We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STOP HERE AND VISIT”

Fortaleza de la Mota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Declared Heritage of Cultural Interest of Andalusia. The monumental group of the Fortress of La Mota is strategically perched on the peak of a rugged hill, 1033 m. above sea level. These features, its structure and location, enabled it to have a panoramic view, like a natural watchtower, over the surrounding area. Its most significant historic moment took place during the Islamic invasion: the Castle of La Mota was ordered to be built by the second Lord of the Kingdom of Granada "Aben-abus Ben-Zeiri", around the year 1000. The old walled city included several religious, administrative and government buildings, as well as commercial centres, and was the home of civil and ecclesiastical authorities. One of the most remarkable buildings is the citadel, built on the highest point of the enclosure, at 1033 metres above sea level. It is comprised of three towers joined by the walls that surround the bailey. The Homage tower, 20 m high, that of the Candle or the Bell, in charge of surveillance of the area in conjunction with the network of watchtowers all over the surrounding land. And lastly, the tower of La Mocha, an excellent lookout point over the city. Within the monumental group of the Fortress of La Mota, there are several themed areas explaining the concept of frontier, the way of life of its inhabitants, the role of the various areas and the relationship of the Fortress with the surrounding areas. Timetable: Autumn/Winter (15 Oct to 31 Mar): 10:00h 17:30h. Saturdays we close at 18:00h Spring/Summer (01 Abr to 14 Oct): 10:30h to 19:30h Open: Monday to Sunday Closed: 25Dic, 01Jan, 06Jan Special opening times: 24Dec, 31Dec, 05Jan: 10ºº to 14ºº hrs.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“STOP HERE AND VISIT”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Between Cordoba and Granada, just off the road, easy to find. Magnificent site beautifully maintained and huge!! Wonderfully atmospheric castle to wander around and beautiful church from the outside. It is a mystery inside but go up to the balcony and watch the interactive presentation and all becomes clear! Marvellous, even occupied two teenage girls!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonNSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    57
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The proprietor of our hotel recommend recommended that we visit, and we're so glad we did. This is a beautifully restored historic site, with state-of-the-art audio/visual resources and stunning views of the surrounding countryside. We appeared to be the only people on the site when we visited in May 2014, and we couldn't believe it! If you're in the area or passing by Alcala, make sure to stop. There's convenient parking right under the Fortaleza, and a lovely little gift shop too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stirs the imagination!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited the Fortaleza de la Mota after some trouble finding the right direction in Alcala. In the middle of the town the signs are hard to find so some determination is needed. But all time you see you need to go up as the fortress is sometimes visible from the city.

However, once we arrived at the Fortaleza, parking the car was easy and free. The lady at the ticket office was very friendly. The audioguide tries to paint the past by describing the entrance of visitors in the Middle Ages. While i did not value this so much I think it is a good idea to bring the past to life. Overall one of my best experiences visting Spain this year. Lord of the Rings buffs will like the part about the chain of beacons sending signals to and from Fortaleza la Mota!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
1 review
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A stunning castle, church and the ruins of the historical walled town. A must, helpful staff, brilliant verbal guide, easy to find, stunning views amazing lavender follower beds, we are going back again soon!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizshennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited the castle on a rainy day in May as to be honest we were at a loss for something to do. The castle was excellent value at 6€ for adults and only 4€ for OAP's. We were almost the only visitors there and were able to wander around for almost 3 hours viewing this fantastic restoration site. It is work in progress and it would be interesting to return in 20 years time! Alcala are missing a trick as this is poorly promoted locally and would be an ideal day out for families. Tip - take a picnic as there is no cafe!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sooty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortaleza de la Mota also viewed

 

Been to Fortaleza de la Mota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing