We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentically French - Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cheval Noir
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentically French - Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here with friends on a motorcycling tour. What a great place to stay after a long day's riding! Staff very welcoming & helpfull. Room very well appointed in a traditional style & very comfortable. Evening meal in the courtyard was superb. Great food, wine & beer. Definately worth staying here if you are in this part of France.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    53
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
17
69
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We happened upon the hotel quite by chance and were absolutely delighted by the quality of the room -it appeared to have been recently renovated.The evening meal was an absolute delight-creative food and a young and attentive wait staff,One of the pleasant surprises of our month long meander through France.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank film43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

First impressions are not bad: a pleasant old hotel with a pretty courtyard in which meals are served if the weather is fine. However, the entrance foyer is no more than a passage, bang next to the kitchens, and as other reviewers have said, the upstairs passages are ill-lit and tired. The bedroom was small and just about adequate( and at Euros 62, not expensive). The dinner was actually not bad at all and we were lucky to be able to eat outside, because the dining room is drab and institutional. However, what really made us vow not to return was the attitude of the owner, who not only spent much of the time bawling at his staff, but didn't seem to hold his customers in much higher esteem either! Basil Fawlty eat your heart out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruxton_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Pyrenees. The hotel is in a charming little town not too far off the motorway. It's a beautiful old building with its own courtyard, lots of shutters and ivy and the like.

We had a slightly gruff welcome from the owner/chef/maitre d, and were shown to our room which was not unpleasant, but very small and with little natural light. It had a few nice touches but it was difficult to spend much time in there and there was nowhere to sit apart from the bed.

Lovely bathroom, clean and modern.

We had an amazing meal in the courtyard (it was very busy and I'd booked at the same time as booking the room, so I recommend you do the same), which was a really nice start to the holiday.

Breakfast was good, usual continental fare, fresh bread and pastries with coffee, juice, ham, cheese and so on.

Overall, ideal for an overnight stop, great food, bit of a shame that the room was so small and dark.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislondon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I booked this hotel with trepidation but was also pleasantly surprised. OK the bedrooms and hallways were small & a tad dingy but what do you expect for the price-in France! The room and bathroom facilities were sufficient for our overnight stay-far better than a featureless motorway motel. The evening meal was fine, staff friendly and it was very pleasant sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine. Not a big choice at breakfast but everything was fresh. Don't bother with the hotel parking-its a couple of streets away-as mentioned here there is a large car park opposite!!! The town is pleasant enough for a stroll round after a long days drive too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

I read the February review after we'd booked and was a bit concerned but as it was for just one night we decided that location was everything and kept the booking. Thank goodness we did! The room was clean and comfortable, the surroundings charming and the dinner in the old courtyard the best possible start we could have had to our holiday. We were able to wander into town to the evening market before dinner and walk back to the old bridge to watch the last of the sunset after coffee - the car stayed safely parked nearby (we forgot to book a parking space and when we got there it seemed unnecessary with parking just over the road!. No photos as the digital camera gave up the ghost - there is however a very friendly photographer's shop just opposite...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lokoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stay in different Logis hotels about six times a year and this is definately one we would return to. Like most family run Logis the room was not luxurious but had all we required and was clean, the bed was comfortable. One of the best showers we've had in a logis.
It was a hot evening so we had dinner in the courtyard. The restaurant was busy but the service was still attentive and the food was excellent as was the wine (at a reasonable price).
Breakfast was excellent value for money.
Staff on check in and out were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. Basically we couldn't fault this hotel.
The town of Argenton sur Creuse is certainly well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton-sur-Creuse
0.2 mi away
Manor de Boisvilliers
Manor de Boisvilliers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Promenade
La Promenade
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaultier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pouligny-Notre-Dame
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Noir

Property: Le Cheval Noir
Address: 27 rue Auclert Descottes, 36200, Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Cheval Noir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Cheval Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Noir Argenton-Sur-Creuse, France - Berry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing