We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing weekend at Barleywood Shepherds Hut”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Creake, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ian b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing weekend at Barleywood Shepherds Hut”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Barleywood Shepherds Hut is a hidden gem nestled in the Norfolk countryside. We received a very warm welcome from David and Lorna who were so helpful and friendly and this showed with the very generous welcome hamper filled with all the essentials plus marshmallows to toast in the chiminea! The Hut itself was furnished in a modern vintage style in keeping with the surroundings and was very cleverly designed. It was quirky and cosy and so peaceful. Waking up every morning in our own private plot to the sound of the resident chickens was just the idyllic weekend we were looking for. Thank you so much David and Lorna - we look forward to seeing you again as we will definitely be returning! :-)

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying in our Hut we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
522russc
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last week, 13th and 14th December. It is a lovely shepherd's hut in it's own garden, everything you need is there including a welcome hamper which was very well stocked.
Cannot praise it enough. The owners, David and Lorna, are masters of detail and everything seems to have been thought of

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review and will see you soon

Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro475
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday break.”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had an amazing Birthday break staying in the Shepherds Hut. We have stayed several times at Barleywood on the CL caravan site but now we no longer have the caravan it is great to be able to still stay at Barleywood. Lorna and David are lovely hosts and the Shepherds Hut is a credit to them, spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated inside, the welcome hamper was lovely and as it was my Birthday there was a Birthday card and a bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge. The Hourglass at Sculthorpe is well worth a visit for a meal and nearby Holkhmam and Wells are great for a walk.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F
1 review
“A very Special Place”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a wonderful and amazing place, thank you so much David and Lorna for making our stay so memorable. The hut and setting is truly tranquil, beautifully set overlooking the Barley fields where we got to enjoy watching an owl hunting as dusk something neither of us have ever experience. W stayed here for my girlfriends birthday and are so thankful we found this place. You have both thought of everything to make staying here relaxing and enjoyable all the little touches like the welcome hamper (the homemade cake was delicious) and even the birthday card you left was so thoughtful, the pony and the chickens are full of character too! We look forward to coming back here again soon.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review and look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA021
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Everything about Barleywood Shepherds Hut was absolutely fantastic. A stunning location, beautiful interior, amazing welcome pack and lovely friendly welcome. With everything we could want or need provided and we had a great few days stay - even the weather was perfect! Just did not want to leave.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments we very much look forward to hopefully seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violet E
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The hut was absolutely perfect for our stay at the end of July 2016. It is well kitted out for cooking and you could easily stay there for a much longer holiday. It is in a beautiful location; looking out onto the fields with it's own private garden. Lorna and David were kind, helpful hosts and the welcome basket we received was over and above what you would expect. The homemade pieces of cake were delicious too. The little hut is laid out so well and uses space cleverly so we didn't feel cramped at all. We also enjoyed the TV/DVD player whilst laying in bed on a rainy afternoon. I would love to come back to visit again in the future and have already recommended this special place to my family and friends!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and for booking our shepherds hut we look forward to meeting you again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosieb879
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here from 24th - 26th of July when we decided last minute to have a few nights away with no where in mind to go. We found this little gem on trip advisor, booked and arrived within 30 minutes. The owners of the camp site, lorna and David, had it spotless for the time we arrived. The hut couldn't be better presented with the most beautiful attention detail including a huge slab of cake on arrival. The hut was located perfectly for us, with only a short drive to Well and Hunstanton, we had a few lovely days out. It is also cornered off from the rest of their campsite which we loved. The bbq and log burner made for some lovely evenings over looking fields behind us. We can't wait to come back!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you Rosie and Nick for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are welcome back anytime. Thank you also for leaving the Hut so clean and tidy.
Regards Lorna and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.