We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great welcome”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you like a place providing warm friendly informal accomodation then Berrychone is for you. Jonothon and Claudette are a charming couple who do everything they can to make you a welcome guest in their home. Very close to the motorway making this an ideal choice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My stay was on business and the location is second to none just off Junction 19 of the A20.
The room was very good in both size and cleanliness and the food just like home. The hosts could not do enough for you.
I work in the hospitality industry for 30 years and I highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Just keep doing what you are doing everything is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very nice and friendly owners who will help where they can.
Nice garden for the kids to play in after a long journey.
Very close tot the highway so perfect for a night during traveling!
Thank you very much for the comfortable night with you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stopped over here on our way south and had a great stay. We got a very warm welcome from our hosts Claudette and Jonathon who made us feel very much at home (even made us a cup of "builder's tea"). It is in a very quiet location but only a mile or so from the motorway so is a great place for a stopover. We had a comfortable room, lovely clean bathroom and a great dinner with our hosts. I don't understand people who gripe about eating with their hosts, that is the whole point of a B&B and if you don't want to do this, stay in a hotel and just talk to each other! Jonathon and Claudette are a lovely couple who have worked very hard to make their B&B a success. We were even offered free wifi and telephone calls to the UK, something that smart hotels don't offer! I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, either for a stopover or to explore the area, as Argenton sur Creuse is nearby. We will certainly visit again and look forward to hearing some more of Jonathon's jokes!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fisiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Berrychone is a very easy place to find, not too far from the A20 and close to the beautiful historic city of Argenton sur Creuse. The interior is cozy but functional and breathes the atmosphere of this old building, while the rooms are very tidy and good. Most of all, I would like to recommend this Chambres d'Hotes because of their hosts: Claudette and Jonathon (both speak French as all as English). They are very friendly, they give you immediately the feeling that you' re at home. Their breakfast is great, with only home grown or locally bought products.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 831Herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent a delightful evening/night at this guest house. Claudette and Jonathan do all their best to make you feel at home, and they succeed. All was more than perfect,meal,bedroom,a luxurious bathroom,cosy atmosphere,humour and good spirits,and the two lovely kittens,that make you feel so happy.Thank you, we'll come back.

Room Tip: we had "lac Chambon",perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie-noelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Berrychone. Jonathan and Claudette were very welcoming. Our first evening, a couple from Belgium joined us for dinner, so we had the enjoyable experience of visiting with these guests as well as with our hosts. We had dinner both nights during our stay and the food was delicious. We enjoyed an aperitif, soup, main course, cheese selection, dessert, and of course accompanying wine. Jonathan and Claudette went out of their way to make us feel at home and we left feeling like we had two new friends. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. The stairs, original to the house, that have been mentioned in other reviews we felt contributed to the wonderful character of the old home. We had fun exploring several beautiful nearby villages. Cindy and Doug, Seattle

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton-sur-Creuse
1.6 mi away
Manor de Boisvillers
Manor de Boisvillers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cheval Noir
Le Cheval Noir
#1 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
57 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Promenade
La Promenade
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaultier
21 reviews
4.7 mi away
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
#1 of 2 in Gargilesse-Dampierre
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes

Property: Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Address: 4 Le Petit Vavre, 36270, Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berrychone is an established Chambres d'Hôtes/B&B, an old farmhouse built on the edge of Le Petit Vavre, a small hamlet of just twelve houses. Berrychone was originally the mairie of Le Petit Vavre over three hundred years ago. Indeed, when we were renovating the living-room, under several layers of wallpaper some as thin as cigarette paper, we found an old notice of a modification of a by-law dated 1816! Over the years it became a family farm and then was divided into two houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berrychone Chambres D'Hotes Argenton-Sur-Creuse, France - Berry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing