We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with good old friends in their wonderful private home”
Review of Hotel Migjorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Migjorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like staying with good old friends in their wonderful private home”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Ok, so you always want that special place and search forever to find it only to be disappointed when you get there. Just the opposite at Migjorn, this is a genuine family run hotel with warm friendly people who make your stay relaxed and welcoming.

The hotel comprises of all suites and we had a junior superior with front balcony overlooking the gardens....bliss. there were several couples with small children as well as other couples and we all got together at the BBQ night which was fantastic.

There is a lunch and evening menu available everyday with simple but good homemade food which you can eat in the restaurant or your own suite, very reasonably priced and delicious (several of us got together and had group dining while the wine flowed) The wine is all from local vineyards and for the most part organic starting at 18 euros per bottle and excellent quality.

The point of this hotel is the warm friendly attitude of the staff and the unspoilt countryside, towns and beaches that you can explore at leisure knowing you have a great place to return to at the end of the day. A car is essential!

Room Tip: Junior or superior suites (the later for families)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed here for family wedding for a long weekend - our party had exclusive use of the whole hotel. Overall our experience was very good. The hotel itself is really pretty, in he middle of the country but only a few km from the town of Campos (with supermarket) and coast. Took about 30 mins from Palma airport. Grounds are nice, with breakfast on front terrace in the sun and meals on back terrace. There is a small breakfast room in case of bad weather. Rooms were huge - we had a suite (room 1 in main house) with big double bed and kids bed (not sofa but actual ikea bed - just like home), bathroom with double sink and separate lounge with kitchen. Had adult and kids crockery, mugs, glasses etc plus two ring electric job and microwave plus full sink and fridge. You could mostly self-cater, and handy for lunches. There is a hob kettle - really odd that no electric kettles, takes ages to boil. Hint - water in sink and bathroom is very calcium heavy so there is a separate  tap above sink with drinking water - took us a day to figure. Is a tv and DVD player - small but ok ( they should invest in new flat screens though) with DVD library at reception. Handy for daughter's down time before bed. Pool is great and lovely terrace around it to sunbathe plus some gardens too. In terms of food we had dinner and was ok, nothing special and service was slow (drinks came at end of dinner) and would suggest eat out mostly or self-cater. Drinks are steep - 4euro a beer, 18euro for wine is expensive even for top hotel in Spain. You can have your own drinks in room, some had own balconies or terrace too. They do have captive audience though. We had tapas for wedding meal though and that was fantastic, with a BBQ next day that was similarly good. I think they run these meals as weekly nights and would definitely recommend. Breakfast was however excellent - meats, cheese, tortilla, cereals, fruits, pastries etc. No "cooked breakfast" but we prefer that - lovely to sit out in sun for it too. The owners were very friendly and couldn't do anything more for us if they tried and were very good with our toddler (offered potty, toys etc). It's very kid-friendly but also good for adults/couples as almost boutique hotel like in facilities - some of the Spanish staff were a little more surly, and not that helpful compared to the family that run it who were mostly around in the mornings. One more hint - they have a lot of Mosquitos so bring repellant and bite cream, and cover up late evening. It may have just been unlucky time to be there for it, but we didn't expect it so were unprepared. Overall though - great experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This is a very well run small hotel that is ideal for couples with young children. When we stayed every other guest had children under 5. The owners are very attentive and very happy to help.
In April when the weather is still variable the wind, for which the area is famous, means that sitting by the pool is hit and miss, but I understand that this is an advantage in the Summer heat.
Local beaches Es Trenc and Ses Covetes are pretty undeveloped and only a few mins drive away. Great place for cycling and hiring bikes via hotel is very easy. Campos is a quiet non-touristy town with a couple of decent restaurants (C'an Calent and Es Brot). Ses Salines has a couple of good eating places too.
The breakfasts are fine, but the hotel doesn't really do evening meals, but does have a communal meal once or twice a week but it was served very early, 18:00, to accomodate the families with young children.
A car is absolutely essential.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor rooms with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Superb breakfasts, extra helpful super friendly staff. Amazing beaches near by. Perfect for families with young children. We will be there again this year!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny-Zitoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a great hotel for those happy to drive about a bit and explore. Only 40 mins from Palma, located near some great beaches and typical Mallorcan villages that have not been ravished by international tourism. Services at the hotel are basic but of good quality. You would struggle to have all your meals at the hotel due to the limited menu, but fortunately there are some excellent restaurants in the nearby towns of Santanyi ( Casai is excellent) and Colonia St Jordi which are only 5 minutes drive. This is not a hotel for those who want to wander out the front door and into bars and shops, but benefits from a relaxed crowd and only ten rooms. The owners from Liverpool are exceptional in their attention and willingness to help and are genuinely interested in their guests' welfare. Small children are well catered for and also warmly welcomed and tolerated. The pool however is a little on the cool side for infants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escoces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rural_Migjorn, Owner at Hotel Migjorn, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to register your review online and of course for staying with us at Hotel Migjorn. You will be please to know that our pool is now heated allowing our guests to swim and make a splash in comfort all season long.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel is very well appointed, really pleasant communal areas and very clean. It has 10 bedrooms so it never feels overcrowded and we often had the pool to ourselves or shared it with one or two other couples. We had a ground floor superior suite a separate building from the main hotel which was incredibly spacious and had most things that we needed and anything that wasn't there we got very quickly as the staff were very happy to accommodate any additional requests.

The beds and sofas were really comfortable but it was rather odd that hardly any of the drawers in the other furniture opened so we kept some stuff stored in our bags which wasn't ideal. However that is a small gripe because everything looked very new and well cared for and the rooms had charm. The garden area, both our private one and the grounds generally were really lovely and very, very well maintained.

The breakfasts were excellent with pretty much anything that you could think of provided for both adults and children. One thing that we all found a bit strange was that breakfast runs from 9 to 11 which seemed quite late, particularly in that most parents had young babies that had been up at 6.30am so many of us would've appreciated that starting a little earlier but again that is a small gripe given the quality of what was provided. You do need to make sure that you have breakfast stuff in your room though for the kids. The evening meals provided were good and served with a salad and bread (if you ate at the restaurant), much better than cooking for yourself!! On some other nights a group of us made our own buffet of foods and ate together in the restaurant area outside which was really nice. The bbq/tapas night and chicken night were also good fun and nice to socialise.

We really had a lovely holiday here and found it to be a very relaxing place to spend time. It is around 40 mins from Palma which is a nice city and we also visited Valledemossa, well worth the trip over the island and Colonia St. Jordi and Calla Figuera locally were also nice for a wander with the pram.

From a practical perspective the local supermarket, Eroski has an excellent range of baby food and nappies (Dodot is pampers) So we brought enough food for the first day for our baby and got everything else very easily locally. If you arrive on a Sunday and Eroski is shut then Sa Rapita (5 mile away) has a Spar and a local supermarket open but they do not sell baby food so you may need a little more or arrange soup with the hotel. If your baby is ill they have an excellent, english speaking doctor who will come to the hotel to see you, he assured us, at all times! If you need a pharmacy on a weekend then go to Campos and look at the sign on their window which will tell you where the emergency pharmacy is open. There is a great bakery in Campos! Had lunch out of there most days.

Our BT baby monitor worked well so we could leave our baby in our room while we ate at the restaurant. We brought this from home and I think that it was well worth doing because we could sit around the pool while she had her sleeps too.

All in all a very nice place for a family holiday and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have already written a review about Hotel Migjorn (after our first visit in 2007) but just wanted to reiterate what a great place it is to stay. Myself and my husband have had three lovely holidays at Migjorn now and plan to visit again next year. Basically, this hotel caters for anyone who wants to get away from the usual crowded tourist traps and enjoy a relaxing break in beautiful countryside. What makes it special is that, whilst it caters for families with children, it is also set out in such a manner that couples can still have privacy and romance. If you like a hotel with a friendly feel, where you can socialise with other guests if you like (the hotel has a twice-weekly evening bbq/tapas night) or even if you want total privacy and to not mingle at all, this place caters for both preferences. It's a bit like having your own villa but with lots of friendly staff nearby to help if you need them.

Because there are only 10 suites, we often had the main pool area to ourselves (lots of the guests tended to go out exploring during the day), but we also spent a lot of time relaxing on our private terrace. Check out the photos - lovely countryside all around.

Can't praise it enough - Albert, Yvonne and family still doing a great job!

Good nearby restauraunts include - Cassai in Ses Salines, Es Coc in Santanyi and Can Pep in Sa Rapita.

Nearby beaches - the stretch between Sa Rapita and Ses Covetes is lovely - gorgeous white sand and not too busy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo5434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campos
3.5 mi away
Son Cosmet
Son Cosmet
#3 of 3 in Campos
28 reviews
4.0 mi away
Es Turo Finca Hotel Rural
Es Turo Finca Hotel Rural
#1 of 3 in Ses Salines
271 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort & Spa
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort &...
#1 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
554 reviews
30.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Migjorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Migjorn

Property: Hotel Migjorn
Address: Poligono 18, 07630 Campos, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Campos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Migjorn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Rural Hotel Migjorn blurs the boundaries between the luxury of an exclusive hotel and the independence of private accommodation. Close to the virgin coves & white beaches of southeast Mallorca. The rural hideaway is a beautifully created, spacious, calm and comfortable place to stay with 10 private apartments and restaurant set out in two different buildings linked together by an 80 square metre swimming pool, terraces, gardens and 35 acres of open countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Migjorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migjorn Hotel Campos
Hotel Migjorn Campos, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing