We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch”

The Woolpack Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Brookland
Price range: £6 - £20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Woolpack, dating from 1410, retains many of its original features such as wattle-and-daub walls and a low, beamed ceiling. Its name comes from its popularity with `owlers'- wool smugglers- who used the inn as a base for their lucrative trade. The Woolpack is so perfectly old-fashioned that very little had to be altered when, in 1947, scenes from `The Loves of Joanna Godden' were filmed there. Located in great walking country, the Woolpack is a perfect place to stop and satisfy the thirst and appetite during a day out in the country. Excellent traditional pub food is served with all fish and game are locally sourced and the delicious mature British beef steaks are always prepared to the individual customer's taste. The pub has two large beer gardens with neat lawns, shrubs, hanging baskets, picnic benches and a barbecue area. We are a family run pub and extend a warm welcome to all who come. 'No reservation no problem' At the Woolpack we do not take bookings or resevations, however we have plenty of tables including large tables for big parties. Whether you live near or are just passing by we aim to provide and excellent dining and drinking experience for customers. We do however take bookings for Christmas for individuals, couple or big parties as we have a set menu.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Very friendly warm welcome,we both had the homemade beef cobbler with veg and it was amazing,proper pub grub with other homemade meals available

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2023

I've always loved this pub, first went aged 1 with parents, though can't remember it. Been many times but this was the first for 10 years and it didn't disappoint. It's a gorgeous 600 year old building set in the Romney Marshes of Kent, with low beams, roaring fires and more homely for it. We had lunch, starter of fresh devilled whitebait, so good, my 8 year old son simply demolished his plate and came for mine. Local Lamb shank, slow cooked the meat fell off the bone, beg and mash of highest quality. The Chicken and Leak pie was, according to my wife, wonderful, and full of flavour. Stocking the full range of Shepherd Neame beers, local too, being a SN pub I guess that's obvious, but really good beers none the less. Very well priced for the quality and the service. It won't be 10 years till we go again.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kopit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023

Just happened upon this pub whilst on holiday and on the way back from Rye on A259. So glad we stopped, lovely welcome by staff and locals, amazing food, belly busting portions. Will return again before going home.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fionamH715RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2023

We were driving home from a day out and needed to find somewhere for dinner. Google suggested the Woolpack so we went there. Thank goodness for Google. The welcome was warm, and the food excellent. We had the haddock and chips special and the Prawn Marie Rose salad. Having not eaten for most of the day we were ravenous and devoured them. The salad was fabulous with lots of lovely things included. The only issue for me was the coleslaw that had a bit too much mayo, but that is a personal thing. The fish and chips were bang on.
We don't often drive that way home, but now have more of a reason for doing so.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

My Son and two Grandchildren came across the Woolpack Inn purely by chance .... It dates back to 1410 AD and has kept its charm in every sense of the meaning .. The staff were helpful and attentive...... We enjoyed our meal which were classic pub Cuisine .. Large, tasty portions and served with a smile... However, if you want a typical Sunday Roast we learnt that you need to be sat by mid day.. As it sells out very quickly..

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KenFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Mary in the Marsh, Kent
 

Been to The Woolpack Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.