We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Tikar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tikar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garrucha
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and friendly service”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was taken here for a birthday lunch following recommendations. We travelled about 25 minutes purely to dine at this wonderful hotel. It is definitely worth a visit. The food was absolutely delicious, served in pleasant surroundings and we were very well looked after by both the owner Sean as well as his staff. Highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denrob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fantastic reception, unrivalled service, pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast by the pool was perfect and relaxing. The owners are a delight and nothing is to much trouble. A pleasant 5 min walk to the beach and Main Street. A great night time walk along the seafront to a interesting street market and fair

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martynregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were in Spain to attend a relative's wedding in Almeria, where we spent three days. Our next destination was Garrucha where we would spend the next four days relaxing.
We were able to park in the small parking area at the front of the hotel and were greeted by Toni, a Spanish lady with a lovely cheeky smile. Booking in only took a couple of minutes then we were shown our room. A Junior Suite; we had our own sitting room with all facilities and everything was spotlessly clean. The bed was huge, as was the en-suite bathroom with complementary toiletries.
Having arrived on a Sunday, the hotel restaurant was closed so we ambled along to a local eatery in Garrucha.
On returning to the Tikar, we were again greeted but this time by Beatrice, joint owner of the hotel who made certain we were aware of all the local attractions.
At breakfast were were again greeted! This time by Shaun, joint owner with Beatrice.
We ate breakfast outside in the quiet garden ovelooking the small swimming pool; excellent!
We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant that evening; see my review of Restaurant Azul.
We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very warm welcome. (Free) parking spaces in the surrounding streets. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Garrucha on the main road to Vera. About 10 minutes walk from the beach and the marina of Garrucha. The rooms are very basic; on the other hand, the restaurant is among the best in the region. Free tea facility for the hotel guests in the hallway. Breakfast is sufficient; in line with this hotel.
The hotel has a colonial atmosphere. A bit dark. No balcony. Fortunately, a cosy garden with several seats. No towels for the (small) pool. The immediate vicinity of the nearby beach shows the effects of the real estate crisis in this area. Many (not completed) holiday complexes. In the summer the beaches are apparently pretty filled. Now (May) everything seemed empty and we sometimes felt as having a beach all to ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stopped by (on a recommendation) for lunch and we weren't disappointed. Excellent menu, superb food and a great wine choice made for an excellent overall experience. I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Tikar to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

you really do struggle for a decent hotel in this part of the world, so that was why we were so delighted to have found Hotel Tikar. A relatively modern building, with only a few rooms, but packed with personality and style - wonderful artwork adorns the walls in the public areas
- but the best part is firstly the food - always excellent, and secondly the fact that Sean, the owner, is always there attending to your every wish, with a very dry sense of humour. And a bonus is the excellent wine list................................

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunkyunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A lovely small family run hotel just before the town of Garrucha. The rooms are all suite sized, quiet and private. The hotel's restaurant produced delicious food with a good selection of wines from around the world. Easy parking either in front of the hotel or the side street. Good restaurants in walking distance. Very good Friday street market in Garruca.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garrucha
1.8 mi away
Zimbali Playa Spa Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
2.4 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Parador de Mojacar
Parador de Mojacar
#1 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adaria Vera
Hotel Adaria Vera
#1 of 1 in Playas de Vera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Torrelaguna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tikar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tikar

Property: Hotel Tikar
Address: Carretera Garrucha 17, 04630 Garrucha, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Garrucha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garrucha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tikar 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming hotel with only 6 junior suites, restaurant and wine shop. Just 200 metres from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tikar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing