We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing weekend”
Review of Cypress Log Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A great friendly welcome, A beautiful clean log cabin in quiet surroundings and a very relaxing hot tub. Just the relaxing weekend we needed.The area is lovely and walking along the river or in the New Forest or having a drink in the pubs or Sandy balls holiday park the whole weekend was perfect

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 255kingy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this lovely place, Mike and Mandy as always were perfect hosts.

My partner and I needed a few Tranquil days away and there is no better place to stay than Cypress Log Cabins, the annex and the cabins and always extremely clean and tidy, Mandy & Mike provide you with everything you need for a quite peaceful day or a few days away.

The hot tubs as always very relaxing.

We look forward to staying at Cypress cabins again, and once again thank you for a lovely 3 night break Mandy & Mike.

Paul & Becs

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room was immaculate, very comfortable, Loved the hot tub. We know the area very well, and the local pub is excellent and a short walk. I knew that we had a continental breakfast, but could have made a bit more effort perhaps, the owners are lovely and very friendly. The pool is not open during the winter which I was also advised of so that was also fine. But I do think it is over priced, for what we got. I would go back, if it was more sensibly priced. We are both sixty, and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a great time hosts were excellent they could not do enough for us had a lovely breakfast and brilliant hot tub and you can't find anywhere else in the new forest with hot tubs and pool at all so great little find will certainly be going back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniforia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting. Smashing couple good knowledge of area.. hot tub clean and secluded..would def go backagain and I loved buddy the guard dog ...cabins were smashing and clean.. very modern all in all very very nice xx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanandjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A very good location. Quiet. Hot tub a real bonus. Good food in pub nearby.
Overpriced for what you get for your money. ( basically a large shed In the back of someone's back garden) Breakfast awful (lazy)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna123381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torchere, Owner at Cypress Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Please note this review ( Donna ) has been written by exactly the same couple as ( Chris K before this one ) where Chris's first comment was "WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay" and therefore feel this review is somewhat misleading as Donna has not once mentioned that she enjoyed her visit
The breakfast provided is a direct result of positive feedback from guests over the past 15 years certainly NOT a question of us being lazy !!
With regards to the Basic large garden shed comment that has clearly been taken from another reviewers post, I would like to point out that "Garden shed" and private Hot Tub cost in excess of £45,000 and feel this is a rather inaccurate description !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the spa tub was wonderful, but £150 per night out of season without a cooked breakfast? It really isn't worth the money and like others have said, the restrictions on check-in times (i.e between 1:30 and 2:30 or after 6pm) are excessive.
If the prices per night were reduced, the silly restriction on check in times widened and it was properly marketted as self catering lodge with an option for a DIY continental breakfast, then it would be lovely. Mike and Mandy are nice people running a good business, just think they need to listen to their customers.
It's located in a loveley part of the New Forest in walking distance of a functional pub with good food. Just feel it was not really value for money, but the hot tub was really wonderful!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MnMFordingbridge, Owner at Cypress Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

As the owners we are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and welcome the opportunity to respond to the points raised:
We are generally fully booked almost every weekend of the year and as such we do not have quiet out of season periods at weekends and unlike most other accommodation providers we keep our prices the same throughout the year without, what we feel unreasonable price hikes around the school holiday and summer periods. Our prices are in line and often cheaper than other providers in and around the New Forest that also offer accommodation with private 24hr Hot Tub outside your door.
During the fifteen years of running this business we have never provided or advertised a cooked breakfast. The breakfast provided is exactly as detailed on our website. There are two pubs 400 yards away for guests that require a full cooked breakfast. A majority of our customers enjoy ( as indicated in other reviews ) the freedom and flexibility of the self serve in room breakfast which we wash up and replenish daily as required.

Taking the feedback onboard regarding check in times we have now revised this to anytime between 2-4pm or after 6pm. And feel this should address the issued raised and hope the new 8 hour check in period should suit our guests better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
13.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,950 reviews
9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,797 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
13.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
758 reviews
10.9 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Log Cabins

Address: Southampton Road | Cypress, Godshill, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 2LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fordingbridge
Price Range: £161 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique getaway to your own Log Cabin with a private Hot Tub outside your door & swimming pool in the summer months. Cypress Log Cabins offers spacious accommodation, a lovely view of the pool and gardens and an in room continental breakfast. Take pleasure in the astonishing view of the stars in the night sky from the comfort of the relaxing hot tub. Within the New Forest National Park, and a great opportunity nearby to hire bikes and discover the wildlife and natural beauty of the park, this is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cypress Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Log Cabins Hotel Fordingbridge
Cypress Log Cabins Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing