We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd”
Review of Caserio de Mozaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caserio de Mozaga
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It was chilly when we arrived and there were fires blazing in the shared sitting room and the restaurant which made for a great welcome. In our suite, dehumidifiers helped to warm as well as to dry the air. Our suite was a true home from home, with the most comfortable bed ever, lovely cotton sheets, and a great sofa for relaxing after days exploring the island (it would have been a good idea to have the TV in this room rather than the bedroom, but that's a small point). The location is not as rural as we expected, nor did we have views from our room, but it was very quiet and that was the most important thing. We slept so well. The hotel is very relaxed and calming and other guests were also enjoying the quiet exclusivity. The service at the hotel was excellent - warm but discreet, with help available when wanted. Everything about our stay was delicious. Also, the location is perfect for exploring the island by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicyclebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Propietario at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Google Translation
Nos complace oír que han pasado unas vacaciones agradables en nuestro establecimiento.
Esperamos tenerles pronto de vuelta en Lanzarote!
P.D.De haber sabido que deseaban tener la TV en el salón, la hubiésemos conectado ya que tenemos también conexión en el mismo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    33
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

The Caserio is at the centre of the island so quite strategic to visit it. It is also close to the beautifull town of Teguise where you can find nice shops and the magic Sunday morning market. El Caserio is a true boutique hotel greatly managed by Maria Luisa. Room and bed are comfortables and very clean. Breakfast is very good a bit pricy for the island general prices and can be improved with additional fresh fruits. The restaurant is managed by another owner, good and with a wide choice of wine. Needless to say this is the place to be in Lanzarote.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AliEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Owner at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios que nos ayudan a mejorar nuestro servicio.
Muchas gracias también por su bonitas palabras de nuestro establecimiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leominster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This small hotel ( 10 rooms ) gets full marks for food,staff and owner. We were treated like part of the family. We stayed in a suite which made the stay even more enjoyable.
Mozaga is also ideal for touring the island due to its central location.
Give our best wishes to Maria Luisa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Owner at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión!
Esperamos tenerles muy pronto con nosotros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is just the kind of property we love: smaller, charming, attractive, quiet, well-located. Attached is a restaurant with excellent food, acceptable local wines and very good service. So what could be better? Well - several things. January is nippy in Lanzarote and sadly the portable radiators could not keep pace with the chill in the air. We slept with two blankets, the bedspread and the bathtowels on us and were still cold. And while the property has only eight rooms, I'm not sure that that should be a reason for the absence of a staffperson for most of each day and evening. The owner, Maria Louisa, is a competent and kind host. She is also the only person other than cleaning staff who provides service to the guests. Often she is in her private apartment so it's up to you to find her. (Make sure you have your cel with you. The phone is her only means of communication and there are no phones in the rooms.) And when she leaves the property to shop, go out to dinner with friends, enjoy some R and R in Madrid, you are on your own. In truth, we enjoy independence when we travel but at Caserio de Mozaga that independence meant no one there to greet us on arrival, no one to help with the bags or show us how the rads worked, no one to follow up on a taxi that didn't show up and so on. Frustrating as there are so many good things about the place.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. For the money, they are much superior to a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glengowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Propietario at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Google Translation
Estimados cientes,

En primer lugar muchas gracias por sus comentarios, y su interés en Caserío de Mozaga.

Le damos las gracias también por sus amables palabras sobre nuestro establecimiento y sobre mí en particular.

Lamento mucho que su experiencia en esta ocasión no estuviera a la altura de sus expectativas en algunos aspectos, y de haber tenido conocimiento de su malestar durante su estancia, hubiera estado encantada de dar respuesta a su petición en ese mismo momento.

Respecto a los servicios ofrecidos y el horario de atención de nuestro alojamiento, debo decir que son los que determina la normativa oficial para las Casas Rurales en la Comunidad Canaria. No obstante informamos a todos nuestros huéspedes de la forma de contacto, para dar una atención lo más rápida posible. Siempre estoy a disposición de todos nuestros huéspedes.

Le reitero mi agradecimiento por haber elegido Caserío de Mozaga para su estancia en Lanzarote, y espero poder volver a atenderles en su próxima visita a nuestra Casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel/B & B, and were charmed. The property has lots of heritage features so you constantly feel that you're somewhere different to the norm. We also loved that there's a guest lounge with coffee/tea and nibbles for when you come back after a day of driving round to see the incredible landscape. Locationwise it is perfect, as all attractions are within an easy drive.
Dinner is beautifully served and presented in the restaurant which was the original stables.
Maria Luisa who runs the property is helpful and knowledgable, and obviously loves the house which has been in her family for 200 years.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynZAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Owner at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thanks Robin for your feedback!
Its a pleasure for me to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

Hasta pronto!

Maria Luisa R: Bethencourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Everything about this charming little place is just right: lovely landscaped gardens and terraces in traditional Lanzarote style, well decorated but unfussy, stylish rooms (tiled floors, high ceilings and iron beds with white linen) and well equipped modern bathrooms. Outside each room is a little table and chairs for personal use and with views of the garden. Your host Maria-Louisa is there to welcome you and speaks perfect English. There is wifi throughout and a cosy communal lounge with an honesty bar. The adjoining restaurant and bar is equally good and the breakfasts served there are fresh, varied and good value. Most of all it is quiet and tranquil and a distinct contrast to the madness of the island's tourist resorts. Don't go if you're looking for corporate uniformity, ample soft furnishings or a mini-bar as the offer at Caserio Mozaga is refreshingly simple. I loved it and will be back.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MluisaRBethencourt, Owner at Caserio de Mozaga, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thanks for your opinion. I appreciate that you have so nice words and that you have enjoyed your stay and also our honesty bar !
We hope to see you soon!

Maria Luisa R. Bethencourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Spent four nights in this rural B&B. The accommodation, garden and restaurant are special. The location is great too, in the centre of the island and within 15-20 minutes of the airport.

The rooms, especially in the suite, are spacious and stunning with original 18th century architectural features and antique furniture. The garden, with well established plants is beautiful - a real haven of tranquility. We chose this B&B because of the reputation of the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food was delicate and delicious; with friendly, efficient service.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bartolome
1.3 mi away
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Finca de la Florida Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Bartolome
76 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,647 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Diamar
Hotel Diamar
#3 of 9 in Arrecife
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
682 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
123 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#6 of 9 in Arrecife
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio de Mozaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio de Mozaga

Property: Caserio de Mozaga
Address: Malva 8, 35562 San Bartolome, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > San Bartolome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Bartolome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caserio de Mozaga 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caserío de Mozaga is a traditional canarian farmhouse built in late XVIII century and listed in the Historic Catalogue of Lanzarote located in an estate of approximately 10.000 sqm.8 double rooms, two of them with private salon.Each room has bathroom fully equipped with bath, hair dryer, amenities, magnifying mirror, wifi, satellite television and heating.•Lounge•WIFI: free access•Laundry•Private Parking•Car rental•Massage Service•Doctor Assistance•Fax•Help and advice on the variety of activities to be found in the island: cultural, nature, sports, gastronomic and special events.•Breakfast from 08.30 to 10.30 a.m.•Caserío de Mozaga counts with a restaurant -independently managed- located in the old stables of the farmhouse. It opens every evening from 19,30 to 22,30 p.m. Tuesday closed.Macaronesia GardenAtractive garden of volcanic sand planted with endemic plants of the island and samples of blossom flowers, cactus and a large variety of bushes and flowers of the macaronesia region.You can enjoy Aloes,Echiums, Aeoniums, Cardones , Veroles and different types of lichens, buganvilleas, canary palms, drago and big rubber plants.We have no umbrellas but the rubber plants and palm trees will protect you from the sun , and you will enjoy the relax of reading or sleeping under their shade. New solarium area with rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Caserio de Mozaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caserio De Mozaga Hotel San Bartolome
Caserio De Mozaga Lanzarote/San Bartolome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing