We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detox and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thorpe le Soken
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night (4 day) detox programme at the amazing Lifehouse hotel and spa. From the start, people there were lovely and so welcoming. The pool area, sauna and steam rooms are great, though the hydro pool can be very busy so found it best to go early or later in the day. The grounds are beautiful and so relaxing, whilst having plenty of space to go for a walk, jog or run. The gym is small but well furnished with friendly helpful trainers. The restaurant and Spa bar were great, food lovely and the staff so friendly and supportive (especially I was on a detox). However for me the best part is the spa; I was lucky enough to have a number of amazing treatments by lovely therapists, ranging from varying massages, reflexology, 1 to 1 meditation and my personal favourite the Holistic Harmony treatment (combination of energy healing and massage) with Michael and Maria - simply amazing! The detox programme is well put together and I felt fully supported by Sue who went out of her way to ensure I had the best possible time whilst maximising the benefits of the detox. I would definitely recommend this place as an ideal get away from the pressures of everyday and would certainly suggest investing in yourself by attending one of the wellbeing programmes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
There are newer reviews for Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Overall an extremely disappointing experience - After reading the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor I thought I would treat my wife to a night @ LifeHouse Spa - A terrible mistake.

This place needs to smarten up its act if its going to continue to trade !!!!! I am confident the place it getting filled by running online promotions and purely interested in getting people to visit and then extrapolate as much money from them as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DizeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

An unexpected visit to lifehouse my boyfriend and i stayed for 3 nights; As soon as we arrived it was perfect for us. Had such a relaxing and calming atmosphere. The pool and sauna area were lovely (if there were no windows it would have been slightly more relaxing as it was too bright) the salt steam room was to die for!!! Staff were lovely. Breakfast was scrummy. I liked how you could leave your hotel room in your robe and feel comfortable walking to and from the spa area. One down fall was... no air con in the bed rooms and it was boiling hot. Although staff did give us a fan this helped slightly. But it was all they could have done to resolve the situation. Would deffinitely stay here again. Especially as i have stayed at other spa hotels since then and they have not come close to the lifehouse! Wonderful peaceful and relaxing few days.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay. I'll start with the good points; spa located in lovely grounds which was great for a relaxing walk. A good back/shoulder massage. We enjoyed circuit training with Lawrence and the gym is well equipped. We had dinner here the first night which was very good but found the restaurant to be quite dark in the evenings.
The bad points were; we paid an extra £50 to upgrade to a superior room No 25 yet there were no bedside cabinets or chest of drawers to put away your clothes. There was one very small clothes rail to hang clothing so for 3 days we stored our gym kit etc in our holdalls, not ideal and not what you would expect.
First morning at breakfast we noticed hair in the milk pot, this was after we had our coffee. We pointed this out to the waitress who apologised and asked for our room number. We were expecting a follow up call from the restaurant manager or similar but we heard no more. Very unhygienic!
My wife booked the luxury pedicure, it turned out the beautician was unaware of this and gave the standard pedicure. after the treatment this was discussed and my wife was informed the standard price would be put on the room account. When we checked out we were charged for the luxury pedicure which we disputed. Reception tried to contact the spa to clarify to no avail, in the meantime I went and collected the car and drove back to reception. Some 15 minutes later the issue had still not been rectified. The receptionist then walked around to the spa as there was still no answer on their phone and on her return confirmed that we had been overcharged. Needless to say we were not impressed with the check out some 20 odd minutes later and overall we were not satisfied with the stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent Spa hotel tucked out the way in a wonderful location, with good pool and spa facilities.

A good selection of breakfast options in the morning and all good quality ingredients.

I spent a lot of time travelling on the road with work and see it as a sanctuary, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RPG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Second time, first time almost 2 years ago. Change of ownership now. Only one positive - restaurant service improved. Negatives - no bikes anymore, no massage chairs now, price of alcoholic drinks up, awful service on front desk, staff don't care, too many people. Will avoid now as absolute con!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to going on a Norwegian fjords cruise. Spa facilities are good including 18 metre pool, hydrotherapy pool sauna and steam room and a salt inhalation room. These facilities were included in the cost of the stay however there is a big push to up sell prior to arrival via a number of emails to encourage you to purchase expensive treatments.

We had a signature garden room which was very nice, large and minimalist. There is no storage space for clothes but as they encourage you to walk around in robe and slippers during your stay then they would probably see no need for this. The room had a french door leading on to a patio area and gardens. Ideal if the weather is good!!

Breakfast was good with a good choice of full English and continental options.

Food and drink in the bar and restaurant were extremely overpriced however if you are prepared to get out of the hotel and into the village there are very good, very reasonably pubs and restaurants.

The hotel itself is a bit of a mish mash of modern, somewhat clinical buildings and what appears to be the remnants of original buildings that were left over when the main original residence was demolished. It doesn't work for me and feels rather cold. The extensive gardens, including numerous ponds, wildlife and rare plants and trees are beautiful and residents can wonder freely around the gardens.

All in all a good spa hotel with very good spa facilities and attentive staff. For me the overpriced extras and up selling let it down.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe le Soken
9.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
702 reviews
10.8 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
304 reviews
13.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
3.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
586 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifehouse Hotel & Spa

Address: Frinton Road, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thorpe le Soken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thorpe le Soken
Price Range: £124 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lifehouse Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lifehouse Spa & Hotel, located in Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex, is a contemporary lifestyle spa. Only 80 minutes from London by train and set in 130 acres of grounds, Lifehouse Spa & Hotel will help you revitalise and relax in beautiful surroundings. With a selection of day and residential packages to choose from, guests can indulge in a day of pampering, or truly get away from it all with an overnight stay. With 89 bedrooms, 35 treatment rooms, a gym, exercise studio, swimming pool, sauna & steam room, thermal spa area with salt-inhalation room, relaxation area, manicure and pedicure stations,and 12 acres of listed gardens, you can do as much or as little as you like! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lifehouse Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifehouse Country Hotel Thorpe Le Soken
Lifehouse Hotel & Spa Thorpe Le Soken, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing