We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Guetaria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the best in Guetaria”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Whereas in the old part of Guetaria (great city), the hotel is super uncomfortable to access. Good luck with your luggage and parking the car in the summer. Avoid rooms facing Ouest (the ocean) in case of bad weather, you will have to be locked in. There are much better options

Room Tip: Avoid facing west if you will have bad weather (50% of time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PURCHASING E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    92
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
196
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just back from a European tour and started with 4 nights here in June. Lovely family who run the hotel and bend over backwards to help.
Our highlight was the fantastic view from the breakfast area, over a bay, almost perched on a cliff edge. The home made cake at breakfast was really tasty, first time ever I've had cake at breakfast!

Room Tip: We didn't but should have taken the balcony room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givrezac
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastic two day stay here, our room had a balcony with a view down the little street. The family who run this hotel are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the sea,fabulous, fresh orange juice, lovely ham and cheese, homemade tortilla and cake to follow. would definitely stay here again. We managed to park nearby but can imagine parking in the hight of the season would be tricky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 434Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this family run hotel. Warm welcome and lovely room with balcony. Fantastic views from the breakfast terrace. Great location in this pretty fishing village. Will come again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank She155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

In May, 2014 we stayed 3 nights at the Itxas Gain hotel in Getaria. WHAT a find and we wished we could have stayed longer. Its located in the heart of old town Getaria and is run by the Silvetti family who give wonderful service including an excellent breakfast, and often home-made breakfast cake will be served. Yum!
The owners speak only Spanish, but their son Javier is on site and he speaks good English and he gives great tips on the town and of local sights in the surrounding area..
We had a lovely decorated non-smoking room with a very large balcony that gave a superb view of the ocean below....a perfect spot for sunset relaxation enjoying the local white wine produced there in Getaria.
The town itself is delightful and has historic sites and many cafes/restaurants serving good food and tapas. On our 1st evening in town we were delighted to see BBQ's set up right at the entrance of many eateries. They grill right on the spot whatever you order of the fresh caught fish of the day, or grill up chicken, lamb, or pork. Whatever you chose, the aroma and flavor was super! Besides these small cafes, we can recommend dinner at the Mayflower Hotel and the Bogo-Bogo restaurant in town. They both serve very good food. And at the Mayflower, they make a wicked Irish Coffee!

There is an incredible find right in town even IF you aren't a big fan of the haute couture world of fashion and design. Cristobel Balenciaga was born in Getaria and became a world renowned designer who many considered better than presentations put out by the House of Dior, Chanel, and other houses of fashion.
The town has built a magnificent museum in his honor where you see displayed (behind glass) the actual dresses from many of his collections he presented to the fashion world. My husband is not into fashion but surprising to me, he actually enjoyed the hour or so it took taking it all in.
To get to the museum, you take an escalator ( right near the hotel) that takes you right up the hill to the Museum's entrance. The entrance fee was nominal and its really and truly worth the visit
.
If we ever get back to this northern part of Spain again we certainly will revisit this town and stay at this hotel once again. Its terrific place and location!
Penrose, Colorado


.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are so worth the extra money. You overlook the ocean and at night can hear the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in last minute. The owners warmly welcomed us. The room was very clean and spacious for two. We went out for dinner to the various places recommended by the owners. Choice was difficult because most of the places had what we wanted but we couldn't eat at all of them. We had a glas of wine and tapas @one and fresh fish diner @another one. All with view on the harbor and with very nice atmosphere of people enjoying good times.We finished the evening with little walk thru the all streets of this tiny historic town. We loved it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PierrefromBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Despite the weather hiccup, our stay here was incredible. Hosts were nothing but welcoming. First class service for affordable price. They were always keen on providing helpful tips right down to planning and providing alternatives for the unexpected rainy day. Would definitely go back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#3 of 5 in Getaria
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
194 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#4 of 5 in Getaria
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iturregi
Hotel Iturregi
#5 of 5 in Getaria
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria

Property: Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Address: Calle San Roque 1, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Itxas Gain, is charming and cozy hotel that is located upon the beach of Getaria. It has a private garden, where the guests could enjoy the sun and the gorgeous sights of the Atlantic sea. It is close to Zarautz, Zumaia and San Sebastian and less than one hour away by car to Bilbao. A warm and familiar treatment, with sixteen rooms, some of them with Jacuzzi and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing