We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crotty's Pub B & B
Nearby Hotels
The Bayview(Kilkee)
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Myles Creek(Kilkee)
US$122
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff House Hotel(Ballybunion)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
112
57
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
57
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscampib bnooks and cranniescozy roomclean tidythe ritztraditional musicmarket squarelovely towngood nights sleepstayed here for one nightbreakfast roomcounty claretea coffeefull irishguinnessireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Crotty's during a recent anniversary trip to Ireland, Sept. 2013. The room was lovely, well furnished, but with antique furniture that gave it a warm feel. The staff and owners were very friendly and offered loads of info on any sightseeing or activities we might like to plan in the area. The food at Crotty's was tasty and it seemed a favorite place for local people for both lunch and dinner. Mainly, we just enjoyed the authentic atmosphere and quiet pace of a regular working Irish town. My only wish would have been to be able to hear a bit of Irish music while we were there.

Room Tip: We peeped at several, as we arrived early and all the doors were open. They all seemed nice. Ask for help if you need it, as of course there are stairs to climb with your luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Kevin greeted us upon arrival. We inquired about tha Loop Head Peninsula and he quickly grabbed a map and suggested we take the coastal route. The road runs high above the Irish coast and is quite dramatic (terrifyingly so). We made our way back to Cottys & checked into our room. Large comfortable bed with lots of pillows and a huge bathroom. The pub has lots of nooks and crannies to sit, sip and read the papers. The breakfast room is stunning. We felt like we were eating in a grand estate in the Irish countryside. All in all Crottys felt like home, an Irish home. Great memories.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine1064758, Owner at Crotty's Pub B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

thank you so much you have found ways of describing Crotty's that had escaped me..wishing you the best, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My grandfather was born in Kilrush in 1899 and this was my fourth trip to Co Clare. We stayed two nights at Crotty's to combine golf at Lahinch & Doonbeg with a catch up with my Kilrush relatives. It was my first stay at Crotty's and Kevin was a wonderful host. He was helpful from the moment we arrived passing on a telephone message, making sure that we had assistance to get our luggage up to our room and ensured that we got some dinner that night. Our room was large, clean, comfortable, warm and quiet. The breakfasts at the B & B were terrific and the dinners at the pub were generous and enjoyable. The location was perfect for us to get to and from terrific golf courses. We will definitely stay again. Thanks Kevin & Rebecca.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine1064758, Owner at Crotty's Pub B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

your comments are greatly appreciated and encourage us to keep enjoying the wonderful world of Irish hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. Had a mix up on reservation but it was settled quickly. Owner was friendly and helpful but after initial contact we never saw her again. Rooms were very basic as this is in a historic building with 4 flights of stairs! It was booked as a B&B with pub trad music which they discontinued at the end of Aug. so we were disappointed about that. The town also seems to be rather empty and deserted once summer season is over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine1064758, Owner at Crotty's Pub B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello there,i was delighted we sorted appropriate rooms for you on arrival in addition to which I spent 20 minutes having a chat you on how best to spend your time in our area. i know my husband enjoyed meeting with you and listening to how your day had gone on the 2nd evening of your visit. It is important for us to note that 33 is the total step count to access top floor bedrooms here in Crotty's one can use front or back stairs to get there,
In relation to music all our marketing material clearly states days in July and august to experience a session in Crotty's -your tour company may have misinformed you on this point.
Kilrush is a busy market town by and can feel quiet in the evening, sorry you found the rooms basic we can only let other reviews provide balance on that point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose Crotty's because it was centrally located for the things we wanted to see in Counties Clare and Kerry during our four days in the West. As it turned out, Crotty's was one of the highlights of our trip. The owners, Rebecca and Kevin, set the tone of friendly, efficient service, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. As others have pointed out, they were also invaluable in giving us advice about what to see and where to go. The food was always excellent (try the porridge with cream and honey for breakfast) and the pints were always perfectly poured. Great room, great food, great beer, great hosts... what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie-Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews