We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but do not expect Paradores standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK, but do not expect Paradores standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a modern hotel that is conveniently located close to the highway that goes from Madrid to Galicia. The building has the style of a Novotel or similar, with no personality. The views are OK, but you have the highway on the first stage, which does not help. The service at the resection was abrupt and unfriendly, a bit intimidating. The bar was cold and we had our welcome drink really quickly . Restaurant personnel were helpful but there was just two people, so although it was not too busy, you had to wait. We had dinner and breakfast and the quality and the variety of the food was good with regional specialties as happens at all the Paradores. It has free parking what is really convenient. I think it is OK just for a night as there are no many other options around, but I would not stay there longer than that.

The best thing is the town where the Parador is what was a surprise for us with medieval houses and impressive churches. It is one of the stages of Camino de Santiago and there are pilgrims and a lively atmosphere with bars and some classic music events ( we were lucky and there was one going on at one of the main churches) . Also it is convenient for exploring Los Ancares and Las Medulas. Ask the town tourist info for details as what they told us was really helpful and in contradiction with what we got from the Parador reception desk

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    116
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
152
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The only downside was that this was a generic modern hotel-could just as well be in North America or anywhere else in the world. On the positive side, the room was spacious, clean, beds were comfortable, and it was quiet. The bathroom likewise was large and well equipped- we particularly enjoyed the bathtub after a strenuous hike up the mountain .The price was very reasonable, although for us breakfast was not included. (We ate in a cafe on the main square, about 10 min walk.) The gentleman in the reception was a bit cooler than what we had encountered elsewhere on the Camino, seemed to be perplexed that we had different last names so that I felt I needed to reassure him we were, in fact, married. The next day, there was a much friendlier gentleman there.Overall, very good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiliaontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This parador is modern, and does not look like the other paradors I have stayed in, where the previous ones were in converted buildings. The rooms were large and had all the amenities of a five star hotel. There was a pool and a sauna too. Which is a good thing, as there is not much to do in the old town, aside from visiting the various churches. The decor in the main lobby consists of Spanish antiques, otherwise, the rest of the hotel is modern and rather generic but luxurious. The parador is located at the edge of the city, so if you were like us, walking the Camino de Santiago, see the sights along the way first, so you don't have to walk back to see them. The plaza mayor is a few minutes walk from the parador. Breakfast is plentiful and included in the tariff. However they start at a late hour of 8am, which is too late if you are walking the Camino. However the staff said they will pack a breakfast for you if you intend to leave early. The tariff is very reasonable too, and surprisingly so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A modern parador, but still a nice building. Rooms are a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. There was a wedding there the night we stayed, which we had been warned about in advance and given an option to cancel, but we weren't disturbed by noise. Staff were polite but not overly friendly, - that may have been the language, as our Spanish is limited. The menu looked good but we didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the quality. Unlike other paradors the breakfast wasn't included in our rate, so the value wasn't quite as good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellinMumBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The room was large enough and was a standard room-we didn't feel it was worth upgrading. The pool was immaculate but cold which meant I virtually had it to myself. The town is nearby. We took the car in as we didn't realise how close it was but it is easy to walk into. Take the second exit at the roundabout and you are in a lovely old town with narrow streets. There were many walkers doing the camino walk which gave a nice feeling to the place.
Treat yourself to the a la carte menu forthe best food and I recommend the chestnut ice cream for pudding.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a good stay here & enjoyed the quality of our room. It was a nice, modern hotel, but did not have the charm of other paradors. The staff was helpful and friendly. We ended up getting room service because the restaurant hours were pretty limited.
Overall it was a good stay & I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is not in the same category as the other monastic paradors. This is a modern hotel. It had a pool and a small sauna (co-ed, so bring your bathing suit). Our room was fine. But like many other Spanish hotels, the shower had this glass half door which permitted water to spill out onto the floor. I wish the designers of these bathrooms would actually use their showers to see how well (or not) they function. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but we did have a very nice breakfast. The hotel is nicely situated, and you can easily walk to all the sights in town, assuming they are open. The town has an old Roman bridge that is near by, and from the bridge you can see up and down the river, and the lovely walk way and park along the riverside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villafranca del Bierzo
0.3 mi away
San Francisco
San Francisco
#2 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
12.3 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Mencia
Villa Mencia
#1 of 1 in Corullon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel el Castillo
Hotel el Castillo
#1 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
11.5 mi away
AroiPonferrada
AroiPonferrada
#4 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Donas del Portazgo
Las Donas del Portazgo
#2 of 11 in Villafranca del Bierzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo

Property: Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
Address: Avenida Calvo Sotelo 28, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Villafranca del Bierzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villafranca del Bierzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing