We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, clean, value for money”
Review of AC Hotel Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Alicante
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A group of 9 of us stayed here recently and we were impressed with the hotel. Excellent air conditioning, bathroom, space, comfort of beds and a well designed and large nice lobby with free wifi. The rooftop pool is probably only 12m or so but fine for a quick dip and it's pretty pleasant up there. The hotel was immaculately clean throughout and clearly recently modernised.

Breakfast was fine - not as extensive as a Upper tier Marriott or Hilton but it's "continental plus" with lots of cold meats, pastries, fruit, breads, cheese and tortilla available. Coffee is great from the Nespresso machine but there is only one with 2 outlets and it's not the fastest system in the world so there can be some queues at busy times. A minor point in the grand scheme of things.

As other reviewers have mentioned, a bit of Spanish is helpful when dealing with the hotel staff who we found to be helpful and efficient.

Parking is tricky and we couldn't find an alternative to the underground parking at the hotel which is reasonable value at 11 Euros per day. It is secure and fine for normal sized cars but very, very tight if you are hiring a minivan.

15 minutes walk to one end of the "hub" of Alicante and a further 10-15 minutes to where the most lively atmosphere is in the evenings in the old town.

We experienced no issues at all with the walk back in the early hours of the morning and it's very straight forward as the hotel is so close to the coastline.

Lots of banks nearby and a good sized supermarket 5-8 minutes walk away on Calle Reyes Catolicos.

We will definitely consider this hotel next time we book a group holiday to Alicante.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionACALicante, General Manager at AC Hotel Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Customer

I am grateful for your time and your opinion of our hotel as a group booking. It is good to know the views of our customers when they are travelling as a group and not only as individual client.

The comments about the location, where to find shops and restaurants and in particular the hotel installations will surely, be very helpful to other clients who are planning to visit Alicante as a group.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can have complaints about this hotel at all, the room was comfortable and the facilities were good. The hotel is a little way out of the town but it is an easy 15 minute stroll to the centre and there are great links to the airport.

The hot tub and roof top pool are very nice and the staff were very helpful.

I will definitely be back here as it is a good base to explore the surrounding towns because of its location near bus and train stations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I Stayed here for a week in June with my parents and wife.

This was my parents and wife's 1st stay, on my recommendation. They have good standards and only stay in 4/5 star hotels so let me tell you tell you their thoughts as I can't see much wrong with the hotel.

Likes:

Value for money, 45 Euros per night (no breakfast) my parents received an OAP discount aswell.

Standards of rooms/cleanliness. As I have said before the pictures on the website are exactly how they are, clean,modern,cleaned every day and have all the normal toiletries. Best to get one facing the back as the ones in the front can be a little noisy with traffic.

The Bar/restaurant: modern/clean/good food/service with a chilled out atmosphere,no loud music or groups drinking till late.

Dislike:

Only 1,The distance for the hotel to the Beach/city centre/harbour. My parents are 70 and thought it was far out, it's a 15 min walk into the main parts which to do 2 x a day is a lot, especially if it warm. For me it's worth saving £40/50 per night on the hotel, but that's a personal choice.

Doors banging

They noticed that at night the doors are quite loud when they close and some people are not considerate. They said the walls are a little thin and if people were talking with raised voices you could here them. But as we all said there are not many hotels that this is not the case.

Cats/prostitues;

There are some cats in the car park at the back of the hotel, but it's unlikely you would need to go round the back of the hotel, the front entrance leads to the main centre. The cats are mainly there in the evening because people feed them. But unless you go looking for them you wouldn't notice.

I have seen 1 or 2 prostitues hanging around the front road, but considering how many nights I have been in and out it's certainly not all the time, this has been past 10.30 at night, not right outside the hotel, but either on the road or past the hotel. If this bothers you then it could be a concern.

It certainly does not make the area look or feel unsafe, none of my family felt that way.

Overall:

They said it was great value for money and apart from the long walk into town cannot fault it. I agree.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionACALicante, General Manager at AC Hotel Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences in our hotel. It is a pleasure to see that you are a regular client and that you enjoy your visits to Alicante.

I am sure that your detailed comments and descriptions about the hotel installations, and the area will help other clients choose when booking a hotel in Alicante.

We value your opinion which helps us improve every day for our customer's satisfaction.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in this great hotel in an emergency after passport got stolen at alicanti airport.staff very helpfull went out there way to help book other flights,very clean hotel and service first class,rooftop pool just class,meals delivered fast,would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but no balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very nice Breakfast Buffet, presentation and lay-out, clean room, no safe in room for valuables, wi-fi only in lobby, modern, unsafe location, walking distance/very close/convenient to city center, shopping, marina, airport, over-priced laundry service....would not stay there again...less than average - but Alicante and that entire area of Southeastern Spain is absolutely gorgeous, great food and friendly people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erendira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the AC Marriott Hotel for 2nights on 5th June 2014. First impression of hotel was fab, lovely interior, very clean, efficient service at reception and helpful when needing assistance. Whilst out on a walk at night as you do on holiday! We came across a lot of cats and we are talking about 30 cats & 50 rats all out the back of the hotel waste land! We kept walking to find prostitutes just 1min from Hotel approx 5 prostitutes trying to get into cars at side of road. We could not believe our eyes! So please beware before booking of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionACALicante, General Manager at AC Hotel Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to comment your experience regarding our installations and service in our hotel during your recent stay in Alicante.

As you could see, there were some road works being done on the road arriving in the city near the hotel, and this has already been notified to the proper authorities, so they can take the neccesary measures to resolve this situation. I am sorry for the impression this may have caused you.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is wonderful, all staff extremely polite and helpful. The location of the hotel is 15 minute pleasant stroll to the marina, old town bars and restaurants. The rooms are very modern and plenty of room & mini bar was useful for putting own purchased beverages in! The bathroom was spotless fresh towels every day & complimentary toiletries. The roof top pool is on the small side and perhaps a few more sun beds would be a bonus but the views of the city and castle are gorgeous. Alicante is lovely - we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable drinks etc were - we shall return!

Room Tip: We had 604 quiet but not a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 464KAREN464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 49 in Alicante
702 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,592 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
853 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 49 in Alicante
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Alicante

Address: Avenida Elche 3, 03008 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alicante
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £63 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing