We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, but not prepared!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camilsons Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Colva B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but not prepared!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed only 2 nights at Camilsons Beach Resort and the reason why we stayed there was the top location right on the beach, it's surroundings/garden and the friendly welcoming of host Raymond.The rooms are very basic, but sadly to say it seemed they were not prepared for the season yet. The room was not very clean (not sure if it got really cleaned after last season) and the bedsheets and towels...hmm they smelled really really bad and were very dirty (sheets even ripped) probably they were lying on the bed already waiting for new guests since last season. I think this place scores because of it's location and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTravelAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I booked the resort after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and they turn out to be spot on. the property is 40 - 45 minutes from the airport and in the South of Goa. It is a quaint little place right on the beach. the rooms are no frills, we had an AC room, which means, air conditioning, no TV no minibar, no telephone, not that we needed any of these. The bathrooms are basic and clean, but the water pressure is not great.
There is a restaurant run by the hotel right on the beach which serves up some great dishes, but shuts after 10pm at night.
The location of the resort is ideal, away from the hustle of main Colva circle, but very close to the happening area of Benaulim beach. We walked up to Rogers shack and Rafaels every night and walked back along the beach back to Camilsons.
Santosh at the restaurant of Camilsons is a great guy and is there throughout the day to help you with all your needs.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor facing the beach. you get a great balcony and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mussoorie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We visited Colva for the second time in the past four years and stayed at Camilsons Beach Resort. This resort is fantastic. It is right on the beach and is quiet. In 2010 we discovered Camilsons quite by accident, we were originally booked at another resort just a walk away and it was a dump.
This is quite basic however not as bare bones and some other places. We were there as a family and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The people are courteous and the place is neat as well.

Room Tip: They have a basic setup, then a family room and then a Villa. We stayed in family rooms which have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benlall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

visited goa with my husband in jan end 2012. we were dropped at margao bus stop by the volvo. just 1 minute walk away was a bike rental shop who charged us Rs 300 per day as rent. since we didnt carry much luggage, we immediately rented the scooter and started exploring goa with the help of gps + basic guides from tripadvisor & lonely planet. after checking out a couple of hotels, we landed in camilson's beach resort and got ourselves a sea facing cottage with cute lil veranda. it was a basic accommodation with clean bed, good pillows, not so clean bathroom but with good hot water supply. they have a sea facing cozy restaurant serving decent food. we sat there for hours watching the sea n enjoying the meals. i feel the high point is the location of the resort. its not far from the nearby markets and good restaurants but far enough for a peaceful, silent n hawker-less beach. the stretch right infront of the resort was surprisingly uncrowded. hardly a couple or two.. while one cud see the mela going on little far away at the main colva beach. so if you wanna have a relaxing and peaceful goa vacation but enjoy good food and decent connectivity to the city at a very reasonable price then camilson's is the place for you. plus if you have a rented vehicle then thrs no stopping you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chini_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great place to stay on Benaulim Beach - away from mass tourism on Colva Beach. Heavenly location on beach. Little garden and cafe. Plumbing and Internet connections not reliable. Very helpful and willing staff - you may have to chase them to get things to work.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Camilsons has been a treasure find: brilliant spot at the beach front, very friendly and professional service! The accommodation is basic but in case you are unhappy with something in the room/bathroom they are ready to fix it, you just have to ask. We have had a fantastic time with friends here, sipping fresh pineapple juice, fresh lime soda or kingfisher at the beach all day. The crew, manager Raymond and the waiters Arun and Joseph we will always remember for their helpfulness and kindness - as well as some excellent dishes!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank florapasqualetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Camilsons is a basic beach resort at one of the most amazing beaches in south goa. prime beachfront resort, with ample space, basic rooms with beds and attached baths ( we chose non AC, so not sure about the AC rooms) a beach facing restaurant ( food was average for a beach front shack), and the best part of the resort was the beach in front- un crowded, clean and all inviting.
The staff was courteous and attentive, though a little slow at times

Would surely recommend for a stay if ever in South goa

Room Tip: try for a beach facing room, only a few of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suchi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
0.2 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#8 of 17 in Colva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Palms Resort
Acacia Palms Resort
#2 of 17 in Colva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camilsons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilsons Beach Resort

Property: Camilsons Beach Resort
Address: Sernabatim South Colva, Colva 403708, India
Region: India > Goa > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Camilsons Beach Hotel Colva
Camilsons Beach Resort Goa/Colva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing