We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 3rd annual trip with friends. Superb hotel, staff, pool, amenities and location. A special mention to Bar Laytons opposite, which is run by Sergio and George and is quite simply a fantastic, busy, local, authentic Spanish tapas and restaurant. Menu of the day €10 euros and tapas from 1.5.

Back to the hotel- a lovely high quality treat and super pool and sun trap on the top floor.

Only criticism which wouldn't stop me returning are the two lifts always take ages to arrive! I guess I need to be more patient!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JAGR2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel in your last visit to Alicante.
Being a regular visitor of Alicante, you could experience again the variety and quality of Restaurants and Bars near by the Hotel and the proximity of El Postiguet beach and main shopping area.
Again thank you for your very kind comments that we most surely will pass to the Hospes Amérigo team.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from yet another brilliant stay at this hotel. (June 28th- July 2nd). My third visit, daughters first, and as always every member of staff helpful and pleasant beyond expectation, and a special mention for Jose on reception

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Whittaker,
Thank you for becoming a regular Guest at the Hospes Amérigo.
We will pass your very kind comments to all our team, specially to Jose from Reception for the service provided during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family to our Hotel very soon, so you can enjoy the central location and service provided by all our staff.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely hotel in alicante converted building whose roof terrace an pool overlook the cathedral. We given a lovely room with a large arched window/doors the only one in the hotel. They had kept as they knew it was my birthday weekend. We were here during the fiesta of San Juan the fire festival it was brilliant the streets were packed watching the processions which, lucky for us, passed right under our Juliet balcony. Such a vibrant city in and around the marina and the many squares with plenty of food and bar options and the hotel is in a prime location for both beach and nightlife. The staff were courteous and friendly as you would expect from a 5* hotel as was the decor and service. I would advise to reserve a parking space it is under the hotel and is totally secure. It is €26 a day but you couldn't park in a better place and you won't need your car again if you are just going to savour Alicante.

Room Tip: Try and get the room with the arch window you can see the marina at the end of the street as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMc221345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you had the chance to enjoy Hogueras de San Juan, that takes place every year at the end of June being the peak time the night of the 24th of June.
At midnight on that day comes the "cremà" (burning), the high point of the fiestas. After a spectacular white palm tree of fireworks, the bonfires all over the city are set alight and blaze away amid much merriment and dancing and singing, while fire-fighters shower the merrymakers with water in what is known as the "banyá".
Also from 25th to 29th of June there is a fireworks competition on El Postiguet beach, and the historic centre of the town comes alive with a medieval market and a range of shows.
A very good time to visit Alicante.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to Alicante very soon or for the next Hogueras de Alicante.
Yours sincerly,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent hotel. Very stylish with wonderful staff. The staff are genuinely friendly, helpful, courteous and efficient. The breakfast is first rate as is the food in the restaurants. This hotel is simply one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially the service provided by all our team. As you could experience with try our best to ensure that all our Guests have a memorable stay.
We will pass your very kind comments regarding the quality of our breakfast to the Restaurant staff and also to the 1 Michelin star Restaurant Monastrell and Monastrell Tapas Bar.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A little late at reviewing this hotel - we stayed as a winter getaway for 3 nights in February 2014. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice of hotel.
We loved
- The rooms were light and airy and beautifully yet simoly decorated.
- The marble bathroom was luxurious and spacious
- Absolutely loved the breakfast - there was so much to choose from and all delicious
- The rooftop looked lovely - If I came back in the summer I'm sure I would spend time relaxing up there.
- The location was excellent for the airport bus and all the sights

Not so wonderful:
- The only niggle was that the frosted glass door to the bathroom didn't give a lot of privacy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel in your city break in Alicante.
We will pass your very kind comments to all our the Amérigo team and specillay to our Breakfast staff.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon, so you can have the chance to also enjoy the Hotel and Alicante during the summer months.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is an old monastery tastefully and minimally decorated with exceptional and friendly service. This location is ideal for easy walking distance to the castle, galleries, restaurants, and shops. It is also less than a two minute walk to the promenade that will take you to the main beach if desired. The view from my balcony was spectacular as I could see the castle and hear the bells of the cathedral nearby. It was also nice to be away from the hotel scene on the beach and marina. When I arrived I was greeted from my taxi with a porter taking my bag and I was offered a cold lemonade to enjoy while I checked in. The concierge were extremely helpful by arranging bicycle rentals, restaurant reservations and suggesting suitable cafés and restaurants which were all excellent. The pool was refreshing and clean and offered an outstanding view and a bit of down time before heading out for dinner. Wi-Fi was free and quick. I did not access the spa or have breakfast in the hotel so am unable to comment on these services. I have recommended this hotel to friends who frequent this area of Spain. If I return to Alicante, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the Hotel.
In your next visit to Alicante we recommend you to try our fresh and delicious buffet breakfast or the cuisine of both Restaurant Monastrell awarded with 1 Michelin star or Monastrell Tapas Bar both within the Hotel premises.
Again thank you for your very kind comments that we most surely pass to all the Amérigo team.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a great location and staff that were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. However I was on the first floor there was a little noise from the street, however this didn’t cause too much trouble. A taxi from the airport costs 20 euro and takes about 20min, so the access and location are excellent. I would def. recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your very kind comments regarding our service to all the Amérigo team.
Regarding the noise you encountered duting your stay, we recommned you to contact us in advance in your next visti to our Hotel, so we can offer you a room either facing the Hotel passage or a courtyard room that are quieter.
Again thank you for your very kind comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service..
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
677 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,270 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Calle Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £105 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing