We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucky Star Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best in Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Lucky Star the class in itself which is stone throw distance from Colva Beach, nice rooms attached bar with restaurant and beach facing property. I must say this hotel gave me a very unique experience with its excellent hospitality services. The rooms are clean with good staff to take care of all your needs, good room services and the best part is that the mouthwatering food available till 3 in the morning… Good discotheque with awesome dj’s who make sure you go crazy with their remixes. All I can say is that my trip was enjoyable and memorable one. I would definitely stay in same place next time I come to GOA…

Room Tip: Rooms next to discotheque is big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala12148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have never expected without hotel booking I can expect a good hotel like Lucky Star. When I saw the room for first time considering the price it was good. Cozy and clean rooms with nice beach view. Lots of foreigners on that beach. Price may be low due to off season. After going to beach I never felt that off seasons in April. Food was good though not much variety on breakfast(only three). No south indian food available. Good Restaurants with separate bar/lounge. Wed/Fri/Sat you can have disco with DJs at Bar/lounge. Over all experience was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Advisor-Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked the hotel for 4 days but checked out in 2 days itself. Rates were as high as any boutique hotel in Goa but services were pathetic. The room was small with no fridge and very small TV. Room service of food is not available. In breakfast menu, only 3 options available-Puri Bhaji, Paratha Dahi and Breads with Egg. I ordered puri bhaji and wanted 2 eggs only(without bread). They charged Rs,110 for the eggs. There were small cockroaches in the bed.
Security is pathetic. There was a fight happening outside their hotel and their guests were being hurt by locals because guests opposed the locals who were harassing a girl and nobody from Lucky Star came to their help. Although there were many bouncers inside the hotel for some party. There is no security camera, which is mandatory as per government rules. Very unsafe, unhygeinic and bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalk310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colva hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at Lucky Star in Feb 2012. I must say, the hotel has warm & welcoming staff. Perfect Location for honeymoon couples as its right on the beach.
The Hotel made sure that my stay is perfect. Infact, the service was EXCELLENT.
On special request the Hotel made arrangement for a cozy candle light dinner on the terrace.
Delivered pizza on the beach.
If ever I'll go again to Goa... I know the Hotel I want to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gurpreet_Nikhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for two days. It's a beach facing resort with clean and cosy rooms with 3 star facilities. My stay here has been very good. Sea view from restaurant and rooms makes for a relaxing and a quiet stay.The staff was extremely helpful.
In my opinion one of the best places in Colva to stay with family or friends giving you a lot more value than you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amit_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Ok... to summarise: this place would be great if it cleaned the rooms once in a while and had the slightest inkling about how to treat guests; it's in a good location right on the beach, has an OK (but slow) restaurant and a pretty decent bar.

The details:

We arrived here at 7am after getting into Madgaon an hour before. When we arrived the staff were sleeping in the restaurant on beds made from the tables, and using the tablecloths as blankets. These tablecloths then appeared on the tables later the same day. At first we were waved away and shouted at to leave because we had woken them up. Fair enough I suppose, but then the cab driver came in, shook one of them awake who then went to fetch his boss. The boss/receptionist was a nice guy, he showed us the room, negotiated us a fair price and left us to it.

So far so good. The fan didnt work in the room though so i mentioned this and we were then switched to the room next door that had an identical layout... thing is, this room stank. It stank of dust, dirt and that strange stale smell that usually means cockroaches or mice are present. The bed was dusty and smelly like it hadn't been changed in a few weeks. I did procure other sheets for the bed though with a minimum of fuss.

So i'll stop rambling now: our room had roaches. BIG ones too. They were in the bathroom and walking around the place over our bags and clothes and whatever else. I told the management who came and put some spray around the place but since the roaches had retreated to wherever they were quite half-[-] in preventative measures. They also did a very half-[-] job of cleaning the room too and when we went in, the bathroom floor was a little damp, btu the piles of sand from our sandals had not moved an inch. Some cleaning job.

The next day we had more roaches so i caught one, took a few pics and went to complain again to reception that the room had roaches. I was asked if i "was sure it wasn't the bed" to which I replied that even if she was joking, we were leaving. Then she accused me and my wife of bringing the roaches with us in our bags and releasing them in their hotel... this understandably annoyed me. She then said they had never had instances of roaches before, so I asked why they had cockroach bug spray if it had never happened and i have pictorial evidence and indeed, a captured bug as proof. Other travellers we met had also had the same problem, so it was a blatant lie.

So this place would have been great if it wasn't for the rudeness of the staff, the dirtiness of the hotel itself and if the food arrived a bit quicker. I find it hard to believe they accuse paying guests of bringing cockroaches with them to the hotel. I did mention that if they were in my room then they would be others elsewhere such as in the kitchen, the bar and every other room since cockroaches don't go around on their lonesome. This comment was laughed away.

I really doubt the staff give a damn about heir patrons havign a good time and I got the impression they just want paid.

Other travellers we met were charged 50 rs per toilet roll, when they weren't told it was even charged for so they had a 350 rs 'extra' on their bill... like i said, they only seem bothered about money and not giving their guests and clean and comfortable environment to stay in.

Avoid this place if you can, or insist the room is cleaned thoroughly (and watch them do it), and look under the beds and in the bathrooms for roaches. You can do better in Goa for the same money.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank Woooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
0.1 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Colva Residency
Colva Residency
#7 of 17 in Colva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graciano Cottages
Graciano Cottages
#14 of 17 in Colva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Star Hotel

Property: Lucky Star Hotel
Address: 3rd Ward Beach Road | near Longinos Lodge, Colva 403708, India
Region: India > Goa > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lucky Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Star Hotel Goa/Colva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing