We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The only downside was that this was a generic modern hotel-could just as well be in North America or anywhere else in the world. On the positive side, the room was spacious, clean, beds were comfortable, and it was quiet. The bathroom likewise was large and well equipped- we particularly enjoyed the bathtub after a strenuous hike up the mountain .The price was very reasonable, although for us breakfast was not included. (We ate in a cafe on the main square, about 10 min walk.) The gentleman in the reception was a bit cooler than what we had encountered elsewhere on the Camino, seemed to be perplexed that we had different last names so that I felt I needed to reassure him we were, in fact, married. The next day, there was a much friendlier gentleman there.Overall, very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiliaontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This parador is modern, and does not look like the other paradors I have stayed in, where the previous ones were in converted buildings. The rooms were large and had all the amenities of a five star hotel. There was a pool and a sauna too. Which is a good thing, as there is not much to do in the old town, aside from visiting the various churches. The decor in the main lobby consists of Spanish antiques, otherwise, the rest of the hotel is modern and rather generic but luxurious. The parador is located at the edge of the city, so if you were like us, walking the Camino de Santiago, see the sights along the way first, so you don't have to walk back to see them. The plaza mayor is a few minutes walk from the parador. Breakfast is plentiful and included in the tariff. However they start at a late hour of 8am, which is too late if you are walking the Camino. However the staff said they will pack a breakfast for you if you intend to leave early. The tariff is very reasonable too, and surprisingly so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A modern parador, but still a nice building. Rooms are a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. There was a wedding there the night we stayed, which we had been warned about in advance and given an option to cancel, but we weren't disturbed by noise. Staff were polite but not overly friendly, - that may have been the language, as our Spanish is limited. The menu looked good but we didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the quality. Unlike other paradors the breakfast wasn't included in our rate, so the value wasn't quite as good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TravellinMumBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The room was large enough and was a standard room-we didn't feel it was worth upgrading. The pool was immaculate but cold which meant I virtually had it to myself. The town is nearby. We took the car in as we didn't realise how close it was but it is easy to walk into. Take the second exit at the roundabout and you are in a lovely old town with narrow streets. There were many walkers doing the camino walk which gave a nice feeling to the place.
Treat yourself to the a la carte menu forthe best food and I recommend the chestnut ice cream for pudding.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a good stay here & enjoyed the quality of our room. It was a nice, modern hotel, but did not have the charm of other paradors. The staff was helpful and friendly. We ended up getting room service because the restaurant hours were pretty limited.
Overall it was a good stay & I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is not in the same category as the other monastic paradors. This is a modern hotel. It had a pool and a small sauna (co-ed, so bring your bathing suit). Our room was fine. But like many other Spanish hotels, the shower had this glass half door which permitted water to spill out onto the floor. I wish the designers of these bathrooms would actually use their showers to see how well (or not) they function. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but we did have a very nice breakfast. The hotel is nicely situated, and you can easily walk to all the sights in town, assuming they are open. The town has an old Roman bridge that is near by, and from the bridge you can see up and down the river, and the lovely walk way and park along the riverside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

It is a modern parador buit of stone to fit into the old town. We arrived tired from biking all day and found the person at the desk to be very helpful - giving us our rooms, for example, while we waited for our sag wagon and passports to arrive. The rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. The parador has an indoor pool and a sauna, but the hours are pretty limited (1600-2000). Breakfast was fine. It also includes a bar and restaurant. (We walked into town for dinner so didn't try the restaurant, but the prices seemed reasonable on the menu.) Wine at the bar was a couple of euros and good.

As with many of the hotels on our trip we were unable to get a king bed - so if you want one, be sure to ask for it when you make a reservation.

Room Tip: The rooms looking down the hill had great views. Ask for one on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villafranca del Bierzo
1.5 mi away
Villa Mencia
Villa Mencia
#1 of 1 in Corullon
117 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Tiempo Recobrado
El Tiempo Recobrado
#1 of 1 in Carracedelo
68 reviews
12.3 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#1 of 15 in Ponferrada
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
AroiPonferrada
AroiPonferrada
#3 of 15 in Ponferrada
190 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Valle de Ancares
0.3 mi away
San Francisco
San Francisco
#2 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo

Address: Avenida Calvo Sotelo 28, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Villafranca del Bierzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villafranca del Bierzo
Price Range: £51 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing