We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Cabo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Cabo
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier. The hotel staff are very helpful, the location is in a quiet little port, the rooms are simple but clean - two large bottles of water were put in the room every day. There is a roof terrace with lovely views and a great place to catch the sun (when it's not too windy), and the basement lounge has free wifi (although they were installing it in every room the day we left), a pool table, kitchen area and machines with sweets and ice creams.

I couldn't understand how it was only two star, but it may be due to the lack of restaurant (although the included breakfast is served at a restaurant a few minutes away) and lack of pool, although thanks to a deal with a hotel round the corner you can book into their spa.

There is free street parking around the hotel and port, but beware of the locals who try - sometimes rather aggressively - to get you into their "car park", or guide you to a space in return for money. One day we had no option but to use the car park, and the price magically increased from 2 euros to 3 by the time we had parked up. Saturday is the worst day for parking.

The only downside of the hotel is the noise from rooms above. The place is decorated very nicely but mostly in tiles, so noise echoes and carries. I mentioned to the receptionist on leaving about the noise of wooden chairs scraping on the floors above, and he showed me the pads he already has to put on the bottom of the chairs to stop this. Seems like they are doing everything they can to improve the hotel, not that it needs much improving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
100
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just 2 nights and wished it was for longer. The hotel is well - run and very clean. Breakfast is taken in the owners' restaurant on the seafront and is good.
Security is good - two exterior doors ate kept locked over night

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Harrogateblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altenmarkt im Pongau, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

in the center of the harbour of agaete. nice, new, modern and clean hotel. receptionist not always there, but you can call if in need. romm clean and ok. breakfast in the nearby restaurant at the harbour run by sometimes confused men is ok. many small restaurants at the harbourside. but be aware they close early in wintertime.

Room Tip: avoid room 103 next to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friedrich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and the hotel was a nice surprise. Very friendly start, everything was clean and the rooms were equiped well. I think that El Cabo is a great example of the hotel that really put emphasis on taking care of their customers and builds their concept on having everything that is realy needed in place, instead of hunting for extra stars that very often do not really give anu additional value to travellers. Worth mentioning, El Cabo offers a great breakfast served in a restaurant just around the corner.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed the weekend at "Hotel El Cabo" and everything was nice. The rooms were very clean and tidy, they had air conditioning, lcd 32" and a good set of free amenites. The building in general is like new (the owners told us that the building had been renovated in january 2013).

The staff is friendly and they try to help you everytime. Each day you will receive a free bottle of water.

The meals are served 3 minute walk from the hotel in restaurante "Cofradía de pescadores"

The breakfast buffet surprise me because its has a lot of variety. You can have coffe, milk, tea, juices, yougurt, fruits, biscuits and other bakery, breads, ham, jam, diferent cheeses, mortadella and other you also can ask for warm dishes like scrambled eggs, sausages or bacon.

The dinner (or lunch) is a la carte. We enjoy with the fish soup, and grilled filets of fresh fish with voiled potatoes (papas arrugadas).

Near the hotel you can have a spa with thermal waters.

In summary, I will recommend this hotel to have a relaxing holiday and enjoy your free time.

**(Small tip) We stayed in a back room with window to a hotel private patio and my girlfriend noticed a little noise each 30 minutes. Its the air conditioning machines. They were no noise for me but if you have a "light sleeper" it is better to get a front room for a little more money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room with window to a hotel private patio and my girlfriend noticed a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moisestf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

A well appointed and spotlessly clean hotel, in the nicest fishing village on the island.
Thomas and Olga are superb hosts and were wonderfully kind and helpful.
The price which was €44/night (including a superb buffet breakfast) was very reasonable indeed.
We'd planned to stay for just 2 nights, but ended up staying for the rest of our vacation.
The village itself was very nice and quiet, unlike the other coastal areas.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mwhincup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agaete
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
24.9 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
17.4 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#2 of 4 in Tejeda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
20.0 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cabo

Property: Hotel El Cabo
Address: Calle Anton Cerezo 20-26, 35489 Agaete, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Agaete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Cabo 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a typical little fishing village on the northern coast of Gran Canaria. Just 150 meters from the beach, with natural pools on the top of volcanic rocks. We are situated in the middle of peaceful environment, ideal for spending a few days of your holiday and discover the charms of this place, far away from the busy centers. The bright rooms are simply decorated, inspired by the local maritime tradition. Rooms have air conditioning, desk, bathroom, amenities, etc. The buffet breakfast offers ham, sausages, jams, pastries, bread, etc.We have a large terrace with beautiful views of the sea and mountains. You can travel to other islands by ferry at the port 200 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Cabo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cabo Gran Canaria/Agaete, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing