We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly reccommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly reccommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hospes and thought, overall, that it was a great hotel which provided great value for money owing to the price myself and my partner paid for our stay via Expedia. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location - everything you would want to see or visit is about a 5 minute walk away (beach, marina, promenade, old town). The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the rainforest showers are amazing. If you want a quiet room, request one overlooking the inner courtyard prior to your stay. I did this on the back of reading a review here and am so glad I did - the two streets some of the rooms look out over are quite noisy in the night owning to the restaurants there and tourists eating at them or walking around. Some reviews have said that the disadvantage with these types of rooms are that they are slightly darker than others - I did not find this whatsoever. All rooms have a black-out shade on the balcony windows controlled by a remote which I thought was a nice touch and the air conditioning can be controlled manually so you can set the temperature to your own liking. The rooftop pool, although not particularly large, was well designed and, throughout our stay, not very busy at all. It has a jacuzzi at one end which was very relaxing. There is a gym which, although I only used once, was more than adequate, although the hotel needs to sort out the air con in there as it gets extremely hot. The rooftop deck has around 14 sun loungers and, provided you get to the rooftop not too late in the afternoon, you can generally acquire one or two. You can get towels for the loungers from reception which you can keep throughout your stay returning them on departure. On Friday and Saturday nights, the rooftop changes into a restaurant which is highly reccommended (you need to book with the hotel staff if you want to eat there). The food is a BBQ style and great value for money (complimentary glass of champagne to start). The hotel also projects old black and white films from the rooftop to the buildings adjacent to the roof which produces a great effect. The view from the rooftop is stunning during the day, overlooking the castle and old town from one side, and the marina from the other. Breakfast in the hotel is served on the mezzanine level (which the hotel could do with telling you before hand as it took a while to locate) and was, undoubtedly, the best selection of buffet type food I have ever experienced. You can also order from a set menu if you wish. The hotel restautant (on ground floor) serves tapas which was really tasty and, I thought, well priced. There were only a slight few niggles I had with the hotel, but, overall these did not cause any great inconvenience and would not put me off reccommending the hotel or from staying there again. These were - i) the hallway carpets need to be cleaned and/or replaced as they are slightly unsightly in there present state, ii) more staff are needed during breakfast serfice (as service can be a tad on the slow side), iii) the rooftop bar should, I think, be open during daytime hours so you can order drinks (you have to call room service at present) and not just on the evenings of Friday and Saturday and iv) the hotel could do with more than just a single laptop for "internet access" as you often have to queue for it. Like I say, these are just little niggles - I would wholeheartedly reccommend this hotel for a great stay in gorgeous Alicante and would certainly stay there if I was to return to the area again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorker555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    421
    147
    33
    20
See reviews for
178
819
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed here as part of a business trip. It was my second visit - I would recommend it for solo female travellers. Location is great and hotel is quiet and sophisticated. Pool is small and there are insufficient loungers but I managed to find myself one and met up with two other solo female travellers. We shared dinner in the tapas bar - expensive but lovely - try the vegetable tempura!

Rooms vary - on my first visit I had one overlooking the street. Noisy but great views. This time, my room was dark and appeared to look out over a ventilation shaft! No matter as only spent a little time there and bed and bathroom very good.

Breakfast a highlight - amazing choice of freshly prepared fruit, pastries, meats and cheeses.

Look out for bargain rates - my stay in June (one night) was a third cheaper than a double room the month before.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Having visited Alicante numerous times I have always wanted to stay at this plush looking hotel. Everything about the place looked perfect, and after reading great reviews on trip advisor I was swayed to book two nights for myself and my boyfriend (first time in spain) over a weekend in June 2009 with hotels.com.
I was interested by the attractive looking swimming pool on the website and the offer that it was open until midnight so we could have a romantic evening dip...
Unfortunately we were not advised that the pool facility was closed both nights of our stay from 6pm until midnight and every weekend in the month of June. This information was lacking on both hotels.com and the Hospes Amerigo website.
After raising the issue with reception who could not be bothered to talk to me and having tried several times to explain my query in spanish I gave up.
Aside from this the hotel was perfect. So if you're planning on booking and want to enjoy a midnight dip please make sure it's actually available and avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaplinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Elegantly designed large rooms. Good food and coffe in the Senzone Tapas restaurant, but a bit slow service and the staff could have been a bit more observant. The Hotel is situated right in the city centre, near the beach, marina, restaurants and shopping. The Lobby bar wasnt´t open and the Roof top bar neither. Just one evening when they had a barbeque on the roof they had sofas and nice lanterns, which is not equal to their website where they say they have a nice lobby- and roof top bar.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Fantastic Hotel.

Location: Perfect, one road back from the sea in the Old Town. 5 mins walk from the beach, 1 minute from the promenade. 1 minute to the Old Town and 10 mins walk to the shops.

Rooms: Most importantly the beds are incredibly comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe space. A fantastic rain power shower. Little bit of a strange bathroom layout, there is a door to the toilet but the rest is relatively 'open plan'. There is a door that you can slide between the bedroom and the wardrobe / bathroom area. It really isn't as weird as it sounds!

Public areas: Fantastically laid out, lots of places to sit. The terrace on the top floor is fantastic and changes throughout the day from a sunbed area, to a chill out bar and a restaurant. (Restaurant a little dear but the bar prices are worth paying for the location and service). The pool is more of a dipping pool than a lap pool.

Service: Everyone that we came across gave fantastic service with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel.

The room was large and extremely luxurious. Smelled heavenly too. You need to remember to ask if you want one big bed instead of 2 singles pushed together though.

The staff was very, very helpful and made excellent suggestions for dinner and activities such as choosing a beach to visit. We absolutely would have had a different, less enjoyable without the help of the front desk staff. It really made the 4 star hotel we stayed in during our visit to Barcelona look very poor in terms of their service.

The price, at 115 euros, was a steal for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Loved it. So calm and relaxing, beautiful room really allowed a perfect night's sleep. Bed so comfy, location so quiet and blinds allowed all outside light to be shut out. "Mood" lighting in room lent itself to perfect relaxation. Lovely toiletries - all natural ingredients etc. Bath big enough for two! Staff (particularly reception) so helpful. Food wonderful - breakfast and tapas bar - a little on the expensive side. Food and drinks on roof terrace expensive, though wine and club sandwich were delicious. Plenty of lovely restaurants nearby along with great shopping, lovely churches, plazas and very clean beach. People in Alicante genuinely helpful and amiable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing