We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B, where solitude is sublime”
Review of Manor Farm Cottage

Manor Farm Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor Farm Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Chinnor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B, where solitude is sublime”
Reviewed 12 December 2010

It is often difficult to dislodge the chocolate box and chintz cliches that come to mind when contemplating the Chilterns. The exquisite picture-perfect hamlet of Henton, near Chinnor, home to Manor Farm Cottage, does little to dispel this notion.

A stay at this 400 year old Grade II listed family home is an experience to behold and
it has been our good fortune to become regulars since 2004. From the very moment of your arrival you will be treated rather more like "old friends" than new guests ... a very rare
quality in B&B's today. Proprietors Trevor and Jean Dixon are exceptional hosts, but then of course, this is their home. All of the guests are drawn to Manor Farm Cottage by the warmth of their hospitality and welcome and their attentive, yet unobtrusive service.

Antiques, exposed beams, roaring log fires and traditional English furnishings lend character, comfort and charm in winter, whilst the perfectly manicured garden offers a secluded, delightful and relaxing settting in the summer months, where Red Kites soar effortlessly in the thermals above.

The bedrooms are stylish with beautiful fabrics, pristine linen, bowls of fresh fruit, tea and coffee making facilities and a plethora of other treats. With bathrooms filled with lashings of toiletries, soft robes and piles of oh-so-fluffy towels, you may never want to leave.

Their ambrosial breakfasts are served in the blissfully peaceful dining room and will send you on a voyage to gastronomic nirvana. The menu is extensive, cooked to perfection and served with a smile. Should you decide to whimsy away your time here it will not be wasted and Manor Farm Cottage will be embedded in your soul.

Peter & Rosemary Holthusen

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holthusen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe Tasmania Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We travel to the UK every 3 years for extended stays always using B&B's. This was probably the best we have ever stayed in. Our hosts were helpful and gave us some great tips on where to go and what to see. The room was superb the breakfast was magnificent and the location was perfect. The nearby Peacock pub had terrific meals with great service. All in all a perfect place to stay, we will definitely be back.
Chris & Helen West
Latrobe, Tasmania, Australia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We found this B&B to be exactly what we needed for a short break. Thoroughly recommend the delicious breafast and very comfortable rooms. The charming hosts made us very welcome. Would certainly stay there again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgemollytinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I can't fault our night at this B&B. It was very comfortable and quiet, and we had every comfort. Our hosts were delightful and we had a superb breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flt159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

A warm welcome, even though I arrived early.

Shown my room room; light, airy and not only comfortable, but the extras touches made such a difference.

Henton is a real find; a quiet hamlet, with a pub/ restaurant, and if you like a walk, some great gentle walks. Far enough away from the M40 to be countryside, close enough to be easy to get to.

The breakfast was something else; great coffee, nothing too much trouble and cracking sausages.

What did I enjoy most? The welcome and location. Least? leaving.

The wireless was a real bonus.

Thanks for a brill time.

See you again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiejones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnor
0.2 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
218 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,678 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
605 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
72 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm Cottage

Property: Manor Farm Cottage
Address: Henton, Chinnor OX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chinnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnor
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing