We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed - hence my rating”
Review of The Tudor Rose Inn - CLOSED

The Tudor Rose Inn
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Closed - hence my rating”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Tudor Rose still closed. Rumour has it that it has been sold and will not reopen as a pub - but I guess we have to wait and see. (After all rumours are just that).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    8
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damerham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Closed again!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Not surprising, but The Tudor Rose is closed down AGAIN!.

Now it is up for sale by Enterprise Inns - Savills are the agent, according to the board behind the railings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Make sure you visit”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Anyone who hasn't yet been to the Tudor Rose for a meal is missing out. We have been a few times since it reopened and have always enjoyed it, but the meal for valentines evening was exceptional. It was a set meal with 3 or 4 choices to each course. There were 2 of us and we decided to have different choices so that we could enjoy as much of the menu as possible. It was absolutely delicious and compared well with any restaurant that I have ever eaten in. It was amazing value for money at 17.95 per person. I cannot rate it high enough and just urge everyone to go there. Take advantage of an early Easter or Mothering Sunday and give it a try. I promise you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nearly drove past - so pleased we didn't!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We were returning from Bournemouth and had almost lost hope of finding somewhere for late Sunday lunch. We were glad we pulled in to The Tudor Rose to have a look. We saw the Tripadvisor logo & decided to give it a try. What an excellent decision that was! We had a beautiful lunch which was not expensive by today's standards. The Lemon Posset was to die for - in fact the chef gave me the recipe because I liked it so much.
There has been refurbishment and we liked the mix of modern & old. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we can't fault the place and will definitely be calling again when we are down that way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anngp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So glad we stumbled across this place!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

4 of us stopped here on our was to Bournemouth this week. Aren't we glad we did! An absolutely gem of a place that we will definitely visit again and can't recommend highly enough. The landlady was friendly and knowledgable about the beer, allowing us to try the local ale before we bought a pint. Similarly, the waitress was friendly and able to recommend a good meal from the menu. The food really was excellent. Clearly freshly prepared, piping hot, generous portions - real quality. My grandfather has been in a few pubs in his time, and commented that this was the best scampi he had tasted in his life! Really glad we stopped here and I'll definitely be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie h, Owner at The Tudor Rose Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you so very much for your fantastic comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit
with us. We do believe we have the best Chef who is so committed to delivering the very best dishes, no matter how basic they may seem. As a Team, we understand that if you are going to
part with your hard earned cash in these difficult times, you expect to get the best value for money especially when treating yourselves to a meal out. thank you again and we do hope that we have the chance to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor Rose Inn also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Stuckton, Fordingbridge
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing