We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 3 Brookland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked for 1 night as a stop-over on the way back from France before the drive home next day.
On arrival around 7pm after a long day driving my wife tried to have a bath and I went for the shower but there was no hot water to our room (it was partially fixed later that evening but a bit to late), we then had dinner but this was not up to standard and had to send back 1 fillet steak meal which was overcooked. We had some drinks at the bar after but were very over charged on the bill (which did not look at properly until arrival at home and were glad to get out of).
In the morning my wife tried to have a bath bath but although there was some warm water it was not enough to have a proper bath and looking around it was not as clean as last time.
We would not go there again and feel we would NOT recommend the Royal Oak.

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

The first thing you notice when you walk in the door, is the friendly greeting and the warm environment that make up The Royal Oak. The rooms are clean and well decorated and the view of the surrounding countryside is very nice. If you get the chance, take in the Wednesday Evening Spit Roast Night, but make sure to make reservations!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therogersfamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were guests at The Royal Oak, staying 2 nights in the Burmarsh Room. My wife and I could not fault any aspect of our stay. It was the perfect countryside retreat and one of Kent's best kept secrets.

Owners David Rice-Jones and glamourous wife Savannah were wonderful fun hosts and made us feel extremely welcomed; nothing was too much trouble!! Our room and private bathroom were immaculately clean and we find it very hard to believe that the other rooms were not of the same exacting standard!

We dined in the restaurant on our second evening with us each having the fillet steak, one medium and one rare and both perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, making for a great last night.

We also encountered the very small water issue previously mentioned, however the staff were hugely appologetic and was swiftly rectified with no reoccurence.

I can only reiterate the other positive comments noted by others and we look forward to our return in October.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had stayed at the Royal Oak last year for 2 nights and found it to be as good as the reviews posted, however we booked for 1 night as a stop-over on the way back from France before the drive home next day.
On arrival around 7pm after a long day driving my wife tried to have a bath and I went for the shower but there was no hot water to our room (it was partially fixed later that evening but a bit late), we then had dinner but this was not up to standardand had to send back 1 fillet steak meal which was overcooked. We had some drinks at the bar after but were very over charged on the bill which did not look at properly until arrival at home.
In the morning my wife tried to have a bath bath but although there was some warm water it was not enough to have a proper bath and looking around it was not as clean as last time.
We would not go there again and feel we would NOT recommend the Royal Oak.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Earlier this week stayed overnight at this charming country pub, and loved every minute of it. Stayed in the 'Fairfield' suite and this was luxurious and spotlessly clean with a double aspect outlook across ponies in the paddocks, bathroom was spacious and ultra modern. In the restaurant the log fire was most welcome as snow was on the ground, and we chose from the 'specials' menu; with difficulty as all looked good; starters and mains were served piping hot and were delicious; and brought at just the right speed for a relaxing meal. Breakfast was of the highest standard, and could not be bettered. Thoroughly recommend this family-run pub; it is everything you could hope for in an english pub; even the Harveys was at just the right temperature !

Room Tip: The Fairfield is best if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal Oak in Brookland, Kent, last night and were welcomed by friendly staff, a lovely room, delicious food, and a really well organised establishment. On arrival, staff warned us that a couple of other larger groups were going to be eating in the restaurant at the same time as us that evening. However, this didn't effect our experience at all. We were served quickly, and the staff were attentive. The portion sizes were generous, and the quality of the food was excellent. We stayed in the Romney suite, which was extremely spacious (a nice sized living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom), and when I needed assistance to put the heating up, the friendly and approachable host came and helped me straight away. I would thoroughly recommend The Royal Oak to any other couples wanting a relaxing break from things.

Room Tip: The Romney Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed two nights at the Royal Oak last weekend and was impressed.Charming room with some nice features and very comfy beds.Looked out over the front of the pub to see horses in the paddock and chickens running around in the morning.Breakfast could not be faulted and had two evening meals which were good the only complaint being the our table was slow to be cleared on both evenings.On the whole a very nice weekend in a lovely part of the world.....Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappingraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookland
5.4 mi away
The George in Rye
4.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,383 reviews
4.9 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Playden Oasts Inn
Playden Oasts Inn
#2 of 5 in Playden
260 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: High Street, Brookland TN29 9QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Brookland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brookland
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16th century country pub with accommodation and restaurant serving well cooked local & seasonal produce 7 days a week we pride ourselves on being the social hub of the village and creating a welcoming casual & relaxing atmospere . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Brookland, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing