We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingfisher Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having stayed in the Chauffeurs Lodge for 7 nights Aug/Sep we can understand how justifiably proud Chrissy and Martyn are of their beautiful home. We felt so relaxed and wonderfully cared for, with every comfort we could wish for. The breakfasts were amazing (daren't get on the scales) and Chrissy and Martyn were perfect hosts who just got everything so right.

With the lovely garden and lake, the forest on our doorstep and plenty of interesting places to visit, we had a brilliant time - AND we met Chrissy's smiley Mum! Our stay was like the weather, wonderfully sunny and warm. Hope to return some day. Our thanks, Carole and Colin.

Room Tip: Chauffeurs Lodge has a lovely BIG bed in a light, spacious room separate from the main cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The property was beautiful with a lovely lake you can walk around (alongside their cute little cat, Poppet!)

There is no noise or light pollution so it's very peaceful and you get a great view of the stars at night time.

We stayed in the Gardener's Lodge which was spotless, cosy and the perfect temperature. The shower was hot and powerful, and there is tea, coffee, a refrigerated jug of milk, and biscuits for your use.

We didn't get to meet the hosts Chrissy and Martyn until the next morning, which was a shame because they were extremely sociable, chatty and very friendly! Martyn even fixed our windscreen wiper for us when it came off as we were leaving.

We weren't able to access wifi anywhere in the property on our mobile phones, so if that's a big problem for you, this is something to consider. The TV in the room has great reception and a good selection of channels.

The Lamb pub was recommended in the list of places to eat (which was conveniently emailed to us upon booking so we could plan in advance), but we wouldn't recommend it as the staff largely ignored us!) However, another place on the list - The George, with a quaint waterside setting - provided nice service and nice food.

Location is great with easy driving access to everywhere in the New Forest.

Kingfisher Retreat is a dream cottage with an enviable garden and lake. So if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing base (with a wonderful home cooked breakfast and super friendly hosts) from which to explore the New Forest, then give this a shot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollynTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just spent 2 lovely nights in the Gardeners Lodge here . Really fabulous place and Chrissy and Martyn are helpful with lots of tips and info to make sure you get the most from your stay . Highly recommended .

Room Tip: We loved the privacy of the Gardeners Lodge but would have been happy anyway . The house is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillchalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent the August Bank Holiday Weekend here in the Cottage Room which is in the main house. The location is lovely, so peaceful and Chrissy and Martyn were so accommodating.

The cottage room was cosy and well furnished with a small shower room ensuite. Breakfast was delicious and given some notice Chrissy was happy to accommodate special requests.

Being able to relax in the garden was a treat as this is a lovely spot. The only thing that might be an issue is that the house is in the dip between two hills and for there is no footpath if you want to go for a walk, so be careful.

Definately one to be recommended. Martyn and Chrissy are lovely hosts.

Room Tip: We booked fairly late so had the Cottage Room which was fiine, another time would try to get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Once again we were not disappointed ,we stayed in the gardeners lodge this yr which had its own garden ,Chrissy and Martin were just like last year welcoming ,friendly and nothing was to much trouble , we had a lovely time ,everything was clean and spotless with nice personal touches ,they have spoilt us from looking anywhere else for next year .a real must home from home .julie and Trevor

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at this beautiful b+b and I have got to say that it is up there with the very best. We will definitely return. Superb setting. Great hosts. Next time we will try and book the Lodge. We stayed in the Cottage itself. Although lovely, I think the Lodge will be a little more private.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhorlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We've stayed at Kingfisher Retreat 3 times and it's never been any less than perfect. Martin and Chrissy have always gone out their way to help us make the most of every stay. The rooms are beautifully furnished, kept immaculately clean and the cottage is picturesque. Breakfast each morning is the best we've ever experienced; fresh fruit, homemade bread and jams and eggs from the chickens in the garden!
We really couldn't recommend or speak more highly of this B&B, easily number 1 in our eyes!

Top tip: An evening meal in The Bat and Ball is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
6.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.2 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Retreat

Property: Kingfisher Retreat
Address: Kingfisher Cottage, Blissford, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 2JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 2 outside lodges overlooking the spring fed lake. They have china, cutlery, 2 easy chairs, dining table and chairs with shower en-suite. Plus 1 bedroom with shower en-suite within the beautiful thatched farm house. Superb gardens around the lake. Breakfast is served in the dining area overlooking the lake, traditional full English breakfast plus a choice of fish dishes, buffet table, with freshly prepared fruit, homemade preserves and homemade bread. Dry cured bacon and sausages from our butcher and eggs from our own chickens. Truly a breakfast to enjoy. A retreat with instant access onto the forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Retreat Hotel Fordingbridge
Kingfisher Retreat Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing