We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket for a quick break in Alicante”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gravina Cinco
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just back from a 3 day break in Alicante, We stayed at the Gravina Cinco and it was just right in terms of location, price and facilities. At €50 a night it was great value. The staff were all very pleasant, the free mini-bar was a real bonus, the breakfast was a good start to the day, the position of the hotel is spot-on for the Beach and the Old Town.

Room Tip: For quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the yard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jefftheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gravina Cinco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We choose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and were very pleased with it. It is a small hotel one street back from the main promenade and ideal for exploring the old town. A short walk takes you to a nearby street and square full of excellent restaurants. We had a suite on the sixth floor which had a bedroom, bathroom, lounge area with a bed settee that would sleep a third person and a big sun terrace. It was lovely to come back in the afternoon and chill out there. The only thing that was missing was a table to put our drinks on. The free mini bar which was replenished every day with a beer, 2 soft drinks and two bottles of water was very welcome and there was enough room to chill your own drinks as well. Breakfast was continental and while there wasn't a huge choice there was enough to give you a good start to the day. It would have been nice to have a bigger choice of fruits, melons orange etc instead of the apple and banana on offer. The only other thing we missed was having wifi in the room as this was only available in the lobby/breakfast area. All in all a friendly, clean hotel and I would definately consider staying here again if we returned to Alicante.

Room Tip: The suite was definately worth the extra cost to have outdoor space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I found the small Hotel of Gravina Cinco in Alicante rather convenient tucked away behind the main promenade and close to the beach and to the lovely old town to the rear. Not very large rooms to the back of the Hotel ( where I was ) but quieter there - so much more preferable for me. Minibars in rooms and 24-hour tea, coffee and fruit are all offered free at Gravino Cinco. Rooms come with free wired internet and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas. This all suited my needs. It was very clean, beds comfy and staff helpful. Lift up to rooms- all in all a good hotel for a short stay at excellent cost. - Will use again when in Alicante.

Room Tip: I believe it can be a bit noisy on the front where rooms are a bit bigger, but the rear ones are ade...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It did what it said on the can....mega close to Old Town, the beach, to the promenade on the front. Easy walking to everywhere that mattered. Clean. Air conditioned. Has a real Spanish feel. Had never been to Alicante before but will defo go again and will probably stay at the Gravina Cinco. It is in a very narrow street which creates and echos the noise of the city but have to say we heard next to nada from the third floor and remember Alicante throbs on a Saturday night. Would just say it is not a hotel to go to be entertained etc, it has the bedroom and basic breakfast facilities but they all do the job very well, it is the town that entertains and the hotel that provides the quality respite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potty01926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked this hotel for its convenient location as we'd not been to Alicante before, and we were not disappointed. Just a few minutes walk from the airport bus stop at Puerta del Mar, the hotel is located on a narrow street just beyond the sea front. We found the staff helpful and efficient and the hotel was kept spotlessly clean. Our air conditioned rooms were simply finished and had no views but were more than adequate for our stay, particularly as we intended spending most of our time exploring the town and the surrounding areas. The added bonus was the free mini bar in the room which was replenished daily with soft drinks, beer and water. The continental buffet, which was served in the reception area consisted of the usual bread, cheese, ham and boiled eggs, as well as pastries. We found this was more than sufficient to start our day. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the old town, the castle and the marina, so if you're looking for good value well positioned clean accommodation, choose this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel which had no views but was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

There seems to be a lack of reasonable quality, reasonably priced, centrally located hotels in Alicante. This seemed best of the bunch from reviews and research. Hmmmmm.....

First a list of positive things
* It's minutes from the beach, two streets from the nicest square and metres from great museums
* The junior suite is roomy and has great balcony
* The air con works
things you also need to know
* It has zero, zilch street appeal
* No disabled access, six steep steps - forget wheelchair
* Only public space is breakfast area/cum reception and baggage store (complete with do not leave luggage unattended sign). Second rate 'local artist' hangs on walls
* We arrived day early - entirely our mistake - so were given standard room for one night: these are small, view less (unfinished building site well), literally beds (two fall-down-the-gap ones) a chair and bathroom. Furniture (see later) steel and formica utilitarian. Styleless taken to extremes (see later)
* Breakfast: operates from tiny bar in the communal space: noisy hand washing of dishes the soundtrack; fresh eggs; toaster broken on day one, still broken day four; bread stale day one; yoghurt, cheese, ham (?) replenished; execrable 'juice'. In summary, adequate but will not light your day
* Hotel says wifi available. Ok it is, in lobby (see above). Wasted an hour trying to book hire car, eventually sent next door to sister hotel where, after reboots charming, Englishless handyman succeeded in getting going. In hotel no wifi in rooms (1st floor just, but not in 6th floor junior suite). Lots of guests saying "is it working?"
* Said handyman had to open room safe twice - eventually advised not to use.

The junior suite: roomy, that's it. Sitting area has bed with cushions, one chair, nasty small table/desk already full with tv and ashtray (yes room used by smokers, you need joss sticks). Doors open to balcony with two chairs and two deck chairs plus dying ficus benjamina. Corridor with bathroom leads to bedroom same as room above but small double bed. Window/doors open to same building void. Air con works.

Staff at desk - rotating with Tryp Hotel next door - sufficient English to help sort problems (wifi, toaster, safe etc) and charming handyman who only works until 2pm so don't jam safe after then .... This is run like a budget chain eg Express by Holiday Inn (see our entries for Alicante) but without the attention to style (yes, a EHI is MORE stylish than this) and quality control. It needs a design and management overhaul preferably by someone who knows what hotels should be about: it's customers and their experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pdconair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 day in July13.
This was a really lovely clean hotel right in the centre-only a short walk away from Bars, Restaurants and the Beach.
Room very clean with FREE Mini Bar, Water, Cruzcampo(beer) Fanta and Coke.
Full lengh doors open to a julliette balcony, air conditioning very good.

Breakfast was buffet everything from eggs, bread ham, cheese, coffe, juice etc. No hot breakfast but this was good enough to set you up for the day. Room and Bathroom kept very clean.

Would stay again if in Alicante.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delverson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Manager at Hotel Gravina Cinco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hello!!

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience ion TA,

We hope you had a nice stay in Alicante and look forward welcoming you soon again!!

Carlos Bosch
Manager
info@gravinacinco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Mendez Nunez
Mendez Nunez
#18 of 50 in Alicante
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,073 reviews
Centro
NH Rambla de Alicante
NH Rambla de Alicante
#10 of 50 in Alicante
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravina Cinco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravina Cinco

Address: Calle Gravina 5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: £65 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravina Cinco 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gravina Cinco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing