We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French holiday ever!!!”
Review of Mas Bellonte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fuilla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Bellonte
Ranked #1 of 1 Fuilla B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best French holiday ever!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've just got back from Mas Bellonte and really can't recommend it highly enough. Our holiday surpassed all our expectations, even after reading all the glowing reviews! From the warmth of our welcome( which included a delicious supper prepared by Lynne ) to the beautiful scenery and splendid isolation, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We spent many sunny afternoons with our toes dipped in the river and the walk along the ridge at the back of the Mas was worth it just for the company of the hundreds of stunning butterflies which fluttered around us along the way. We are already planning our return trip next year !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Don't even think twice. As all the other reviews point out you won't find more welcoming hosts nor a more special location. Perhaps the other reviews didn't emphasize enough what a nice area Fuilla is in - a lot of pretty villages nearby, superb hiking and good day trips to the coast or Andorra. We also had some nice meals (including the one prepared by Lynn and Malcolm on our arrival). The tale of how Lynn and Malcolm renovated Mas Bellonte is worth the visit alone (and it might spur you onto tackling home projects that are currently daunting you).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffinskiclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a very long journey, Lynn and Malcolm made us very welcome and had prepared a lovely meal for us with home grown produce from their garden. All through the holiday, they looked after us, not only with fruit and veg, but also gave advise when we asked about visiting places of interest etc. During our stay, we were lucky enough to be there at the time of the village Festival. We were invited to the Opera at Mas Bellonte. We had a fantastic evening, delicious barbecue and a bar which was serving beer made at the local micro brewery. Our apartment was first class with a beautiful terrace and views, and especially the wildlife. The weather was amazing, 30c + everyday. All in All a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is the first time that we have returned to a holiday destination..... and we were not disappointed!! We had a fabulous holiday last year and didn't think that we could better it - but we did! Lynn and Malcolm are the most friendly of hosts and, once again, made us feel very welcome, ensuring that we got the most out of our holiday. Mas Bellonte is an absolute gem in a really beautiful area of France and the apartment is particularly comfortable and spotlessly clean. Whether you want to visit the surrounding area or just 'chill out' on the patio, in the fabulous gardens, woodland or river at Mas Bellonte you are sure to come home feeling that you have had a really enjoyable relaxing holiday...just as we did!! We will definitely be returning. Thank you again Lynn and Malcolm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackso38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a lovely week at Mas Bellonte, beginning with a fantastic welcome to a specially prepared meal, complete with wine. It really made the difference that we didn't have to worry about finding a place for dinner after a long journey and evening arrival. Lynn and Malcolm were super helpful during our stay, providing us with little extras like walking guides and ice packs to make our holiday as comfortable and easy as possible. We did a lot of driving to the many beautiful local sites, and our only regret is that we didn't spend more time just lazing on the sunloungers on the terrace. Top recommendations - the walk from the house to the Tour de Goa for wonderful views and butterflies; Chateau Peryperteuse (a long-ish drive but well worth it); and the Serrabona Priory with lovely architecture, gardens, and stunning views as far as the Med. The market in nearby Prades is also excellent and really good value. Mas Bellonte is a great place for a peaceful and relaxing stay - book for two weeks so you've time to see the sites and also just relax in the lovely surroundings. Special mention also goes to Kato the cat who is the perfect companion for a riverside walk or al fresco evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My review is going to much like the others on here - glowing! We booked Mas Bellonte after being double booked at another place, and it turned out to be the best thing that could have happened.

We took the train from St Pancras via Paris to Perpignan and then picked up a car at the train station - which we had pre-booked (Avis, although Europe Car also have an office there). The mas was an hours drive and Malcolm provided excellent directions.

As we drove towards Mas Bellonte the views were stunning and once there they are amazing, as we opened the car door all we could hear is the sound of the river, crickets and birds singing. All we could see were mountains and gardens. Lovely.

As others have said Malcolm and Lynne provided homemade quiche and bread along with salad, potatoes, apple juice and other items which was very welcome (and tasted fantastic!) and saved us having to think about finding shops that night. We used the Intermarche in Vernet des Bains for our shopping, which was a 10 minute drive, which seemed to provide most things we needed.

This area of France would be ideal for anyone interested in Flora & Fauna, history, architecture, walking or food and wine - its got something for everything. We had a great time exploring some of the towns nearby - Villefranche and Vernet des Bains, both of which I would recommend and we also went further afield to Colliure on the coast and the Cathar Castle of Peyrepertuse up in the mountains (both just over an hours drive). Probably one of our favourite days was a trip up into the mountains on the 'Little Yellow Train' we went as far as Mont Louis and walked up to the Fort. Once again the views are stunning and from the quite car park area we saw 5 or 6 eagles (I think) circling in the valley - very memorable. All the places we visited were very quiet it sometimes felt like we had the place to ourselves. There were plenty of other things we would have liked to do, but didn't have time, one of which was wine tasting - we passed several signs for vineyards, it would have been nice to have someone that knew a bit more than wine and could speak a little more French than me take us round a couple, would also have been good to have someone else drive so we both could've had a couple!

Anyway, back to the accommodation, although the lounge/bedroom is the same room, this didn't cause any issues and the bed was VERY comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped and the shower was great and everything was very clean. Lynne and Malcolm were very friendly and helpful will go out of their way to make sure their guests had everything they need. All in all perfect! Just don't forget to bring a good book and take advantage of the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery of the Mas Bellonte.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Set among 4 hectars of their own apple orchards and fields the Mas Bellonte couldn't be more idilic or peaceful but it's the hosts that really make this place. Lynne and Malcolm have it down to an art. They are warm and welcoming and more than helpful, always available but never intrusive.

The mas itself is situated in the quiet La Rotja agricultural valley between the villages of Sahorre and Villefranch de Conflent. The apartment is on the ground floor of the mas and is completely self contained. You get three rooms: the living room with a very comfy murphy bed, a fully appointed kitchen complete with everything you need, and the bath room with a power shower and very beautiful if somewhat impractical solid marble tub. The whole place has been tastefully decorated and restored.

When we arrived we were greeted by Lynne, Malcolm and the ever playful Kato (their cat) as well as a quiche, loaf of bread, salad, bottle of apple juice and jam, all homemade all very tasty. They also make sure that you have the basics to get you started such as coffee, tea, milk, water, butter, etc... It was such a gracious welcome that I felt like I was coming home.

We really enjoyed exploring the surrounding area, going to sleep listening to the river and crickets and waking up to the birds and goat bells. It was so peaceful and relaxing. On our last night we were treated to Malcolm's very tasty paella and Lynn's scrumptious tiramisu. It was the icing on the cake for us. Absolutely wonderful.

There are some holidays that you just don't want to leave and this was more than that. We loved our stay there and can't wait to go back.

Thanks again Lynn and Malcolm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuilla
1.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
105 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Chataigneraie
La Chataigneraie
#1 of 2 in Sahorre
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beau-Vallon
Beau-Vallon
#2 of 2 in Sahorre
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Delphina
Villa Delphina
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Bellonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Bellonte

Property: Mas Bellonte
Address: Chemin du Mas Bellonte | Fuilla du Haut, 66820 Fuilla, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Fuilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fuilla
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful granite and rose marble Mas, built by French aviator, Maurice Bellonte. Set in grounds of over 8 acres and nestling in the foothills of the Pyrenees, it is ideally situated for mountain bike and road cycling, walking, sightseeing or just chilling out. A self-contained apartment for two people which is equipped for four should two couples wish to holiday together, incorporating a bedroom and private shower room in the main house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing