We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Restaurant in Spain!”
Review of Restaurante Elkano

Restaurante Elkano
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Fish Restaurant in Spain!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited with a friend who is a chef at a One-Star restaurant in Spain; she remarked that Elkano is where the famous chefs go to see how fish is done! It seems that this is the most famous fish restaurant, with a long and sterling reputation. The service was perfect, and the owner is attentive and friendly, speaks english, too! Very large selection of fish, but we let the owner lead us in discussion to see what he recommended! Prices reasonable.
Getaria is a fishing port with a fish processing facility, so the quality of the fish is unbeatable!
Excellent wine list.
We have dined here three times in as many years, and would go back in a minute!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 101coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    145
    46
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Lobster”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

During our stay in Getaria, we visited a number of its famed restaurants of which Elkano was clearly the best. We skipped the appetizers and went straight for the lobster. We were taken to the kitchen to pick the one that we wanted and it was then put on the grill. 20 minutes later it was on our plates. It was really delicious! Also the desserts and the wine were nearly up to the same standard. The only slight complaint comes from the somewhat unattentive service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ilkka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best turbot多宝🐟 in the world!!!! 没有之一!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The prices are high but worth it!!! The service is very good. Owner or restaurant manager took time to explain the food and even offer to show us around the kitchen.

Helpful?
Thank Tok Hong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food - one small complaint”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This was the place of choice from Trip Advisor and Rough Guide. First thing to say is that the food is excellent - party of four all saying out of this world. Deserves top ranking for quality of food. More expensive than expected but worth it. Quiet evening in mid March so little atmosphere. My complaint (and it's a personal thing for me) is that if I have ordered wine and the bottles are kept by the waitress I do not like having to keep asking to have glasses topped up - it felt like asking a favour!! We have spent a week in Getaria and there are other really good restaurants with other strengths but this is number 1 for sheer indulgence

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grilled to perfection”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Elkano was everything we expected and more. The service was wonderful. Seeing that we had trouble selecting the appetizers, they offered us a selection, a mini sampling of 4-5 dishes so that we could get a taste of several items. They were all delicious. They took extra care, explaining what everything was, how it was cooked and prepared. The wine that was recommended was excellent, the dessert to die for. You should try to mascarpone ice cream with forest berries infusion. Per recommendation, we had the grilled turbot that was done to perfection. Very very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bade t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Elkano also viewed

Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Restaurante Elkano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing