietario at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your review.
We strive to deliver the best ingredients possible at an affordable price. Our aim is to do our best and always improve so that our customers are satisfied!
We really hope to welcome you back at Don Carlos in the near future.

Regards
Jorge Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    120
    25
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creativity, quality, freshness”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Thank You Don Carlos and your Team
Wow what a night. You shared your love of great food, your great food and wine and even a few bottles of your favourite olive oil. Our friends from Canada will be over soon! Thank you this was very special evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Propietario at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Dear Blair,

Thank you for your review and we apologise for the belated response. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2015.
We really are happy that you had a wonderful time when you came to Don Carlos. In fact, I do vividly remember having our picture taken in the kitchen! You also bought most of our bottles of olive oil to take back as a present to Canada! I seem to recall you enjoyed the five course Tapas menu, which is a good way to sample dishes that are both on and off the menu. We take our pride in buying our products fresh from the local market nearby according to the season.
I know you live far but I really hope that we do see you here again in the future.

All the best
Jorge Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadera, Israel
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We tasted at least five or six dishes, all were excellent , Selection of a verey good wines .
And Carlos the owner / chef, a charming man who speaks fluently English .
Highly recommended .
Mo & Buly Gordon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mogordon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Propietario at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Dear customer

We would like to thank you for your review, and apologise for the belated response. Also, we would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy new year.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your experience in Don Carlos. The five course Tapas menu is a good way to get a feel for what we do here. We try and provide dishes from the menu but also special creations cooked on the spare of the moment thanks to ingredients from the local market. If you have an allergy or any food restrictions, then the kitchen tries and cater accordingly.
We hope that we see you again in 2015.
All the best,

Jorge Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A gastronomic delight!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The charming owner, Jorge Jurado and his team here have created a 'must visit' experience for lovers of delicious food! His 5 tapas menu is a gourmet delight, beautifully presented, each with a unique taste combo.Even better when complemented with his excellent house white wine and house Rioja Crianza. We'll be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Propietario at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Dear Peter

Thank you very much for your review, and sorry for the belated response. We would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy new year.
We are extremely glad you enjoyed your experience in Don Carlos. The five course Tapas menu is a very good option to try dishes from the menu but also creations that the chef cooks on the spot with fresh ingredients from the local nearby market.
Perhaps next time, you would like to sample our fine dining menu situated in Celeste, at the back of the restaurant. This is a wine pairing menu which consists of five dishes with its respective wine. For further information, please do not hesitate to search for our website.

All the best,
Jorge Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A very nice surprise”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had the Tapas menu and we were pleased and well satisfied with the experience. The menu composed by the chef was a good combination of vegetarian and cold dishes as well as warm fish and meat dishes. Especially the the first tapa of tomato and chèvre was a pleasure. The food was matched with good wines. The chef, Jorge, is passioned about his food an very service-minded. Since beverages are included in the menu, the price-value ratio is good. Overall, a pleasure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobW196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge J, Owner at Don Carlos Alicante, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. I take this opportunity to wish you a happy new year for 2015.
We do and try to cater for everyone with the five course Tapas menu. That is why, it is really important that you mention at the beginning any food restrictions you may have in order to satisfy your needs, and make the menu as tailor made as possible.
We do endeavour to mix cold and warm dishes, meat and fish so that the customer has an idea of what to expect in Don Carlos, all this of course is matched with some wine or beer depending on the choice of everyone.
We really hope to welcome you soon in Don Carlos.

Kind Regards
Jorge Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Carlos Alicante also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Don Carlos Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing