We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Rose and Thistle

Rose and Thistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Rose and Thistle a beautiful 16th Century thatched pub is nestled in the picture postcard village of Rockbourne on the outskirts of the New Forest. Outside is a lovely cottage garden to while away sunny days and watch the world go by. Inside is the perfect place to spend any time of year with the traditional interior of beamed ceilings, carved wooden benches and cosy log fires in the winter. Colin Beck our head chef works with local suppliers to create a traditional menu sourced locally and seasonally where possible. Our beef and pork come from the New Forest and our game is from the village, with Manor farm pheasant, pigeon and rabbit together with venison from the local game keeper. Fish is delivered directly from the south coast and vegetables are from local suppliers. The menu changes regularly but always includes favourites such as our famous home made steak and kidney pudding and slow cooked pork belly along side seasonal specials. We also offer a good range of bar snacks and lighter meals including Welsh Rarebit, Sausage and Mash as well as The Rose and Thistle sandwiches including rare roast beef, smoked salmon with watercress and the famous RAT burger with smoked bacon, emmental and hand cut chips! The Rose and Thistle, built around 1580, was originally 3 cottages and became a bakers which then later started to retail liquor. The first listed landlord was Richard Pope in the early 1890's whose photo can still be found on the gentleman's toilet door. The pub has had several colourful landlords over the years one of whom is rumoured to still haunt the building. In the 1970's the place was made famous for its seafood by Pete and Pam Reid and people flocked from all around to taste the lobster. A consortium of villagers then purchased the pub who later sold to Tim Norfolk all who maintained the places great reputation for food over the last 20 years. Tim retired in June 2008 when Kerry arrived, taking the pub from strength to strength. In late 2014 Chris took over the reins, with his friendly attitude and fantastic team you can always be guaranteed a warm welcome and delicious freshly prepared food.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We first spotted this pub in a recent Good Pub Guide so whilst we were in the area last weekend we took the opportunity of visiting. We hit it lucky with the weather and had our lunch in the lovely garden.
The building is full of charming character and many original features can be seen - including a very tight car park entrance!! It is a really lovely place.
The food was very good and there was also a good selection of beer available. Well worth a visit if you are in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ElClassico2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for your great review. Myself andthe team are really happy you enjoyed your experience with us - and even the car park entrance which is as you say pretty tight! Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent food and atmosphere and a great welcome. We went to the pub to plan a family meal. It was a Monday and not busy but we were given a warm welcome and had a delicious rare beef sandwich and a brilliant Welsh rarebit worth writing to Trip Advisor about!

We certainly hope to go there again as soon as we can.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarcelonaPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for your great review - its great to know that a sandwich and a rarebit - 2 of our lunchtime favourites are still going strong! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Second visit with elderly, partially sighted aunt with small appetite. Excellent food, friendly service and aunt got to take home what she couldn't manage to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weekender79584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for another lovely review - I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves again and hope to see you again soon where I will strive to get to excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the best Sunday lunch I have ever had. I had booked ahead and reserved a table for two, I recommend doing this. On the day we were there, the staff were turning people away, as they were fully booked. We were given the choice of eating outside under the open marquee or inside. On this day the weather was glorious so opted to eat in the warm garden.
The food is of the very highest standard, their menu has variety and we took a while in choosing. Service is very attentive but not claustrophobic. The only minor gripe, would be that I would have preferred small rolls in a basket and not slices of bread.
Free wi-fi is a bonus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean1960_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

THanks for your great review - what a lovely thing to say it was the best Sunday lunch you have ever had - that makes myself and the team very proud indeed! Lucky you came that weekend as the weather seems to have just gone down hill since then! Hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I believe that this was the best meal out that we have EVER had. The pub comes highly recommended so the chances of disappointment can be there. However, not on this occasion. My wife had pork croquettes which were immense (I got a bite or two!!!) for the main I had belly pork and my wife had cod from the specials board. The pork was the most tender that I have had and my wife's cod was so fantastic. Portions are a good size and the vegetables beautifully cooked. Add in relaxed and cheerful staff to the mix for an truly outstanding evening. Thank you to everyone at the R&T. WE WILL BE BACK :-)

Thank WiltsCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your "completely outstanding" review. I am so happy that we made such a great impression and that you felt it was the best meal out you had ever had! We look forward to seeing you again to savour more of our chefs delights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing