We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not close to true 5 star”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for four nights, 3 in family suite and one with 2 adajcent rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Negotiated a price with manager because price quoted was exorbitant for hotel level. Family room we were given had broken air conditioning which they could not fix. Toilet constantly running and fixed 3-4 times. Broken DVD player. Temperature was minimum 25.5c. Had to sleep with fan but for first night was told they did not have one so no sleep in sweat room. Was great to get in the car for air. Manager made no concessions at checkout even though no air. Would never have checked in if told we were not going to have properly functioning air. Also, areas in need of repair. Water rot on ceilings and carpet in hallways, even in family suite, filthy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelernev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We would like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you expected.
We hope that the personal attention offered by our Front Office staff was satisfactory and I can asure you that all the Amerigo Team works very hard to try to exceed all our Guests expectations with the best service.
Again thank you for your comments that most surely help us to improve our service.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to Hospes Amerigo in your next visit to Alicante and have the possibility to offer you the 5* service that you expect.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our family stayed for 3 nights in two rooms. We were warmly welcomed by the very friendly staff (thank you for the lemonade!) and took advantage of the hotel parking (30E/night). The front desk team are one of the friendliest and welcoming we have ever met. They were so enthusiastic to tell us about the hotel, closely restaurants, beaches and more. I work in the customer service field and these people truly provide world class hospitality.

Our rooms were gorgeous and huge! Full sofas and a lounge chair in each room, as well as small balconies. Bathrooms were also spacious. My kids loved the free toothbrushes and tiny toothpastes! The beds were super comfortable.

We enjoyed the rooftop pool. The rooftop bar is a really nice place to have a drink. Gorgeous views of the city.

Location of the hotel was perfect. Easy and quick walk to a gorgeous beach. They even give you giant beach towels to bring to the beach. Close walk to shopping and lots of restaurants. I loved our stay in Alicante and one of the main reasons was the hotel. Thank you for making good memories for us!

Room Tip: We faced on the interior of the courtyard restaurant. It wasn't quiet until the restaurant shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amerigo with your family.
I will pass your very nice comments to all the Amerigo team and as you could experience all our staff works very hard to try to exceed our Guests expectations.
Also and as you could experiece for us is very important to ensure the quality of your sleep, for that reason we take special attention to the quality of the beds, choosing the best Epytian cotton bed linen and Korres amenities.
Again thank you for your very nice comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to the Hospes Amerigo in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here for a Friday night in July 2012 - two adults and two teenagers.

We were informed at check-in that the Junior Suite with extra beds which we had booked through an online travel agent was not possible - we were delighted to be upgraded to a family room. In contrast to a reviewer below, we found the form of this family room to suit us well, being essentially two rooms with a common door. The open bathroom is....unusual, to say the least.

The staff were what you would expect from a 5 star hotel - polite, attentive and professional. The breakfast was another highlight - a chance to expand horizons, never find a Full English. I didn't try the cava...

Our room was on the second floor - one part opened onto the street, the other into an inner courtyard. In all honesty, noise was not a problem although we had the windows closed - the air conditioning was efficient and silent.

The location is excellent, very handy for the late night market on the promenade, and cafes and resturants.

Certainly worth another stay, although deep pockets are needed for full-price stays. Definitely worth it if you can afford it...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulbousSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our familiy rooms and also the service provided by all the Amerigo team.
We are also very glad that you could enjoy our breakfast, with plenty things to nibble including a amongst others a lovely glass of cava.
Again thank you for you very nice comments and when planning your next visit to Alicante we would like to invite you to visit our web site where you can find our latest promotions and best rates.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have just returned from Alicante and a 4 night stay at the Hospes Amerigo. We had room 320 which was at a high level facing the sea of which we had a narrow view. All facilities were very good including the a/c. The huge bath was greatly enjoyed by my partner.
The room rate at 120€ wasn't too bad but it did exclude breakfast. We happily ate breakfast out at one of the numerous local cafes. We thought the hotel breakfast at 18€ was expensive for what was actually provided and if you wanted something cooked, that was extra again.
Our double room turned out to have two single beds pushed together which wasn't entirely satisfactory but we didn't complain as it was otherwise a very nice room. A mentioned by other guests the hotel does look a little worn in areas especially the carpet in the corridors.
The hotel was chosen because of its star rating, other recomendations and it being located near the the old town and the beach and .............. because it had a rooftop pool. The roof top pool was really rather unpleasant being very small and shallow and set inside a sort of stuffy greenhouse. The pool was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and we were disappointed with how run down it all looked - nothing at all like the promotional photos on the website. The spa didn't seem to be open and that area looked a bit tired too.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful indeed.

Room Tip: High level seems to be quieter and facing the front of the hotel and the beach is pleasant. Not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are deligthed that you enjoyed the quality and the size of the room.
Regarding your comments about the breakfast, as you have very well pointed we do not include this service when the reservation is made, eventhough we recommend all our guests to sample at least once our buffet breakfast to have the possibility to taste the quality of all the ingredients that we use and also the service provided by our staff.
On the other hand, we would like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies as per your comments you were not able to enjoy the 4th Floor roof top pool as you expected. We are lucky enough to have the only roof top pool in Alicante city center and as you could see, due to its location its has been designed for relaxation and we have tried to maximize the limited space that we have in that area the best possible can.
We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding this area and the Hotel and I can asure you that we work very hard to try to keep these and all the facilities in the best condition we possibly can.
Again thank you for your comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.
We are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Modern, clean hotel. More of a city hotel than a typical beach resort place. Close to restaurants, shops and beach. Would happily stay there again. 10 mins from airport. Small rooftop pool. Not ideal for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloconnor0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In your next visit to Alicante we would like to recommend you to sample the tapas menu at Monastrell Tapas Bar or your favourite drink at Isla Inclity Bar 4th Floor terrace until the 15th of September or all year round by the Lobby area.
Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just one road back from the beach, promonade and marina, this hotel is situated in a fabulous location. The uber cool decor and furnishings provided a chilled laid back atmosphere. Both the bedroom and bathroom were trendy, large and clean. The breakfast was scrumptious, the rooftop bar was fabulous at night, the downstairs bar and restaurant were excellent. It's a great place to chill for a get away break, wether you want a base to party, or just relax and unwind. I couldn't fault this hotel - infact we're returning next weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amerigo and had the chance to sample the quality of our buffet breakfast and the different bars and restaurants located in the Hotel.
For your next visit we recommend you to try a relaxing Oriental massage at our Bodyna Spa located on the 4th Floor or simply and as we are sure you have already done, just to have a nice walk by the sea at El Postiguet beach at only 300 metres from the Hotel.
Thank you for your very nice comments that we will pass to all the Amerigo Team.
We are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is our second stay at Hospes Amerigo- the first was at Christmas 6 years ago when we greatly enjoyed a weekend here. It's fair to say that the hotel has endured some wear & tear since then & desperately needs some TLC to get it back up to standard.
Particularly the carpets in the hallways which are very worn & tatty (there is also a foul odour in the halls).
Our room was fine- for one nights stay at a bargain price of 120 euro- however I wouldn't have been satisified with it otherwise. Our room 404 was in a loft like location with one window looking out over the building next door- the blind drawn on the one window was badly ripped & wouldn't go up so the room was quite dark, with only a few dirty lamps for lighting.
The other issue- which I consider to be a major issue is the complete lack of correspondence! With the original booking I sent a request for a special bottle of wine to be in our room on arrival- I asked the hotel to contact me regarding the available options & stressed that I was particularly after a bottle of cava ( Domaine de la vega) that we had enjoyed years ago.No reply. I sent another 3 emails before we left Australia- No reply. I emailed regarding parking options at the hotel- No reply...until this morning!!!! It's ridiculous that the morning of our departure we receive an email saying that they can arrange parking at a cost of 29.50 euro & we need to book!!! We are already parked here & no one informed us of any such cost! I expect a charge but am shocked that the communication is so poor.
Regarding the cava, on check in they dragged my husband off to the hotel to select a bottle, whilst trying to sell him a 400 euro champagne, I stood at recepetion wondering what was going on? I had tried to arrange the wine as a surprise then when they dragged my husband away I thought he must've had the same idea..he hadn't & had no idea what was going on & was completely confused as to why he was being asked to select a wine. He choose a beautiful bottle of cava which we enjoyed but have no idea how much it will cost us on check out!

Room Tip: get one of the rooms in thr front of the hotel- looking out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazcanbefussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you expected.
Regarding your special requests, after checking our e-mail I have to say that we received your e-mail but we failed to send you a reply. We only took note of your commnents but did not send you a menu with available cava options as requested and the reply from the Hotel was sent too late.
Upon your arrival, we offered your husband the possibility to choose from the wine menu of the Restaurant as Domaine de la Vega was not available. The Restaurant staff tried to offer you the best possible service and all the options from the menu. I can assure that by no means they tried to sell you the most expensive wine on the menu and that the bottle of cava that was finally chosen. The final option was a very good cava with a reasonable price.
Again we would like to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you deserve. In this case, there has been a communication problem from our side and it seems that it was not handled properly upon your arrival.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante and offer you a true 5* experience at the Hospes Amérigo.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
683 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
835 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Calle Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £106 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing