We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thornton-in-Craven, Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Us B
1 review
“A fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just spent a week at Fernside Cottage. From the wonderful welcome of fresh flowers, fruit basket and biscuits our holiday has been first class. Have no hesitation in recommending this cottage - from the location to the fabulous scenery.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities.
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing that we liked least.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the cottage. I hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mott121
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SUPER , SUPER”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Marvellous accomodation in a handy location for Skipton and the Dales. The owner lives onsite and is very helpful. So good that we booked again for 2016

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
thank you for your kind review which is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation with excellent views over countryside”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fernside cottage,well worth its Gold Star award, has everything included to make this a most comfortable stay. A first floor lounge with comfortable reclining chair has a wonderful view over the Yorkshire countryside. Pauline ,the owner, goes that extra step in providing a welcoming vase of flowers, bowl of fruit and a selection of teas with biscuits. Hard to beat. A car is a necessity although the local bus service is regular.
A good base to explore the South Yorkshire dales

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: First floorlounge with views
Liked least: sqeeky wardrobe door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully we will see you again soon.
The bus service here is amazing and the stop is only 3 minutes walk around the corner. They go to so many places we often have visitors who never need to use their car. Yorkshire is a wonderful place for a holiday and I'm so pleased you agree with me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A brilliant cottage, private and quiet. A lovely outlook the scenery was beautiful.Pauline was very welcoming , she left flowers ,fruit and milk so we could have a nice cup of tea after our journey. The cottage had every thing you want.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outlook from the lounge windows
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroteds
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a de-luxe experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

we stayed here over new year and had a lovely stay.
the cottage was very well equipped with everything you could need. the location means you get great views out to the moors and was lovely and quiet.
the layout is excellent as the lounge is on the upper floor to take advantage of the views.
10 mins from skipton which we love and 10 mins from colne for big supermarkets.
we will definatlly return.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the luxury fixtures and fittings
Liked least: the matress was a bit soft for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so pleased your stay was so enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Fernside for four nights and the standard of accommodation exceeded our high expectations. The whole cottage was spotless, furnished to a very high standard and had all the amenities one could need. We received a very warm welcome from Pauline, with fruit, flowers and tea and biscuits.
We had no issues at all with the property, which is ideal for a couple who either want some peace and quiet together or who want to explore the area through walking, cycling or driving to places of interest. There are also good bus services!
Pauline's gold award, the result of much hard work, is richly deserved and we would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pristine condition of the property
Liked least: No issues with the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulfromB...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fernside Cottage is in a delightful little village, Thornton-in-Craven, which is ideally situated for visiting many of the beautiful sights and villages in West Yorkshire. The owner, Pauline, provides everything you need for making your stay enjoyable, including clear directions to the cottage, which is down a small private road and would be easily missed otherwise. The cottage has everything you could ask for, including a delightful outlook onto beautiful countryside. Certainly the best cottage we have ever stayed at.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful outlook
Liked least: The bed was rather creaky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and hope you will stay with us again soon. As you mention, although the cottage is in North Yorkshire with the Pennine way on the doorstep, close to Skipton and the fabulous dales it is also very close to West Yorkshire and Lancashire with so many more amazing places to visit. The Pendle Witch country, Bronte Country and many more besides. Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.