We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, depressing dining roon, adequate bedroom, apallingly rude owner”
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cheval Noir
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food, depressing dining roon, adequate bedroom, apallingly rude owner”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

First impressions are not bad: a pleasant old hotel with a pretty courtyard in which meals are served if the weather is fine. However, the entrance foyer is no more than a passage, bang next to the kitchens, and as other reviewers have said, the upstairs passages are ill-lit and tired. The bedroom was small and just about adequate( and at Euros 62, not expensive). The dinner was actually not bad at all and we were lucky to be able to eat outside, because the dining room is drab and institutional. However, what really made us vow not to return was the attitude of the owner, who not only spent much of the time bawling at his staff, but didn't seem to hold his customers in much higher esteem either! Basil Fawlty eat your heart out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruxton_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    57
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
21
72
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Pyrenees. The hotel is in a charming little town not too far off the motorway. It's a beautiful old building with its own courtyard, lots of shutters and ivy and the like.

We had a slightly gruff welcome from the owner/chef/maitre d, and were shown to our room which was not unpleasant, but very small and with little natural light. It had a few nice touches but it was difficult to spend much time in there and there was nowhere to sit apart from the bed.

Lovely bathroom, clean and modern.

We had an amazing meal in the courtyard (it was very busy and I'd booked at the same time as booking the room, so I recommend you do the same), which was a really nice start to the holiday.

Breakfast was good, usual continental fare, fresh bread and pastries with coffee, juice, ham, cheese and so on.

Overall, ideal for an overnight stop, great food, bit of a shame that the room was so small and dark.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislondon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I booked this hotel with trepidation but was also pleasantly surprised. OK the bedrooms and hallways were small & a tad dingy but what do you expect for the price-in France! The room and bathroom facilities were sufficient for our overnight stay-far better than a featureless motorway motel. The evening meal was fine, staff friendly and it was very pleasant sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine. Not a big choice at breakfast but everything was fresh. Don't bother with the hotel parking-its a couple of streets away-as mentioned here there is a large car park opposite!!! The town is pleasant enough for a stroll round after a long days drive too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I read the February review after we'd booked and was a bit concerned but as it was for just one night we decided that location was everything and kept the booking. Thank goodness we did! The room was clean and comfortable, the surroundings charming and the dinner in the old courtyard the best possible start we could have had to our holiday. We were able to wander into town to the evening market before dinner and walk back to the old bridge to watch the last of the sunset after coffee - the car stayed safely parked nearby (we forgot to book a parking space and when we got there it seemed unnecessary with parking just over the road!. No photos as the digital camera gave up the ghost - there is however a very friendly photographer's shop just opposite...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lokoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stay in different Logis hotels about six times a year and this is definately one we would return to. Like most family run Logis the room was not luxurious but had all we required and was clean, the bed was comfortable. One of the best showers we've had in a logis.
It was a hot evening so we had dinner in the courtyard. The restaurant was busy but the service was still attentive and the food was excellent as was the wine (at a reasonable price).
Breakfast was excellent value for money.
Staff on check in and out were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. Basically we couldn't fault this hotel.
The town of Argenton sur Creuse is certainly well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We booked two rooms for a night at Le Cheval Noir as it is in the 2009 Logis guide to Hotels & Restaurants in France. As it is given two 'chimneys' (out of three) it is supposed to offer 'a high level of facilities and comfort'. The food has 'Table Distinguee' symbol, meaning that it is in the top of the four categories.

However, the hotel itself has the air of a rooming house with cheap and old decor and furnishings - all now very shabby and ill-maintained. The lights in the public areas are on timer switches, with a tendancy to turn off when you are trying to get into the room. The rooms themselves are small with a tiny corridor-style bathroom - if one person is using the sink the other cannot even get to the toilet! The paper in the room was peeling and the paintwork was very battered and scuffed. It was clear that no decoration or maintenance had taken place in the last few years. Although the bedlinen was clean and of good quality, the bedspread was stained and tatty. The bedside 'tables' consisted of small pieces of plywood screwed to the walls. One of the lights wasn't working and the only chair was a metal garden chair. The rooms had not been properly cleaned or vacuumed. There was mould around the tiles in the shower cubicle.

The bathroom had no toilet roll holder or towel rail. The shower cubicle was fitted with an old plastic tray, surrounded by chipped and cracked tiles. The plastic shower was of the handheld type. The only amenities provided were a cheap sachet of shampoo and a tiny, plastic-wrapped soap.

On arrival, a woman appeared to check us in from the bar in which several people were illegally smoking. Presumably this was why there was a can of 'anti-tobacco' spray on the reception table the next morning. Despite the listing giving a half-board price this turned out to only be available on bookings of 3 or more nights. Also, the advertised wi-fi didn't exist (and apparently never had). The secure parking turned out to be in a field in the next street and it wasn't so secure as, despite being locked with a key, one could still push the gates open!

As for the food - well, it was a mystery to us as to why Le Cheval Noir has the Table Distinguee rating. The dining room had nothing special to recommend it and the napkins were paper, not linen. One of the starters we ordered was missing an ingredient, the Jambon Cru. Two of us had the Assiette Gourmand, which should have been pate and cheese - however, the cheese had been substituted with another slice of pate! The waiter didn't bother to mention that the starters weren't going to be served as described on the menu. The main courses were adequate, but nothing special and the desserts were very poor. Ironically, we had previously eaten at another Logis (Le Tournedos at the Hotel Le Tassigny in Lezignan Corbieres) the week before and which only had the lowest food rating and the meal there was superior in every way to Le Cheval Noir.

The next morning, we were kept waiting for 20 minutes to check out and the proprietor who eventually appeared was most unfriendly. Things got worse as he charged us 65 euros for each room, when we had been quoted 55 euros by the Central Reservation Centre. He said that the extra was the commission he had to pay Logis for taking the booking on his behalf.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton-sur-Creuse
0.2 mi away
Manor de Boisvillers
Manor de Boisvillers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Promenade
La Promenade
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaultier
21 reviews
21.8 mi away
L'Hermitage
L'Hermitage
#1 of 2 in Buzancais
125 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
#2 of 12 in Chateauroux
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Noir

Property: Le Cheval Noir
Address: 27 rue Auclert Descottes, 36200, Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Cheval Noir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Cheval Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Noir Argenton-Sur-Creuse, France - Berry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing