We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uber cool Amerigo”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uber cool Amerigo”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just one road back from the beach, promonade and marina, this hotel is situated in a fabulous location. The uber cool decor and furnishings provided a chilled laid back atmosphere. Both the bedroom and bathroom were trendy, large and clean. The breakfast was scrumptious, the rooftop bar was fabulous at night, the downstairs bar and restaurant were excellent. It's a great place to chill for a get away break, wether you want a base to party, or just relax and unwind. I couldn't fault this hotel - infact we're returning next weekend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amerigo and had the chance to sample the quality of our buffet breakfast and the different bars and restaurants located in the Hotel.
For your next visit we recommend you to try a relaxing Oriental massage at our Bodyna Spa located on the 4th Floor or simply and as we are sure you have already done, just to have a nice walk by the sea at El Postiguet beach at only 300 metres from the Hotel.
Thank you for your very nice comments that we will pass to all the Amerigo Team.
We are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    426
    148
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
826
47
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is our second stay at Hospes Amerigo- the first was at Christmas 6 years ago when we greatly enjoyed a weekend here. It's fair to say that the hotel has endured some wear & tear since then & desperately needs some TLC to get it back up to standard.
Particularly the carpets in the hallways which are very worn & tatty (there is also a foul odour in the halls).
Our room was fine- for one nights stay at a bargain price of 120 euro- however I wouldn't have been satisified with it otherwise. Our room 404 was in a loft like location with one window looking out over the building next door- the blind drawn on the one window was badly ripped & wouldn't go up so the room was quite dark, with only a few dirty lamps for lighting.
The other issue- which I consider to be a major issue is the complete lack of correspondence! With the original booking I sent a request for a special bottle of wine to be in our room on arrival- I asked the hotel to contact me regarding the available options & stressed that I was particularly after a bottle of cava ( Domaine de la vega) that we had enjoyed years ago.No reply. I sent another 3 emails before we left Australia- No reply. I emailed regarding parking options at the hotel- No reply...until this morning!!!! It's ridiculous that the morning of our departure we receive an email saying that they can arrange parking at a cost of 29.50 euro & we need to book!!! We are already parked here & no one informed us of any such cost! I expect a charge but am shocked that the communication is so poor.
Regarding the cava, on check in they dragged my husband off to the hotel to select a bottle, whilst trying to sell him a 400 euro champagne, I stood at recepetion wondering what was going on? I had tried to arrange the wine as a surprise then when they dragged my husband away I thought he must've had the same idea..he hadn't & had no idea what was going on & was completely confused as to why he was being asked to select a wine. He choose a beautiful bottle of cava which we enjoyed but have no idea how much it will cost us on check out!

Room Tip: get one of the rooms in thr front of the hotel- looking out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazcanbefussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you expected.
Regarding your special requests, after checking our e-mail I have to say that we received your e-mail but we failed to send you a reply. We only took note of your commnents but did not send you a menu with available cava options as requested and the reply from the Hotel was sent too late.
Upon your arrival, we offered your husband the possibility to choose from the wine menu of the Restaurant as Domaine de la Vega was not available. The Restaurant staff tried to offer you the best possible service and all the options from the menu. I can assure that by no means they tried to sell you the most expensive wine on the menu and that the bottle of cava that was finally chosen. The final option was a very good cava with a reasonable price.
Again we would like to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you deserve. In this case, there has been a communication problem from our side and it seems that it was not handled properly upon your arrival.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante and offer you a true 5* experience at the Hospes Amérigo.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Hospes Amerigo have very friendly staff in all circumstances - the only downside is the size of the pool (not long enough to swim lengths) but they compensate with the beautiful terrace and lovely spa. Perhaps not a place for children but it's very well situated, close to the beach and with gorgeous spacious rooms (big baths!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyTrickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the service provided by all our staff.
Regarding your comments about the pool and as you said, this area has been thought to be used for relaxation and not for swimming. Due to its location on the 4th Floor, we have the luxury to have the only roof top pool in the city center of Alicante that allows our guests to relax and enjoy the best views to Santa Barbara Castle.
Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We specifically choose this hotel as it is one of the few in Alicante that offers Family Suites. What we got was not nothing of the kind. It was simply two seperate rooms next to each other. The staff failed to correct this - even though it seemed like they tried. Off course this was not possible as it is probably organised like this by the managment. To stay at a hotel has a lot to do with feeling welcome and when you start your stay with being tricked th erest of the stay suffers. I can only recommend familes to look for antother hotel when staying in Alicante.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations regarding the Hotel family rooms chossen for your stay at the Hospes Amerigo.
As per your comments our family rooms consist of two rooms connected with a door and small hall that allows you to have your own privacy and also your children close to you.
We normally have very good comments about this rooms and we try to offer families with children this type of accommodation, also bearing in mind that a family room offers a 10% discount on the price of booking two Dreamer rooms.
For Guests that require larger rooms we have available one Master Suite which consists of one Junior Suite (one room with a living room) connected with another Dreamer room. Unfortunatelly availability on this room is very limited and I understand that during your stay at the Amerigo it may have not been available.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most sureley help us to improve our levels of service and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that we can offer the service that you expect and we can make your next stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed at the Hospes Amerigo with my girlfriend in mid-July and we found it to be spotlessly clean in the large, high-ceiling room. Upon arrival the staff were extremely friendly and welcomed us with a fresh lemon drink. We were showed straight to the room on the third floor, which was large with a humungous bathroom (two sinks, large rain shower, bath and toilet and bidet). The room felt very large and had great aircon, a tv, giant cupboards, very comfortable beds and a big sofa. We didn't have the breakfast but the restaurant in the main entry looked nice and popular, and we sampled the drinks at the bar on the rook which were also quite good (4 Euros for a beer, slightly expensive for Spain but cheap for a 5 star hotel). The pool on the roof, although not large or deep was very useful. The beach is only a five minute amble down the street and there are plenty of restaurants along the way. The castle is also a five minute stroll away. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone in Alicante as it is in the absolute best position and is quite good value for money for a five star hotel.

Room Tip: choose a high room to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for your very nice comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amerigo in one of our comfortable rooms and that you could also visit the city of Alicante. As you could experience, the city center is full with small restaurants, bars and local shops with a lively atmosphere.
As you already know Isla Incity roof top bar, in your next visit to Alicante we recommend you an Oriental Massage in the Bodyna Spa also on the 4th Floor or simply sample delicious tapas in the Monastrell Tapas Bar in the Hotel passage.
Again thank you for your comments that most surely we will pass to all the Amerigo Team.
We are sincerley looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Fantastic and clean hotel, great location just 2 mins from the harbour and the beach and even closer to the old town and Ramblas. I stayed with 5 of my girlfriends and we would all book again. Just watch your feet by the pool though - the black decking gets hot!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are dellighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel with your friends.
In your next stay we recommend you to sample one of the cocktails offered during the summer months in Isla Incity 4th Floor Terrace or the cuisine of the Tapas Bar and Restaurant Monastrell that serves the best tapas or a delicious tasting menu in Restaurant Monastrell.
Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to the Hospes Amerigo in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I have just returned from 3 nights at the Hospes Amerigo . My wife And I stayed in room 22 one of the apartments . The staff at check in we're polite and very helpful,showing us to the apartment 50 metres along the road from the main hotel. The Apartment was an excellent size, although the bathroom was very small in relation to the overall size. It had been recently refurbished to a very high standard, although there was no telephone or direct access to the hotel . There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance . However there are also plenty of nightclubs. The bedroom overlooks an alley which is used as a walkway to get to the clubs. This caused a major problem. We had great meals and went to bed around 1am. However it was 6 am on Friday and Saturday nights/morning when the noise stopped fom party revellers walking,shouting,singing whilst arriving
or coming back from the clubs . Sunday night was much quieter . I enquired at reception why we had not been told of the noise level,politely pointing out that a 5star hotel should be aware that guests coming for the weekend usually enjoy a good nights rest. I was told that all 11 apartments owned by the hotel overlook the alley way. The hotel is first class. Boutique, modern and a really nice ambience . However unless you like to party until 6am think carefully before booking the apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel room that doesn't back onto the restaurants a te rea of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
First of all we would like to sincerely thank you for that the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you found the service and facilities of the apartment to your liking and that you could enjoy your stay in Alicante.
On the other hand, we are very sorry that you encountered problems with noise in your apartment. As per your comments and being the apartments in the city center of Alicante these may be noisy at certain times but by no means the bars and restaurants nearby should disturbe your sleep until so late.
We are going to investigate if this is an isolated incident, as night clubs and bars are not allowed to keep their business open until so late even during the weekend.
Again thank you very much for your comments that most surely help us to improve our sevice and we are looking forward to welcome to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing