We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rural R&R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca de la Florida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Bartolome
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rural R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We spent the last night of our holiday in Finca de la Florida, after 6 nights in a cheap and cheerful aparthotel in Costa Teguise for the first 6 nights - and I don't think we could have made a better choice.

The set-up is a bit unconventional, as the owners don't live onsite, so be aware that you'll need to pre-communicate your time of arrival so that there will be someone available at reception to check you in. The receptionist was helpful and showed us around the grounds and to our room. After which, we were left to our own devices (we had the run of the place as the only other guests arrived later that night).

The building is gorgeous, many older features but renovated with care and tact. Our room was comfy and welcoming, with a balcony to boot overlooking the vineyard and mountains.

This brings me onto the ambience - we enjoyed our too-short stay at Finca de la Florida because of the peace and tranquility. After arriving we debated taking a swim, but the water was a bit cold and full of insects (hey, it's the countryside, let's be realistic people) and instead we went for a long walk around the grounds and vineyards - it was very interesting to see all the different trees and plants (we spotted lemons, limes, oranges, figs, nuts, cherries and of course vines). Inside the finch there is a lovely common lounge area with an open fire, selection of books and board games - I'd love to return for a longer stay in the winter. There's plenty to entertain kids onsite too; outside alone there is a climbing frame, swings, crazy golf and a tennis court (good ole' physical activity, as it was back in my day, before Wii's and arcade machines and karaoke etc...)

We booked a half-board package deal, so we had dinner (3 course meal) in the evening in the restaurant - this must be pre-booked in advance to allow the staff to buy in ingredients and prepare. To be perfectly honest I wasn't expecting much from the food but I was blown away by the starter (salad with caramelised goats' cheese, tomato, bacon and nuts) and the main (leg of duck with a mixed-berry sauce) - the dessert was fairly simple, fruit and cream. Andres, the owner, was a great host (he was a chef in the Basque country before - ask him about the trophies in the lounge!) and he and his wife returned in the morning to set up the breakfast buffet.

That brings me onto expectations - I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you don't have a car. Trying to reach it by public transport/taxis would be much too tricky, the charm is that you're smack bang in the middle of the relatively unspoilt vineyard region of Lanzarote. The set-up with no staff on site is unconventional, yes, but I was already aware of it having read reviews and I have to say I enjoyed the privacy/freedom. This hotel is perfect for those, like my partner and I, in dire need of R&R, fresh air, good food and getting away from civilisation.

Like ChasMM, the local wine El Grifo, or better yet Malvasia' Seco comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aforestsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    13
    13
    5
See reviews for
15
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Non a real rural establishment.
Nice building with modern hotel pretensions.
The building has a great potential to accommodate cozy rooms but the result is far from being homely.
There was not wi-fi in the rooms. the bath was rusty and there were mosquitoes.

The only worth thing was it´s central location in the island but you can find cheaper similar accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Bartolome hotels

Bakewell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I (retired couple) have just returned from a week's stay at La Finca di Florida. Being in the centre of the island, just outside San Bartolome, this smart little hotel is in an ideal position for exploring in all directions by car. We saw all the island's main attractions and had a wonderful week. The (family) room was very clean and spacious, the twin beds comfortable (though the 'topper' on my husband's bed didn't fit very well). We had both bath and shower and plenty of hot water. Indoor amenities include a hospitality bar (with electric kettle), and a bar and restaurant under separate management. We chose to stay in at night and have what turned out to be home cooked and imaginative three course evening meals with wine for 45 euros for 2 (set menus out-of-season) which we pre-ordered at breakfast. Breakfast includes an everything- you- might want buffet plus cooked food on request. Out of the main building we saw a swimming pool, tennis court, cycles, a fully equipped gym and crazy golf, though we used none of these. The hotel reception is not staffed 24/7 at this time of year (the hotel was not full) but the proprietor can be reached easily by mobile phone. If you like a quiet base, this is perfect. None of the staff we met spoke more than a few words of English and we wished we had been able to speak their language.

Room Tip: We exchanged a double-bed bedroom upstairs for a ground floor family room with two singles when we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Nice hotel. Clean, tidy and with friendly accommodating staff. The manager Andres is more than helpful. Will book the trips etc for you in case the language is a problem.
Great rural and central location away from the coastal resorts but close enough if you want to. Within cycling distance of most of the main sights.
Didn't hire a car - no need to if you are fit. San Bartolome is ten minutes walk so is the supermarcado at the Campesino Monument.
La Geria - ten minutes cycle. Teguise again only 40 minutes. Excellent local wine – El Grifo.

It's only 15 kms to Timanfaya so got there in about an hour and 10 minutes. If you go there by car beware - you have to be marshalled to the top and the queues go on for miles. On a bicycle or moped - striaght to the top - no waiting. An hour later I passed many people still waiting to get in after whom I had passed on the way up!
Hotel restaurant - Good evening food - booking advisable.
No bar open in the day but head up to Masdache or Mozaga for cheap gourmet Spanish food and lots of tingly El Grifo.
Free wifi.

Great to the stars and feel the cool breeze in the quiet evenings.

Room Tip: all rooms were ok I think. Mine was ground floor near car park but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChasMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We came for a few days R&R on Lanzarote. We really liked the Finca de la Florida.

Pros:
- central location. Nowhere is more than about 30 mins drive.
- really helpful manager. He is only there in the mornings but I think he did more than all the airlines to help people stranded by the volcanic ash cloud
- comfortable, large room, with terrace
- free wifi in the reception office and lounge, though not in the rooms

Cons:
- it's true that there are no other services, so you must expect to eat elsewhere. This may not suit you.
- it's not the best value for money.

Don't stay here without a car. Don't stay here if you want lots of facilities on the doorstep. I think it's clear enough from their website that this is the case.
Do stay here if you want to go out and about round the island and have a quiet base to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Quite a strange little set up. Clean rooms but in need of redecoration(rusty bath and flaking paint work). There was no mini bar, no tea/coffee making facilities anywhere, no room service (no phones in the rooms at all). Bring your own towels; the ones provided are meagre and weren't changed once the entire week.
The grounds also look a bit tired, the poolside photos were taken when it was last redecorated - some considerable time ago.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, do not expect to see any staff. Reception is rarely open; the only staff you will see are the chef who lays out the (quite basic) buffet breakfast,the sole waiter who works in the evenings serving dinner and the cleaner. You will be left with a business card with a number for the manager if you need to contact him but you'll have to use your mobile or drive to St Bartolome to find a payphone.
The hotel is not within easy walking distance of any shops so a car makes it a much more pleasant holiday.
It's a bit like a glorified hostel, there's no real atmosphere to the place and no attempt to create one. Even a simple bar service whilst dinner is being served would make for a more congenial atmosphere.
It serves its purpose as a good base from which to explore the island but not really somewhere to come back to for dinner and a relaxing evening.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshineandshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

As a solo traveller, I was expecting to fend for myself but this was taking it to the extreme! While the hotel offers a peaceful retreat in the centre of the island, there is no reception or staff available throughout the day at all, meaning you really need to rely on a car to get into San Bartolome for basics such as water or to use a phone. I took the 40-minute walk along the main road each day to call myself a taxi which was a little frustrating after the novelty of the first few times!

While 'the hotel offers bike hire', this actually means being sent a web link for a company so that I could organise this myself before I left UK - in truth this means every hotel in Lanzarote offers bike hire!! There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the fridge/mini-bar was out of order. If you are hoping to spend a day relaxing at the hotel this isn't really possible, unless you stock up with supplies before hand. The pool was also out of order given the time of year. You are not encouraged to do this and it felt like you were being ushered out the door after breakfast.

As I had a room facing the main road and right next to the front door, there was a lot of noise at night from other guests coming and going (the restaurant is also open to the public). The food was ok, though I had much better Canarian fare at a lower cost elsewhere. As the only visible member of staff at the hotel in the morning, the chef seemed understandably frustrated that he was being questioned by guests on areas he knew nothing about. The one shining light was the friendly and helpful waiter who worked in the evenings and who also spoke some English.

Please be aware that, aside from breakfast, the hotel and the restaurant stand alone. Therefore, when you are 'adding the bill to your room', it is not being added to your hotel bill and you need to request an additional bill from the restaurant. This seems complex and frustraing, particularly when through no fault of my own I thought I had settled my bill, only to be chased by an angry French chef branding me a thief and a liar. Not a nice end to my holiday - only salvaged by the kindness of a lovely Canarian taxi driver who commented that 'this is not a nice hotel'. Es cierto!

I had hoped this hotel would feel homely and welcoming but it felt cold. If you are are looking for a rural hotel in a central location, you'd be far better opting for Caserio de Mozaga. Alternatively, renting a villa would be better value for money as you're certainly not paying for service here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bartolome
8.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
7.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,545 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Diamar
Hotel Diamar
#3 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.7 mi away
Diverhotel Lanzarote
Diverhotel Lanzarote
#28 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
8.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca de la Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca de la Florida Hotel

Property: Finca de la Florida Hotel
Address: Calle Parral 1, 35559 San Bartolome, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > San Bartolome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Bartolome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca de la Florida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca de la Florida Rural Hotel is surrounded by 15.000 m2 of vineyards and bordering the Timanfaya National Park. A Hotel full of enchantment where guests can find a mix of styles and cultures…where lines and curves meet… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Finca de la Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca De La Florida Hotel Lanzarote/San Bartolome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing