We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous, gentle fun”

Chinnor & Princes Risborough Railway
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Chinnor
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tremendous, gentle fun”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beautiful locos and carriages, enthusiastic volunteers, a steam train ride along the Chiltern ridge, tea and sandwiches (and beer!) for sale - you can even take your dogs for a ride!

A very gentle, fun afternoon's outing.


Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    32
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've been on the railway twice with Groupon. The first time was horrendous as we were stuck in a carriage of badly behaved children who screamed, shouted and jumped all over the seats for the entire journey. To avoid this I booked a table in the cream tea carriage for our second visit. The tea was very nice and we had a very pleasant journey. On the downside we found some of the staff to be a bit 'jobsworth' apart from the lovely ladies who served the tea. Also its a very short journey and you can't get off the train at Risborough. I have been on other steam railways and wouldn't say thats it worth travelling too far out of your way to experience the Chinnor railway

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tizzieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday 5th October "Haversham's Birthday"”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Arriving by train at Princes Risborough at 1155 I anticipated a "Vintage" Bus at 1225 to take me forward to Chinnor intending to return on a subsequent bus journey. However after purchasing tickets I found that there was no bus and the next departure 1332 Risboro' - Chinnor rail shuttle was due to return almost immediately on arrival at Chinnor (1405). Due to failure of the vintage bus and lack of a replacement vehicle (of any vintage) it was therefore impossible to visit the railway.
Whilst I appreciate the railway was on a steep learning curve in organizing this event I would
put forward the following observations.

1/ That the C&PR Rly staff (approx 6) seemed a bit slow to appreciate that the bus service was in fact not running - first trip was scheduled for 1005 - about 2 hours earlier) and whilst everyone concerned was obviously very apologetic - no real thought had been given was given as to how to manage any alternative arrangements. I appreciate that until now the C&PR has operated on an "out and back" principle from Chinnor and those staff on duty had little or now experience in dealing with a passenger wanting to to make a journey from one station to another.

2/ Having advertised these buses on the railway web page there is a duty by C&PR Management to ensure that as far as practicable there is some kind of "backup". Other heritage railways often have have additional vehicles offering a "scenic trips" or similar - which of course can be utilized.

I would like these comments to be seen as constructive. I have rated the attraction as "average" on the basis that my comments will be seen and acted on and to encourage the volunteers of the railway to remain positive and welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 426Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon. We booked in advance to ensure we got a place on the dining coach. The station has been carefully renovated and enables you to step back in history. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The scones were moist and tasty and we had some clotted cream and jam. There was plenty of tea, with extra if you want it. The downside was that they were not running a steam train; also it doesn't travel very far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Proper Job!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

What can I say? It's a stem railway with a delightful location, good value and fun for everyone
Step back in time and have a pleasant morning or afternoon here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinnor & Princes Risborough Railway also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Chinnor & Princes Risborough Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing