We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”

La Taberna del Gourmet
Ranked #24 of 1,357 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Casco Antiguo-Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love Spanish food and have eaten in many high quality restaurants both in Spain and abroad. This is an EXCELLENT restaurant and tapas bar, with incredibly fresh, high quality ingredients and friendly service. Plenty of options, both seafood and meats, nice bread and a decent wine list that is fairly priced. You cannot go wrong by visiting this restaurant, but make sure you book… we were glad we did as there was a substantial queue when we arrived. Nearly everyone in our dining room was Spaniard, so it is also popular with locals.

Don’t worry about the current rating of this restaurant in TripAdvisor (xx place at the time of writing). TripAdvisor is great for hotel reviews, but I am normally wary of the restaurant indexes here, as they have led me to major disasters in the past. A good alternative option is the Conde Nast Traveller magazine and this is where I found this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    608
    179
    74
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We both had the set tapas menu. Most courses were delicious. The cava was lovely. The bread they serve with the meal was go good. Table for two was a bit small, one of us was looking at a dull wall but food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Probably the best tapas bar in Spain.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite tapas restaurant in Alicante. The food is wonderful, the quality is outstanding and the portions are generous. The atmosphere is trendy and the staff is super friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Israel001977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first night”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our first meal out in our 4 night break in Alicante and it was a good choice. My grilled artichoke pieces as a starter was new to me but very enjoyable. I had a paella for my main course with squid and prawns -very good. We shared some nougat ice cream for dessert. As it was 8pm,the bulk of customers were tourists. The waiting staff were English speaking which was good. If I had a criticism,the service ,though swift, was a little abrupt. However ,this is a minor gripe and I would definitely recommend this place

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicante
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in Spain”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is quite difficult to find a restaurant in Alicante which has different food. I think that La Taberna de Gourmet not only has very nice tapas, the atmosphere is good and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna del Gourmet also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Taberna del Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing