We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel not knowing more than we could find here on TripAdvisor and the hotels own website. We didn´t even know anything about Getaria. All we knew was that we wanted to go to the Basque Country. And now we can't wait to go back!

Our room (101) was quite small but so nice and with a very comfortable bed, newly decorated, clean and fresh bathroom. Free wifi. Excellent.

Continental breakfast including good coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, toast, baguettes, marmalade, ham and cake. All served out on the terrace with amazing views over Gaztetape surf beach. What a lovely way to start the day! The hotel is owned by the sweetest, most service-minded family, they were so nice and helpful about everything.

Getaria is such a cosy little town with many pinxtos bars, restaurants and good communications to the rest of the Basque country. We were pleasantly surprised to find out there is a walking path just by the coastline that takes you the 3,5K to Zarautz, we ran there almost every morning. Zarautz is a bigger town and we spent a lot of time there too, it's only five minutes on the bus from Getaria. Fantastic selection of pinxtos bars and surf shops. Like!

We truly recommend this hotel to everyone, it's the best spot to discover Getaria and surroundings. We will definitely be back. Lovely!


Johanna

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msjobronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

hotel in old town, sensational view over beach from terrace garden. spacious and comfortable room, top notch bathroom. no aircon but nice breeze. great little town, a minutes walk to great tapas bars (try Xagu) restaurants. friendly family run hotel, told us where to park for free. Caught bus to San Sebastian for the day, 40 min. would definitely recommend this hotel in great beach town. free wifi. brekky available but did not have it.

Room Tip: had a room with balcony over side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelePtLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stopped here with my girlfriend after a completing some of the Camino Walk. Tired and hungry we were happy to be greeted by the friendly receptionist who walked us to our room. The room was minimal but very clean. The bathroom had no bath but a good powerful shower, which was badly needed. The bed was comfortable enough but could have done with another pillow or two. If your a light sleeper the on-street noise is very audible from the rooms. There is also a tv in the room.

We arranged to have our meal, which was included in the price, at half 8. Upon our arrival to the Reception area we thought we would be shown to the restaurant but instead we were walked about 8 minutes away to a restaurant on the pier, whos name escapes me. Sceptical about this arrangement we embraced it's originality and we were not disappointed. Gorgeous food, beautiful view with friendly staff!

The next morning we made our way out to the breathtaking balcony for breakfast where a friendly woman catered for our every need. They serve a continental style breakfast which fuelled us up for the days walk ahead.

The Itxas Gain Hotel gives its visitors a real local experience in traditional Basque fashion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed one night after arriving in Bilbao by ferry and 1 hour drive. The staff were very pleasant but only 1 spoke any english. We had a room on the top floor which had good views of the sea and a veranda. The room was large, clean and well equipped. The only downside was close to the road and no hotel parking. We stayed in Winter so that wasn't too much of a problem but in summer it is something to consider.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisakil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank María Jesús P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisegurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#3 of 5 in Getaria
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antilla
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iturregi
Hotel Iturregi
#5 of 5 in Getaria
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria

Address: Calle San Roque 1, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range: £57 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Itxas Gain, is charming and cozy hotel that is located upon the beach of Getaria. It has a private garden, where the guests could enjoy the sun and the gorgeous sights of the Atlantic sea. It is close to Zarautz, Zumaia and San Sebastian and less than one hour away by car to Bilbao. A warm and familiar treatment, with sixteen rooms, some of them with Jacuzzi and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing