We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pub”

The Woolpack Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Brookland
Price range: £6 - £20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Woolpack, dating from 1410, retains many of its original features such as wattle-and-daub walls and a low, beamed ceiling. Its name comes from its popularity with `owlers'- wool smugglers- who used the inn as a base for their lucrative trade. The Woolpack is so perfectly old-fashioned that very little had to be altered when, in 1947, scenes from `The Loves of Joanna Godden' were filmed there. Located in great walking country, the Woolpack is a perfect place to stop and satisfy the thirst and appetite during a day out in the country. Excellent traditional pub food is served with all fish and game are locally sourced and the delicious mature British beef steaks are always prepared to the individual customer's taste. The pub has two large beer gardens with neat lawns, shrubs, hanging baskets, picnic benches and a barbecue area. We are a family run pub and extend a warm welcome to all who come. 'No reservation no problem' At the Woolpack we do not take bookings or resevations, however we have plenty of tables including large tables for big parties. Whether you live near or are just passing by we aim to provide and excellent dining and drinking experience for customers. We do however take bookings for Christmas for individuals, couple or big parties as we have a set menu.
Reviewed 18 March 2023

Woolpack has become my local pub to go somewhere to have an outstanding lunch or dinner. The food is so lovely and fresh very reasonably priced and nice big portions. The staff are always friendly and lovely. Can not fault this place.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Y1539PYkarenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2023

Had an excellent Sunday lunch. Charming old pub, with log fire. Very well cooked and well presented roast dinner. Plenty of roast ham/gammon, we counted 5 or 6 veggies, roast pot's and a big Yorkshire. Excellent Shepherd Neame Spitfire on draft.

My daughter had the kids Scampi and left a clean plate (very rare for her!)

Had only visited once before for a regular weekday lunch, that was very good too - (btw) I'm a British expat returning on family visit, rather than an American tourist. Will def want to return on my next visit back to UK.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

Plenty of other better establishments nearby to go to where the service and food is so much better. Staff interaction here is terrible with lack of customer care skills at the most basic level

Date of visit: December 2022
2  Thank ianandclairewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2022 via mobile

Have been coming here for years, never had a bad meal. Great traditional pub grub, a lot of which is homemade. Can't believe some of the reviews are genuine stating microwave food as it definitely isn't! Good portion sizes and lovely food, we will be back. Lovely roast dinners.

Date of visit: November 2022
1  Thank V8732VHsamanthag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

We passed the woolpack inn on our way to Rye,with our intention of eating in one of the pubs there ,However the town was very busy ,almost claustrophobic & full of cyclists who were dressed as though they were competing in le tour de France!...We decided to give Rye a miss & go back to that pub we saw The woolpack inn.
Dog friendly, a great pint (3 actually) & exceptional ham egg and chips (large amounts of all 3)
Watch out for the low door frames though !!

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank W2833QSrayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Mary in the Marsh, Kent
 

Been to The Woolpack Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.