We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little Pub & B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crotty's Pub B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crotty's Pub B & B
Ranked #2 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cute little Pub & B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in Kilrush at Crotty's Pub/B&B for one night, on our way from Donegal to the Dingle Penninsula. The Pub was nice, the owner friendly. At this point we weren't aware of the custom of going to the bar for a drink, so we sat down and felt like we were being ignored. We did have a small meal, and one of the couples with us ate a full meal later and rated it their favorite of all meals while in Ireland for two weeks. They had some traditional Irish music and while we tried to stay up and enjoy it, we were just too tired.
Traditional Irish music varies quite a bit - we definitely enjoy the banjo/guitar sing along/dance to type music over the accordion/violin stuff. The rooms are upstairs and it's really nice to be able to walk right up to your room after a beverage in the pub. The noise from the pub didn't bother us at all. Kilrush is a fairly small town - we did walk around a bit and went to the gardens (drive or walk there) which were beautiful. Our guys golfed at Doonbeg, and this location was convenient to dropping them off and joining them later for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    53
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
81
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently spent a few days in and around Limerick and on one afternoon we went to Bunratty Castle and went on to Kilrush for a drive and lunch. Not having been in Kilrush before we took a chance and went into Crotty's Bar. Our lunch was amazing, the proprietor was very friendly and helpful in recommend local attractions etc. I will definitely be back again. I bet this would be an amazing place for a few pints and live music in front of the fire on a cold autumn evening. We will be back here soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_Brunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on a 10 day tour of Ireland. It is very easy to find, located on the main square in town. We were early but stopped to check out the place, parking ( on the street), etc and decided to stay for lunch, which was very good, even with a beautiful green salad. The owner was very helpful in finding us information about ferries to the Aran Islands and for directions to the nearby Cliffs of Moher, which we went to that afternoon. We also had dinner in the pub and, again, great food and service. We stayed in a beautifully appointed room on the 3rd floor. Bear in mind that this is an old building and you have to appreciate the beauty and ambience. We had to leave early in the morning and had to miss breakfast but staff were very kind and left out cereal and milk for us to help ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Was on my own and called in on a Friday evening, a bustling bar full of charachter, had a look at the menu and decided to stay for dinner, was not dissappointed. Very friendly and efficient staff. Overall first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

On a recent holiday in Kerry & Clare we stayed 2 nights in Crotty's and it was definitely the best place we stayed...in fact one of the loveliest places we've stayed on any holiday...the staff could not be more friendly with lots of tips for where to travel in the area (thanks to Simon for recommending Loop Head...not to be missed for beautiful cliff views)...our room (no5) was beautifully furnished and large (with two double beds) and with super large shower...great breakfast menu all freshly prepared (the porridge with cream and honey was great!) - we had not planned to eat in Crotty's but after a lovely chowder for lunch on arrival we ate dinner on both nights of our stay and can highly recommend the food...really tasty and great value...overall if you are planning to stay in the area you could not do better than Crotty's...thanks to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing!

Room Tip: Beautiful room 5, sash windows, window boxes in bloom, two double beds, large shower...highly recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were just passing by and thought we'd pop in and see this famous pub for ourselves. We were so glad we did. A great rambling pub with different rooms, we got there for lunch and what a treat it was! Service was Irish perfection, friendly and very efficient. We had a great lazy lunch in the bar area whilst tourists and locals popped in for a pint or two. There was great banter at the bar for a visiting Aussie being educated in the art of Guinness. A wonderful history to this place, and famous for its music of course. If I was anywhere near again, I'd stop here for longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and we think this was one of the best places we stayed on our whole trip. The price cannot be beat and what you get for it is a charming room, great pub, excellent service and central location. The guys helped us up with our luggage, and when we went down to the pub later everyone made us feel very welcome. One of the staff even got us free ice cream at ten pm long after the service was closed. This place has more charm, service and at home feel than the much fancier high priced places we stayed while on our trip. I would go back in a heartbeat and stay longer this time and explore kllrush/kilkee .

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilrush
14.0 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
7.4 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buggle's Bed and Breakfast
26.8 mi away
Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotty's Pub B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotty's Pub B & B

Property: Crotty's Pub B & B
Address: Market Square, Kilrush, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crotty's Pub B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing