We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware narrow double beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cheval Noir
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware narrow double beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

An attractive building, friendly staff, and excellent food. But our recently refurbished bedroom had one major defect. The double bed was very narrow - I would guess 120cm or even less - much narrower than the fancy new headboard! I would advise twin beds after a long day's driving.

Room Tip: Avoid the narrow double bed in Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maisiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    53
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
17
69
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

There are not many good places to stay on our regular long drives from the car ferry to the Pyrenees and this is our favourite, It is an old coaching in with rooms in a U-shape around a central courtyard where one can eat out in the evenings in summer. There are limitations as others have noted (disconcerting entrance, narrow gloomy corridors, rather small rooms, high-ish prices) but we like it: the rooms have been smartened up, with crisp.bright bathrooms, the staff are friendly and the food is very good. Best of all it is in the centre of a lovely little town with great 'artisan' food shops, beautiful old houses and a lovely riverside walk, so one can refresh one's spirit very easily. If you have time there is also a textile museum very close and a Roman site a short drive away. There is a private car park close by but we usually just park in the free public one across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here as a stop over from the motorway. It was okay but not worth the 65 euros last minute walk in price.

Looks quite appealing from the outside and better than it is on the inside. Inside the corridors are very dark and long which reminded me of corridors from The Shining. No natural light. Room was okay, clean, bed was okay but very flat cushion pillows on the bed. Not good if you like big fluffy pillows / 2 pillows. No spares in the room. Bathroom okay but could do with a refurb.

To be honest, next time I stop I will probably go back to a decent chain - Etap, Ibis, Campanile - as for the price we paid it left me a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Pyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here last week at the start of a cycling tour of Limousin. All the rooms are very thoughtfully decorated, sometimes on a theme. Our room was really lovely, with folk-art decorations, a huge shower and lots of hot water in a very nicely decorated bathroom, all tiles and pebbles. The room looked out over the courtyard and you could hear some road noise, but at night, with the high walls and the gate shut, it wasn't intrusive. When we arrived, we were met by the owner, who was really helpful finding us a safe place to store the bikes. He was in the middle of prepping the dinner in the open sided kitchen, and it looked good so we decided to eat there. An excellent choice, as it turned out. Exceptionally good food for the price. Breakfast was also good, generous and varied with bread, cold meats, eggs, pastries and jam, the only disappointment being machine coffee.

Room Tip: The rooms are generally on the small side, but the ones opposite the gate seem to be a little larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a 3 star hotel with character, rooms are basic but for a faimlu stopover with 2 adults and 2 children with breakfast for less than 100 € it was perfect. The restaurants in the square are a bit ropey and would eat in house. We didn't but food was 22€ for adults, so higher end.. But what you save in the room you can spend on the food.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttoynbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here with friends on a motorcycling tour. What a great place to stay after a long day's riding! Staff very welcoming & helpfull. Room very well appointed in a traditional style & very comfortable. Evening meal in the courtyard was superb. Great food, wine & beer. Definately worth staying here if you are in this part of France.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We happened upon the hotel quite by chance and were absolutely delighted by the quality of the room -it appeared to have been recently renovated.The evening meal was an absolute delight-creative food and a young and attentive wait staff,One of the pleasant surprises of our month long meander through France.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank film43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton-sur-Creuse
0.2 mi away
Manor de Boisvilliers
Manor de Boisvilliers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Promenade
La Promenade
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaultier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pouligny-Notre-Dame
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Noir

Property: Le Cheval Noir
Address: 27 rue Auclert Descottes, 36200, Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Cheval Noir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Cheval Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Noir Argenton-Sur-Creuse, France - Berry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing