We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still love it, but..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roda Golf & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roda Golf & Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
“Still love it, but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We've been back 4 times since my last review and we have rented from two other owners.

Something that is becoming more obvious within succeeding apartments is the smell from the drains/waste pipework within the apartments. A previous rental didn't even tell us about it until we complained to the management company who sent someone on the penultimate day !

Our recent rental had a similar, though not as severe a problem which was cleverly masked by the use of battery operated air fresheners. Again, no mention by the owners, which to me suggests guilt regards possible return business ?

It's a smell which is sometimes apparent outside the block also.

I have a feeling something is going badly wrong with the main drains and the venting or lack of it.

Room Tip: Pick a block which is on or near the main entrance of the complex as others can be a quite a trek on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alfanumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    26
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in a 3 bedroom apartment. The resort is well maintained with top quality furnishings. The apartment had everything we needed and was very spacious. The underground car park was very handy also. The beach club is absolutely amazing and the local town of Los alcazares is great. A car is essential to truly explore the area

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

myself and four friends have just returned from a week at roda and counted the days till we could come home. the resort is lovely, clean and well kept. our problem was the total lack of information provided by the rental company, Losalcazaresrentals. we were not told that our apartment was as far from the entrance as its possible to be. a 2 mile walk just to get off the site, thats before you attempt getting into town or the beach. i would never recommend Losalcazaresrentals to anyone. we contacted them a number of times asking for help but we never recieved any. the rental company who have an office onsite were a great help and even went out of their way to take us into town to show us where everything was.the onsite shop is tiny and is of no use if you need more than a few things. we had dirty cutlery in the drawer, a dirty roasting tin in the over. the lamps in the living room didnt work, a few bulbs needed replacing, the table was dusty enough to write our names in. the floor wasnt clean and there was food left behind by previous tennants. we snuck across the golf course to have a meal at the club house, it was nice enough but we were left waiting a long time. on another occassion we went there for a drink, the waiter passed us a number of times while serving others and clearing away tables, we waited more than half an hour, then gave up and left,
we didnt enjoy our stay there because of the lack of customer care we recieved, had we been aware of such a lengthy walk just to get round the grounds we could have hired a car. as we werent informed, we couldnt arrange it once we were there. i strongly recommend you fnd out exactly how far into the site your apartment will be. if youre not too far from the entrance and club house it will be much easier to get out and about. the shops and beach are within walkng distance.

Room Tip: you need to be near the entrance or get a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oldsoulchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have rented a number of times from Elaine Scott at www.rodagolfapartmentrentals.com and just love the resort and the apartment! It is so relaxing and quite quiet yet with lots to do on the doorstep so you'd never get bored. The accomodation is well furnished with everything we need for our family including comfortable beds! The resort is well located close to the beach and the main town, but in a tranquil environment. Recommend a car as the area has lots to offer and is worth exploring. Elaine also has bikes available which is a great way to get around the resort and easy to nip to the shop for an ice cream or the clubhouse for a drink or a bite to eat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

booked though www.calidasunshine.com and Iain Knibbs and no problem at all, you do need a car and take his advice and book I think its Alexandra cars, we booked Gold cars and queued for around 1-2 hours then had to pay 110 Euros for a full tank of fuel, which we didn’t use half of! You do need a car unless you are planning not to leave the resort!
The resort itself was lovely and we booked a 3 bedroomed penthouse at the end of September, the weather was lovely! The apartment was perfect, well portioned with a nice roof terrace and air conditioning, the pools are plentiful, but not heated so it takes will power to get in, but you are fine once in! I was travelling with a very loud 2 year old and a baby and we had no complaints about the noise they created!
The resort it large, we were fo0rtunate to have an apartment in phase 1, which is well within walking distance from the local shop and Club House, but I am sure that if you are in an apartment at the back of the resort it would be quite a walk, however the shop does offer local delivery if needed.

The shop was what you would expect, a little over priced, but well stocked and who I assume were the owners were very nice, and extremely friendly and helpful.
The beach is 5-10 minutes drive, but not walks able, it is clean and you can hire sun beds, however we found there to be quite a lot of jelly fish so only went a few times.
The club house food is nice, however it was under staffed, and we found we had to wait a while for service, and the wait a while and the waiters never write anything down, and you had to ask again for your drink etc! But this could be down to the time we went.
We ate in most nights, however we went to a restaurant down the road, called El Patio, which was gorgeous and I highly recommend!
II don’t personally play golf, but my father and brother in law is big golfer and they said the course was excellent and they did not understand the negative reviews as it was one of the best they have played on, and the greens were amazing!
Not the holiday if you want a lively bar scene, but a lovely resort with great golf (apparently) and I highly recommend www.calidasunshine.com and Iain Knibbs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank jenni5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

we stayed for three nights and played three rounds of golf the apartments are excellent but we had to walk to the golf course every day and had to carry our clubs because there was no where to put our clubs at the club house the course is lovely but the greens are a disgrace hairy and full of sand we spoke to some ex pats who said that they have been like that for about 3 years the local town of los alcazares has plenty of eating places la divas is a must fillet stake brilliant all round food great would consider going back only if the greens where sorted out
maybe they need a greenkeeper and not gardner

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in June 2011, first time there and it was fantastic, lovely rooftop apartment, everything you could want for a relaxing holiday, we hired a car but not essential, the beach is terrific. We were so impressed that we are going back in 4 weeks time, this is the first time we have ever returned to the same holiday destination,if your looking for the "lively" scene DON'T go there but if like us you want a lovely relaxing time with good food this is a must

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weegie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Javier
1.3 mi away
525 Hotel
525 Hotel
#1 of 8 in Los Alcazares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.1 mi away
Senator Mar Menor Golf & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 8 in Los Alcazares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Trabuco
Hotel Trabuco
#1 of 3 in Santiago de la Ribera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 8 in Los Alcazares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Lodomar Spa & Talasoterapia
Hotel Lodomar Spa & Talasoterapi...
#4 of 6 in San Pedro del Pinatar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Roda Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Calle Cantil | Ave De Golf, Roda Golf, 30710 San Javier, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > San Javier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in San Javier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom semi-detached townhouse on Roda Golf & Beach Resort. Located on phase II which is close to clubhouse, golf, tennis, paddle courts, football pitches and putting green. Also close by is the onsite shop and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Hotel.de so you can book your Roda Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roda Golf And Beach Resort
Roda Golf & Beach Hotel San Javier
Roda Golf & Beach Resort Region Of Murcia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing