We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small elegant boutique hotel in Getaria.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Went to the Basque area to walk a little on the road to Santiago de Compostela. Jumped of a bus from Bilbao, just got a feeling for it. Walked down one of the few alleya in Getaria. And there it was, this amazing hotel which wa absolutely drop dead gorgeous. The hotel in my dreams. The first impression, the entrance, amazing. Everything fell out to my utmost expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Saiaz Getaria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This little hotel perched on a rocky buttress in the small town of Getaria and overlooking the sea is stunning. Great value for money and wonderful sea views. Spotless and with some of the most pleasant and helpful staff I have encountered on my travels in Europe. Great location for local restaurants, free parking in tourist only car park below hotel and you need to try the local fish and Txakolina wine. Brilliant!!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must. I think others look out onto a quiet narrow street but cannot be sure.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived in gale force winds so the views from our room were even more spectacular. Made one error of attempting to open the terrace door during this storm ... fortunately I was not killed and the manager came to the rescue. We were very satisfied with the quality of the hotel and service. They provided excellent local knowledge of what to see and where to eat. It was no trouble for them to organise dinner for us... helpful when we dont speak any basque or Spanish. If looking for a classic historic fishing village and elegant hotel, this is a great option. Try the local txackoli and sea bass on hot coals.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TomFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Staying in a 15th century watch tower is just the start. The interior is moder and clean. The rooms are amazing. Everything is pristine. There is a large eating area/cafeteria that looks out over the small bay. Upstairs is a large lounge overlooking the same bay. Absolutely stunning views. The staff is really friendly and helpful. It's a family owned hotel and the owner was totally friendly and helpful. I even got an amazing history lesson about the Basque people at breakfast. The cobblestone streets are amazing as well. It is located around everything you would want to see. Both bays, the marina, restaurants, bars and markets are a super short walk. Great property. Well worth the money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank mikeebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Venture down the narrow cobbled Roke Deuna to the be surprised by the mix of old and new in this renovated medieval house. The interior decor features big photo prints of Balenciaga clothes; small lounge and terrace overlook a sweep of sand and sea. Our top floor room was a good size with huge windows and sofa. Breakfasts are restrained but with good quality ingredients. Desk staff were very friendly advising on parking and offering route suggestions for our onward journey. Great base for exploring the excellent bars and restaurants round the port and visiting the museum devoted to Basque born fashion designer Cristobal Balenciaga.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room with view across sandy bay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

the view of the sea is extremely lovely, with nice shutters to block all the sunlight in the morning, and also especially in the summer where the sun rises very early.

only thing was disappointed with air conditioner and toilet. the water does not flow down the sink nicely in the shower, therefore our legs were soaked in water throughout the shower. the airconditioner was aimed directly at our head so it was pretty cold to keep the air conditioner on all night, and too warm (summer) to shut them off.

apart from that, all good, especially food in the lovely village!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkwarrior2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We loved the sea-view, the location, and the friendliness of the staff. We will be happy to return any time ... probably for a longer stay (we stayed for 3 nights) ... and we highly recommend this charming fisherman's village, its beaches, inexpensive delicious resturants and a wonderful modern museum dedicated entirely to Balenciaga, the great fashion designer.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea-view. It will take your breath away from mornings to sunsets.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nycwest57th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#3 of 5 in Getaria
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iturregi
Hotel Iturregi
#5 of 5 in Getaria
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antilla
2.0 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saiaz Getaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saiaz Getaria Hotel

Address: Roke Deuna 25, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range: £65 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saiaz Getaria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel set in renovated XVth century stone walls. Located inside the village old town, with best Views to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saiaz Getaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saiaz Hotel Getaria
Getaria Saiaz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing