We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Thornton Hall Farm Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animal encounters, glorious countryside and family fun come rain or shine! Make friends with friendly farm animals, greet our newest arrivals and take part seasonal hands-on activities, demonstrations and animal encounters. Climb aboard the Wizzick Farm Safari for a unique, fun and educational guided tour of the farm. Let the kids loose in the Wizzick Barn with ride-on tractors, 18ft high Wizzick slide and giant sandpit. Hitch a ride on the giant caterpillar. Pet our friendly animals, milk Molly our milking cow. Become friends with Max our friendly Mascot and so much more!
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had our 5 year old sons birthday party here. It was fantastic. Staff brilliant...Plenty to do for the 13 kids. They loved the massive slide, tractors, animal feeding, horse grooming, egg collecting and of course the caterpillar ride. Loads to do whether it is raining or sunny. We did not eat there but other members of our family said it wad lovely. You can also take you own picnic. Excellent outdoor area too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    69
    14
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent for small children”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a lovely clean well run farm the staff are very friendly and always happy to tell you about the animals, you can buy bags of food and feed more or less all the animals which my little ones loved. there is lamb and calf feeding you can hold the friendly rabbits and guinea pigs, there is clean picnic area or you can eat on the grass outside a small park outside and slides, sandpits small pedal tractors and a plastic cow that you can milk inside, definately worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emma2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out, great staff!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Best farm I've been to! My husband and I took our 4 year old twins here today and my husband went free as it was Father's Day! We had such a brilliant 4 hours! The staff were so friendly and really seemed to care so much about the animals ...

Started off with egg collecting, then lamb and calf feeding, then petting the rabbits and guinea pigs, then a safari ride before having lunch and a delicious cake from the cafe and playing in the play barn - the girls loved the tractors and big slide. We then looked at all the other animals, played on the hay bails outside and fed the lambs again before heading home tired but thrilled to have had such a good time!

Helpful?
Thank SarahMonty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We took our daughter there on Saturday, we were really surprised at variety of activities. There is a hay barn play area with tarzan rope swings, there is a maze, a huge slide, tractor track, petting area and farm animals and that's just the inside area! Outside there are more animals, play area, caterpillar ride, adult and children;
's quads and a safari. We went on the safari (this was £3.50 extra, but worth it) which took us on a 25 min journey around the farm looking at Alpacas, Lamas, red and white Deer among other things, we saw a newly born deer which was really cute. There is loads to do and the cafe was reasonably priced with a good selection of snacks. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean. I would certainly go again. In fact my husband and daughter intend to camp on the adjacent site which allows free entry for the children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thorn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a well spent five hours”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Went to Thornton hall farm in the second week of June for father’s day with the whole family daughter granddaughter son etc. had a excellent time seeing the animals, found the price to be about the same as other places .Good facilities throughout the farm toilets etc. can’t comment about the café as we took our own food all in all we enjoyed the visit we stayed for around 5 hours .Advise check out their web site as they do have different activities going on different weekends

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thornton Hall Farm Country Park also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thornton Hall Farm Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing