We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Marton Middlesbrough England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed at the Amerigo for 4 nights. Booked with Alpha Rooms on the Internet. We got a very good rate for the Dreamers Room which was very large and situated looking out at the small street of restaurants at the back of the hotel. The hotel enjoys a very good location near to shops, bars and the harbour and sea front. Alicante is a grat place for a few nights. You can also take the tram along the coast. Would recommend this hotel, it offers grat value for a winter break.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    426
    149
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
826
47
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wloclawek, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Our first trip to Spain. Selected the Hospes Amerigo, based on our dearly Tripadvisor. Booked through the hotels own website. The "winter" rate was 155 Euro for a deluxe room. The service was excellent and so was the room. Very large with several sliding doors. As a shy person I would have liked a sliding door to close off the bath. However, you could close off the bath from the sitting/bed rom. I will not repeat the other reports, so I stop the hotel description here.
Hints regarding the hotel:
There are two lifts, but we often used the stairs. On the door next to the lift, press the emergency bar on the door and walk to the bottom. The last door enter the reception. Get a free Internet access code from the reception. Deliver your post cards at the reception. They will send them for free. To unlock the room door, turn the key and press the handle down push the door inwards. The shower. The lower control is the thermostat, the middle the handheld shower and the top one the ceiling shower. Beware not to shower against the glass door, as this will flood the floor. To operate the electric blind, use the controls next to the master bed. Pool. Jacuzzi and waterfalls are operated by the buttons in the floor next to the pool.
Hints outside:
Breakfast and dinner: With your back against the hotel entrance, walk right, right and right again into the street behind the hotel. The first and second restaurant on the right hand serves great breakfast and dinners. 6 Euro for a breakfast and 10 Euro for Paella. For great Tapas get out on the main street again and walk up just past Kentucky Fried Chicken. Nice restaurant with seats out and inside. Grab a plate and start eating. 1,5 Euro pr Tapas. They count the sticks when you leave and then you pay. Walk 50 meter further up the street and cross. The pedestrian street on the left side has many restaurants. When entering that street, there is a posh bar on the right, called Concerto, that has live music and great drinks. A cocktail 6 Euro. Beers 2 Euro. I was recommended a restaurant called Gourmet by the reception staff. Ask for direction (very close). I had paella with pasta and tuna, a beer and a wonderful mango sorbet. (20 Euro). Shopping area: Walk right, through the beautiful park and keep walking for 300 meter that direction. A high street with many shops appear.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The Amerigo is a great choice for a break in Alicante. It is centrally located making it easy to get to all the major attractions. It is in the El Barrio area of town, which is full of wee restaurants, bars and shop dotted around the cobbled streets and lovely squares. The marina is a few minutes walk away with the beach a further short walk.

We had a dreamer double at the back of the hotel. The room was extremely large as was the bed. As mentioned in previous reviews the bathroom is a quirky design and not good for the modest amoungst us. You are supplied with robes, slippers and all manner of toiletries including razor, toothbrush etc.

The room looked out onto a bustling narrow lane with restaurants and shops, which can get quite noisy later at night, especially at the weekend when the partying goes on until the very early morning (5am).

The rooftop terrace was a nice place to chill, but the pool is nothing special and is in need of some maintenance. The better half used the spa and had several treatments which she thoroughly enjoyed. The spa is really overpriced compared to prices in the UK, but then again not something you would do everyday.

The only real dissapointment was the fact that the bar/cafe in the hotel was shut as it is out of season. For a 5 star hotel this is a poor excuse. Didn't eat in the tapas bar or have have breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment.

For what we paid, the hotel was fantastic value for money (book with hotels.com or 1800 hotels for best deals). I really did like it alot. The combination of the room, the location and the staff meant is was everything we wanted from a relaxing break in a lively, vibrant city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I chose this hotel after reading all the reviews. It was in an ideal location for my short break in Alicante with my teenage daughter. I was nicely surprised by the town and we had a really nice time with really good unseasonable hot weather. The hotel was 5 minutes from the sea front and the marina with lots of restaurants to choose from. It was a 10 minute walk from the tourist attractions and the shops. The hotel had a small indoor pool on the roof and the hotel provided slippers, robe and towels for use in the pool which was useful as we had flown easyjet and only took hand luggage! We stayed board only, as recommended by other reviewers. We ate twice in the hotels Tapas bar which was ok, but the portions were small and seemed expensive for what they were. The service was good but there was some problems on the second night with the chef and so we had to wait a long time for our food which when it came wasn't that good. The bar and coffee area in the hotel were closed during the winter season. Internet access was free and there was a lap top for use in the reception area. The staff were helpful.
My only problem was the bathroom. Its a strange layout and I had problems getting in and out of the shower and I don't have any mobility problems. I still have a large bruise behind my knee where I caught it stepping in and out of the bath onto the non flat end of the bath even using the handrail provided. This was my only fault of the room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. I also marked the location down a bit as the hotel was near two sex shops but there was no indication of other seedy behaviour and felt quite safe walking around at night with my daughter! I got a good deal with Expedia for the room, I marked value down because of the cost of meals, but cheaper restaurants were nearby so it wasn't a problem. I would stay in this group of hotels again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confusedfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We checked into this hotel for three days and on arrival was greeted by very friendly reception staff. Complimentary Iced tea drinks on arrival. I was amazed at the room a dreamer room, lovely balcony overlooking a street alleyway with restaurants and tables all out in the open. Everything you could need in the room, Toothbrush and tootpaste, shaving cream and razor all the necessities. The only downside to these rooms is noise, after two nights we had to change to a quieter room at back of hotel, Spaniards tend to eat late at night and the noise goes on till about 2.30 am, hard to get a good nights sleep. The quieter room was very dark and windows were obscured with frosted glass, when opened you looked out onto air conditioning ducting which again was noisy enough.. This is a pretty quite hotel and lacks atmosphere in the surrounding areas but is ideal for a chill out break. Ideally in a great location right in the centre of town. This hotel has a roof top pool and sunloungers small but sufficient.
Most of the staff are fantastic and very obliging. I ran into difficulties trying to print an online boarding card and because the laptop at the hotel wasnt connected to a printer It meant I had to email, but computer in spanish and very difficult. was told by a member of staff that he would allow me to print from their computer in a few minutes, but that ran into hours and had to go elsewhere. All in all this is a wonderful clean and freindly hotel and I would recommend it to anybody going to alicante. Alicante was quite expensive to eat out, I did not eat in the hotel but had drinks and tapas which I found very expensive.
Ideal hotel and will definately stay there again. Not quite 5 stars by Irish standards but a good four plus.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This hotel has an excellent location right in the center of Alicante, on walking distance of all important sights (beach, pier, castle / fortress, shopping streets, restaurants etc.). Rooms were really big, well appointed, although when taking a shower one has to be careful not to flood the room. Breakfast was simply superb.

Only downside was the hotel bar: drinks were rather overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We arrived at the hotel early and the room was not ready but they provided a cooling drink and allowed us to leave our luggage while we wandered around the town. Returned a few hours later and the room was presented to us, it was minimal but outstandingly comfortable. All the gadgets were explained and we were left in peace and tranquility. The bathroom has a walk in shower plus a bath with another shower. The bed was huge and very comfortable, television could be turned to be viewed from the bed of the sofa. Safe was free and also easy to use. Desk staff very helpfull

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PravK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing