We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great local Indian restaurant”

Chinnor Indian Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Chinnor
Price range: US$13 - US$46
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: It is our aim to provide you with exemplary service in an atmospheric plush surrounding that is ambient and naturally relaxing.We pride ourselves on offering authentic indian dishes,using only the finest and freshest ingredients,with special on seasonal fish and game.We would like to make your meal as enjoyable and memorable as possible..................
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Really great local Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

...not local to me, but local to my dad, who took us for a meal here when visiting.

The Indian restaurants in my local town (which shall remain nameless) have gone downhill over the past year or two - along with the prices. They're competing on price, but by doing so they've cut back on the meat included, and the sauces are runny and tasteless.

Not the case at the Chinnor Indian restaurant! Pricing is fair, and the portion sizes are good. We didn't have starters, but between us had chicken korma, madras and korai, and a lamb madras. All very tasty. The aloo gobi tasted freshly cooked (you can always tell with cauliflower...) and the naan breads were beautiful and fluffy.

Service was efficient and friendly. When my (teenage) kids playfully kicked up a fuss over the chocolates provided at the end of the meal, some extras magically appeared. It's a tiny gesture, but we came away very happy indeed...

Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good evening”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We came for dinner here last Saturday evening with a couple of friends.The service and food were very good, and very reasonably priced, we will certainly return.

Helpful?
9 Thank Cairnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tried, trusted, clean and highly rated.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Look at the food standards agency website it's rare for an Indian to get a 5 (top) rating, so not only tasty but safe. Food is exellent, service great and we always get a friendly welcome. We took relatives for a new year here and it was one of the best. I occasionally bump into staff around the village and they always smile and speak, although maybe it's just my happy personality rubbing off.
As for the lighting mentioned in another review, it's now been done up and looks great. The new look makes the restaurant look far more spacious and appealing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have enjoyed many wonderful meals here. Food is always excellent and staff are friendly and helpful. Always my first choice restaurant for a meal out in Chinnor. If you have not been, you really should give it a try!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank cdh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food & good service”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a wonderful meal here, beautifully coocked and presented. Fantastic food , exellent staff ,good atmosphere. We had a fantastic meal .would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank 696murad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinnor Indian Cuisine also viewed

Chinnor, Oxfordshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Chinnor Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing