We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanna move in,”
Review of Hotel Iturregi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iturregi
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is the place I have been looking for.

Excellent location for those who want to explore both san seb and bilbao.
Rooms are spacious and beds are super comfy.
Interior still looks new and this place is well taken care off.

The community areas are more the great, big sofas, large bar area, very nice patio,

Only seven, eight rooms and a quiet litlle secret.
Breakfast is very good for being Spain,
I wanna go again and again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

All the superlatives lavished on this place by other reviews are by no means hyperbole.

I could not recommend this place enough as a perfect rural boutique hotel.

Set in stunning grounds, with magnificent views of the sea it is a chic oasis of calm from which to explore the Basque Country - only half an hour from San Sebastian and just over an hour from Bilbao.

While it looks very rustic from the outside, the inside is very stylishly decorated, as are the rooms.

With only 8 rooms, it really is a boutique hotel and you almost feel part of the family with the staff and other guests. Get a sea room if you can as the views truly are spectacular but the views from the back are also great, looking on to the bijoux pool and mountain.

Are the rooms, each with a distinct style, are extremely tastefully and stylishly furnished, with great bathrooms, comfortable beds, and beautiful furniture.

The breakfasts are just what you need - with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad that feels like it's just been made rather than been sitting in the fridge, delicious pastries, cereals, bread etc.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, doing their utmost to help with planning trips, restaurants etc.

There isn't a restaurant (some limited room service in the evenings) but with so many great restaurants nearby, not just in San Sebastian but even in nearby Getaria, which the staff will recommend and book for you, you really shouldn't be staying in anyway.

I just couldn't recommend this place more. With only 8 rooms, it deserves to be full all year round. Having been back only 2 days, I already miss it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, but the other views are still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

There isn't much to add to previous reviews. This hotel is stunning. It is stylish, tranquil, spotlessly clean, welcoming... Just utterly wonderful. There is no restaurant, which means a drive or taxi ride to eat, but they recommended excellent restaurants to us. So what is there to criticise? All I can come up with is the glass toilet door in our room; not everything's for sharing. But that's it. A very, very special hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Iturregi was a bit of a treat during a two week holiday, after a few days in San Sebastian we escaped to the hills in our car (you need a car!), and what an escape it was.

A beautiful building, with stunning gardens....we arrived to a warm welcome and retired to relax in our beautiful room. The rooms a lovely, with huge bathrooms....you don't want to leave them. The pool area is stunning and the perfect place to squirrel yourself away and do some serious reading!!!

The staff are charming, helping to book dinners and on hand for anything you need, they recommended some quite off the beaten track places which was great fun, as we love exploring.

The surrounding area is lush and green, we decided to borrow bikes and cycle around, a word of caution, the hill on the way back is a nightmare in the heat!!! There isn't lots and lots to do in the immediate surrounding area - but exploring the local villages, and checking out the scenery is plenty - as this is the type of place where you want to spend all your time enjoying the hotel's ambience and location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365dayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is really over the top. Hard to find but what a reward. Never stayed in a place we liked this much. Felt like a Duke living in a manor house. The staff was superb. Reserved for one night but stayed four nights because off season and available. Views breathtaking. It sits on a hill overlooking the sea. So quiet and peaceful. Only a few rooms so book early. Probably jammed in the summer. Appears that many of the quests drive down from San Sebastian or France. We were there late October. Although they don't have a regular restaurant they serve a wonderful breakfast at 9 AM, and they have an "honor bar" in the sitting room. They can also do cold cheese and meat trays for room service in the evening. It was fun to roam Getaria and watch fishing boats unload. We drove to Bilbao one day, saw the Guggenheim museum and were back in the evening. About two hours each way.

Room Tip: Room with a view. And get good directions from the hotel. Hard to find. Signage is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Beautiful, luxurious, tasteful and a whole heap more adjectives don't even come close to describing this hotel. I'm not prone to hyperbole but this place is special. Warm, professional and personal service and lovely rooms. Make sure you get one with a sea view, it is so worth it. This is very much a boutique hotel in the truest sense, so don't expect hordes of staff etc. Do expect a tranquil environment that is a pleasure to be in, set amongst the rolling hills of the Basque country within easy striking distance of Getaria, San Sebastian and all the many highlights of the area.

(PS Go to the Balenciaga museum!)

Room Tip: Sea view, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfingonsinewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just had 2 nights, was so peaceful and the views are amazing, we loved the place, breakfast was more than plentiful and they catered for my allergies which made a difference. The view from the room was breathtaking and the sunrise spectacular. Eating out for dinner no real problem though not many open on a Sunday night but the one we stumbled upon served the most amazing cheese ice cream, so good in fact that we had an extra serve! The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained, the pool area would be great in summer, we did jump in but it was cold, hard to resist though. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: One with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#2 of 5 in Getaria
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
444 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bidania
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iturregi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iturregi

Address: | Barrio Azkizu, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range: £162 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iturregi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iturregi is a small luxury hotel located in Getaria, a beautiful village from the Basque Country.Surrounded by Txakoli vineyards and with a spectacular view of the coast and Getaria's lighthouse; built over the ruins of an old farmhouse, Iturregi offers a space for peace and tranquility.Every detail has been carefully prepared with special interest, offering our clients spacious rooms,plenty of natural light and wonderful views.A very special place to rest, relax and enjoy the silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Iturregi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing