We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel but noisy”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely hotel but noisy”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I like this hotel. A bit pricey but good service, good rooms, and good food. Roof top pool and sun lounge comfortable, but the noise from outside at night from revellers stops you sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKsteveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    426
    149
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
826
47
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had originally booked to stay in the Hospes Amerigo Premium apartments but found the apartments to be not quite as premium as advertised and the wifi wasn't good. HOWEVER, Rafael, the hotel manager was extremely helpful and moved us over to the hotel without any hassle. Thank you Rafael.

The hotel is a lovely establishment. Our room was elegantly furnished, clean, had a huge bathroom and separate shower. What they didn't have in the room they would provide immediately when requested. Good WIFI signals here too. The balcony is tiny (but then we were in a converted old convent and in the middle of the old town) and it was sufficient for us as the hotel has a sun terrace where we could sit and sunbathe when we wanted.

Excellent service. In particular, the front desk staff were always courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Location-wise, this is really the place to stay. We were right in the middle of the old town area with all its fascinating little alleyways, near taperias, tabernas, Postiguet beach, the castle of Santa Barbara, plus the commercial shopping area is also within walking distance. We didn't need a car - public transport is excellent for places that are not within walking distance. The room was pretty soundproof, so although we were in the midst of activities we slept very well indeed.

We didn't have breakfast here so can't comment on that. We also didn't use the spa.

Thank you Rafael and team for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the third floor overlooking the alleyway where the restaurant is. It's more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jysh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from a 6 night holiday at Hospes Amerigo booked through ba.com. Excellent deal. This is a brilliant hotel in a great spot in the old town but only one block back from the esplanade, the marina and the beach. There are some excellent tapas bars and restaurants very close to the hotel. Our room at the hotel was lovely and well equipped. The only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely breakfast with anything you could wish for, including cava ! The rooftop terrace is very nice but with a limited number of sunbeds. Very helpful staff - especially Christian who gave us a warm welcome on our arrival, together with a welcome drink. He explained all about the hotel facilities and marked out places of interest on the map. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking the street, otherwise you can't sleep with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OXFORDTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel, but the food was bad! the service perfect, and the rooms very dark! If I would compare to the hotel Melia this is a bad example for Alicante. The hotel is very cold and unpersonal!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, West Yorks.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A well run hotel with excellent staff, clean and well equipped rooms. We stayed midweek and did not experience the noise some guests have complained about. A great location for getting around the City on foot.
You must try the Michelin starred restaurant within the hotel building - first class and not silly prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited last weekend with my daughter for a five night short break. It was one of the happiest holidays I have ever had. The hotel was relaxed, delivers excellent service, felt really safe and our bedroom 119 was amazing. We could not have asked to be treated better. Worth ever penny and neither of us wanted to come home. Loved alicante too . It was Holy Week and the joy of seeing the procession moving through the Town was very memorable. Thankyou to all.

Room Tip: Ours was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jantreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
599 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arrived on an early flight and was impressed that we were made welcome and a room was available early without any trouble. Best service ever at that point.
Room was large, a liitle dark but bed was comfy although pillows were not so great. Nice toiletries, Big bath, although difficult to get into and a dangerous shower, once in door would not push open to get out. Good job wasn't alone as it took two to open it. The shower also leaked all over the floor and flooded everywhere, each time used. Had to knock on door each time to do a two person effort to get out.
Maid brought complimentary coffee and tea sachets on first day and two cups but no kettle in room so a strange delivery. Got one delivered but next day were left with a kettle but no cups.
Breakfast as others have said was lovely but on two days service was a bit erratic so we skipped on cooked. Poached eggs are perfect! Good selection of fruit, bread, cake etc.
On our last day, despite discussing our departure the following day and what time we would be up no one mentioned that breakfast on bank holiday does not start til 8. There were other guests waiting too who had not realised.
Room was kept clean but when we arrived there was a pile of sand by the balcony door (inside) same sand was there when we left. On whole we appreciated convenience of hotel and friendly welcome ( staff on that day were best) but were disappointed at other times and particularly on last day that no one seemed at all bothered about service. No one helped with cases and no friendly goodbye. There is very little tourist info in hotel, very little in room that explains what is available. Sun deck on roof gets very hot so good for quick sunbathe but the pool is small. There is no service upstairs and not once did we see any staff up there. Hotel is nice but service and facilities are not five star. Some reception staff are great, some just stand there. First floor is very noisy, front has bars, back is part of the Easter procession route, great to watch but not after 11pm if you are not feeling good. Would recommend asking for a higher floor.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing