We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe le Soken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Parking was to the rear of the property which was then accessed through the delightfull rear garden to a warm welcome from Keith. He helpfully carried our heaviest bag to our room on the first floor overlooking the garden. This room was the smaller of the two available. The other, though larger, looks directly onto the busy road. The bathroom is small with a shower, which for someone like me of the more rotund figure, became a battle with the curtain. Only one chair is provided, which means for a couple the bed has to be utilised for seating. The only other minor quibble is seasonal. This room is directly above the kitchen containing a large Aga. The warmth from this can be felt through the floor. In cold weather this must be lovely but in summer it meant having the window wide open allowing the traffic to be heard. The other warning is to try and stop Keith providing you with an English breakfast large enough to feed a regiment. Delicious indeed but for the second day we had to ask for half portions otherwise we wouldn't have got back up the stairs. Overall an extremely warm and helpful stay provided by househusband Keith.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHouseThorpe, Owner at Mill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you for your review,As promised a response.
I am very pleased your enjoyed your stay overall,although the reason for your stay was a sad one.
The absence of a second chair in the room could easily have been rectified if you had asked,
Also there is a fan in the room,for hot summer days,(when we get them).
Breakfast portions,are entirely my fault, I do believe in providing guests with a hearty start to the day.
thank you again for staying with us,Maybe next time will be for a happier occasion.
Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this lovely B&B! Keith the owner is very friendly and really makes you feel welcome. Had a really comfortable bed and the view from my window was of the beautiful garden. Would really recommend this 'hidden gem'.

Room Tip: Personally I love the bedroom at the back of the house with the amazing view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHouseThorpe, Owner at Mill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review,It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back again.
Also it is nice to know all our attention and effort is appreciated.
Thank you.. Keith.(owner, cook, cleaner, head dogsbody.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Keith gave us a very warm welcome on what was a very cold and snowy seek-end. Our room was delightful as well as warm and homely. Breakfast was first class cooked and served by Keith in a very inviting and homely dining-room. Ten out of ten Keith!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissieM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I booked the Mill House B&B for a business trip haveing previously stayed in Clacton-on-Sea and been very disappointed and I must admit was nervous. However this is truely a hidden gem and I was delighted with what I found. It is really easy to find, being directly on the high street, and down a little lane at the back is the parking area. Keith the owner came out to great me and took me straight into the wonderful warm kitchen - which was very welcoming after a 5 hour drive. I stayed in room 2 which was spotlessly clean, and well equiped. It faced over the back garden with a lovely big window. I had a very peaceful sleep and was woken to the cooing of pigeons. The small but very clean bathroom provided a lovely shower and then came a most fantastic full english breakfast - cooked on the aga, in a very pleasently decorated dinning room. Keith is an excellent cook, it was perfect. This really is a little gem and next time I visit my supplier - I shall certainly booking in plenty of time to make sure I get a room.

Room Tip: Room 2 - over looks the garden and is so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have visited this B n B on several occaions and everytime it gets better and better the breakfast mmmmmmmm everything is perfect..Keith was very welcoming and friendly even took me to the Station.. highly recommended thanks x

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you are looking for an excellent B&B at very reasonable rates, then Mill House, Thorpe Le Soken, Essex is to be highly recommended. We have stayed there on numerous occasions while visiting various friends in the area.
Invariably the high standards and warm welcome from Keith the owner remain the same; from the spacious, well appointed rooms of his charming Georgian house, to his excellent Aga cooked breakfasts, which seem to appear effortlessly, served in the lovely dining room. Nothing seems to be too much trouble, either with breakfast requirements, or generally, with Keith offering any help that might be needed.
Mill House is located in Thorpe high street so is easy to find, and has the benefit of private parking at the rear. The B&B is also a great base for exploring the surrounding area, from the immaculate beaches of Frinton, Walton and Clacton to ‘Constable’ country round Dedham and Flatford.

Room Tip: Kieth only has two letting rooms (both ensuite), the room at the back is quieter and cosy, while the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here in August while visiting my boyfriend's family in the village. It is a really lovely B&B, Keith was very welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and it provided a welcome break from a house full of people for a wedding!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandomSnackfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thorpe le Soken hotels
0.5 mi away
Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thorpe le Soken
1,802 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Garden Lodges
The Garden Lodges
#1 of 3 in Thorpe le Soken
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#2 of 2 in Thorpe le Soken
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grange Farm Campsite
Grange Farm Campsite
#2 of 3 in Thorpe le Soken
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Mill House High Street, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thorpe le Soken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe le Soken
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly atmosphere in a large Georgian family house in Thorpe le soken. Close to Colchester, Ipswich and Frinton with lovely beaches,tennis,golf and cricket club. Ideal base to explore the surrounding area which includes constable country and picturesque coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Bed And Breakfast Thorpe Le Soken, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing